Customer Reviews for

Sons of Fortune

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My first experience with archer

This book is more of a drama then a action story though it does have its fair share of blood shed. The rivalry that the two men grow aroumd makes for some amazing story telling. Read this if you like court drama or good ol fashion politics.

posted by danky0s on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too similar to other Archer books, but not as good

I enjoyed reading the Sons of Fortune...until about the middle. After that it spirals down, crashing in the end which seems more the easy way out for a complicated situation than an actual ending. Situations that can not possibly happen, as well as errors and a rush to ...
I enjoyed reading the Sons of Fortune...until about the middle. After that it spirals down, crashing in the end which seems more the easy way out for a complicated situation than an actual ending. Situations that can not possibly happen, as well as errors and a rush to finish the book left me with a sense of betrayal by the author.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    My first experience with archer

    This book is more of a drama then a action story though it does have its fair share of blood shed. The rivalry that the two men grow aroumd makes for some amazing story telling. Read this if you like court drama or good ol fashion politics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Too similar to other Archer books, but not as good

    I enjoyed reading the Sons of Fortune...until about the middle. After that it spirals down, crashing in the end which seems more the easy way out for a complicated situation than an actual ending. Situations that can not possibly happen, as well as errors and a rush to finish the book left me with a sense of betrayal by the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end..........A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    Even a bad Jeffery Archer , as a lot of reviews pointed out, is

    Even a bad Jeffery Archer , as a lot of reviews pointed out, is still a good read. It is pretty east to predict, but I love reading his novels. I got this one combined with Kane and Able and really thought it was a continuation of that one, but it is entirely different characters, but still similar in a lot of respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I really enjoyed the book. It keeps you intrigued until the last

    I really enjoyed the book. It keeps you intrigued until the last possible moment, and has some great twists and turns, some of which are unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    nice book

    its a nice book to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Not a bad read but very slow

    In Hartford, Connecticut, in the late 1940s, a set of twins, separated at birth by accident/design and are reunited by destiny. One a Vietnam war hero and successful 1990s bank executive, the other a distinguished lawyer and politician. As much as a chronicle of a nation in transition, as the story of the making of these two men and how they eventually find each other, the story includes only one arch nemesis, instead of one for each brother. They both congeal on Ralph Elliot, the "don't think I wouldn't do it" enemy, that takes his own life to spite someone and not even for some imagined utopia. Shortly after that court case they both discover their true history, then, wisely decide to keep it secret instead of raising past ghosts. Of course, they decide to remain incognito, even of their wives, to their same history. It is left open as to what would happen if/when they run for President of the United States since their parenthood would be divulged in this eventuality.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A riveting novel of two unforgetable men in their separate quests.

    The novel is a riveting story of two men who are raised by two families, one wealthy and the other from a middle class background. Twins separated at birth, Fletcher Davenport and Nathaniel Cartwright, grow up in different worlds and they become two of the best and most intelligent of their era.
    As often in Archer's books, there is a villain, Ralph Elliott. Elliott is ruthless, vengeful, and will do anything to gain all the power to reach his goals in life. He is hated by those around him and causes havoc in the twins lives.
    Both Davenport and Cartwright have the loves of their lives behind them.
    Cartwright's wife, Su Ling, is a Korean with a sinister background. His profound love of his wife shows the very romantic side of this novel.
    Davenport on the other hand has Annie, the sister of his best friend. Annie is also the love of Davenport's life who stands beside him through thick and thin.
    The two powerful men help each other through a murder trial, not knowing they are twins brought together through circumstances beyond their control.
    Both men are running for the governor of Connecticut, one a democrat, and the other a republican. The end of the novel tells who is the winner of this political run. The reader must remember a part of the novel which they have already read, to know what the ending means to one of the men who becomes the governor.
    This a powerful novel and the two twins are evermore good versus evil. Everyone should read this book from cover to cover to enjoy this gifted story.

    Cherry Blossom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Just Plain Bad

    I must admit that 'As The Crow Flies' is one of my all time favorite books from ANY author. His other works, and this one is the worst, don't come close. This one is particularly bad! Poorly researched, thrown together, daytime soap opera garbage. Archer's ignorance of American law, the U.S. military, and even American English ruins the dialogue and storyline. I can only assume that the editor just wanted to get this book on the shelves because it never would have been published without Archer's name on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Ghastly!

    Not Archer's best by a long shot. His lack of simple research into American phrases, American colleges, the legal system, etc. is appalling. He puts British phrasing and terms into American mouths and it doesn't work. Also, he seems unable to track time very well. Those boys were born in 1950 or 51. He has Nat being drafted in 1967 when he was 16 or 17. A little research would have taken care of this. Really poor effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Bearable

    Archer's 'Sons Of Fortune', is a bearable tale with an interesting plot. Though Archer clearly understands the ins and outs of the legal system, poitics, and businesses of America, he focuses primarily on them to create a story that would do much better with less of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    A little disappointed!

    I am surprised this was not better than I expected. Don't get me wrong, I am big fan of the author and have enjoyed his earlier work. But I think he rushed this one a little bit. I am really disappointed in the way he decided to end the story. I don't want to ruin it for everyone, but expect to be upset with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Genius!

    This book is completely enthralling! I read the book over a two day period and was disappointed that it had to end- the way Archer makes Nat and Fletcher dance around each other is pure genius. I hope there's a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Wonderful read!

    I have been a fan of Jeffrey Archer since 'Kane and Abel' and enjoyed this book thoroughly! Read it in one day and found myself wishing for it to never end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    Pathetic

    Sons of Fortune reads like a Danielle Steele contrived superficial pulp fiction. Pity to see a talent being wasted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    Heads Up

    First let me say that this book is a nice change of pace from the usual who done it or around the world chases that are so popular these days. But I felt a lot of this book was filler. It seemed to drag and I was wanting the brothers relationship developed earlier. Then, the thing that had me losing sleep was that I couldn't remember who tossed the coin heads up. I remember reading it but can't recall who did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    A PAGE TURNERN, CAN PUT IT DOWN.

    IT HAS BEEN A LONG TIME, I HAVE PICK UP ONE OF JEFFREY ARCHER'S BOOK. BUT LET ME TELL YOU, YOU SURE NOW HOW TO TELL A STORIE THAT KEEPS READERS ATENSION FOR HOURS. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Critics: Leave the book alone!

    Ok, the critics can say all they want to about how this book wasn't of Archer's usual standards. But I've read almost all of his books (in the past year, no less!), and this one was just as great. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Needs more research

    Archer writes from the hip. Factual errors abound in this recent offering. He apparently doesn't know history or the military. Perhaps he should stick to sports stories since that is his area of study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Bored me to tears

    I wish that for once, a person that claims to be an author would research the proper US Military Rank and terminology. A 2nd Lt does NOT become a Warrant Officer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3