Customer Reviews for

Sons of Fortune

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My first experience with archer

This book is more of a drama then a action story though it does have its fair share of blood shed. The rivalry that the two men grow aroumd makes for some amazing story telling. Read this if you like court drama or good ol fashion politics.

posted by danky0s on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too similar to other Archer books, but not as good

I enjoyed reading the Sons of Fortune...until about the middle. After that it spirals down, crashing in the end which seems more the easy way out for a complicated situation than an actual ending. Situations that can not possibly happen, as well as errors and a rush to ...
I enjoyed reading the Sons of Fortune...until about the middle. After that it spirals down, crashing in the end which seems more the easy way out for a complicated situation than an actual ending. Situations that can not possibly happen, as well as errors and a rush to finish the book left me with a sense of betrayal by the author.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    My first experience with archer

    This book is more of a drama then a action story though it does have its fair share of blood shed. The rivalry that the two men grow aroumd makes for some amazing story telling. Read this if you like court drama or good ol fashion politics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I really enjoyed the book. It keeps you intrigued until the last

    I really enjoyed the book. It keeps you intrigued until the last possible moment, and has some great twists and turns, some of which are unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A riveting novel of two unforgetable men in their separate quests.

    The novel is a riveting story of two men who are raised by two families, one wealthy and the other from a middle class background. Twins separated at birth, Fletcher Davenport and Nathaniel Cartwright, grow up in different worlds and they become two of the best and most intelligent of their era.
    As often in Archer's books, there is a villain, Ralph Elliott. Elliott is ruthless, vengeful, and will do anything to gain all the power to reach his goals in life. He is hated by those around him and causes havoc in the twins lives.
    Both Davenport and Cartwright have the loves of their lives behind them.
    Cartwright's wife, Su Ling, is a Korean with a sinister background. His profound love of his wife shows the very romantic side of this novel.
    Davenport on the other hand has Annie, the sister of his best friend. Annie is also the love of Davenport's life who stands beside him through thick and thin.
    The two powerful men help each other through a murder trial, not knowing they are twins brought together through circumstances beyond their control.
    Both men are running for the governor of Connecticut, one a democrat, and the other a republican. The end of the novel tells who is the winner of this political run. The reader must remember a part of the novel which they have already read, to know what the ending means to one of the men who becomes the governor.
    This a powerful novel and the two twins are evermore good versus evil. Everyone should read this book from cover to cover to enjoy this gifted story.

    Cherry Blossom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Genius!

    This book is completely enthralling! I read the book over a two day period and was disappointed that it had to end- the way Archer makes Nat and Fletcher dance around each other is pure genius. I hope there's a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    A PAGE TURNERN, CAN PUT IT DOWN.

    IT HAS BEEN A LONG TIME, I HAVE PICK UP ONE OF JEFFREY ARCHER'S BOOK. BUT LET ME TELL YOU, YOU SURE NOW HOW TO TELL A STORIE THAT KEEPS READERS ATENSION FOR HOURS. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Critics: Leave the book alone!

    Ok, the critics can say all they want to about how this book wasn't of Archer's usual standards. But I've read almost all of his books (in the past year, no less!), and this one was just as great. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Good

    it is a good novel with a good script but the one thing i did not like about it was the ending which i though was stupid.It leaves one confused.Its worth a reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    A COMPELLING READING

    Ace voice performer Paul Michael gives a compelling reading to British author/politician Jeffrey Archer's latest foray into the lives of men and a nation. Action begins in Hartford, Connecticut, when twin brothers are born and then abruptly separated. It is the 1950s, and one boy, Nat Cartwright, is sent home with his mother, a school teacher, and his insurance salesman father. Apparently beginning life on an entirely different path, his brother, Fletcher Davenport, becomes the son of a wealthy man and his society wife. As the years pass, Nat attends a state university which he leaves to serve in Vietnam. Upon the end of the war he returns to college to earn an MBA. Fletcher, on the other hand, has gone to Yale where he earned a law degree. Success as a criminal lawyer comes easy for him, as does a later Senate race. Each survives the ups and downs that life has to offer before they both contemplate running for governor, still totally unaware that they are brothers. Will they discover the truth and, if so, how will they be affected?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Thoroughly Enjoyable

    I could not put it down! I enjoyed the character development from birth to adulthood, the various people in the lives of Fletcher and Nat, their similarities and differences. If you liked Kane and Abel, you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    A Must Read

    It's so wonderfully and beautifully written that I finished within one day when I had fever staying home away from work... Once I finished the book, I ordered some other books that Archer wrote: Kane & Abel, Honor among Thieves, To cut a long story short, and Not a Penny more, Not a Penny Less.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1