Customer Reviews for

Sons of the Oak (Runelords Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Nonstop action

    The events of the story seem to happen at a rapid pace without really slowing down. At times though, it seemed a bit annoying. But, the action taking place in the book seems to propel the storyline to convey the sense of urgency that adds more depth to the reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    GREAT IDEAS but the writing wasn't as graceful as the other books

    Looking back over the storyline it was a great idea and I truly think had he given this one the treatment and development of the other books even if it took another 100 pages it could have been possibly the best book in the series.

    I enjoyed a great deal enough to want to read more still.

    Still I think it is worth at least 4 stars on my own scale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Non-stop action!

    As with all of Farland's Runelords books, this one is action from page one until the end. New characters and adventures. As is Farland's style, he is again not afraid to kill someone off that you might think is essential. Give yourself time to read it because once you start, it takes all your strength to put it down! Great-great-great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Big Let Down

    I was pleasently shocked when I saw this book had came out the other day. It was only on a whim I looked for it since I had not heard of the 5th book being released yet. I truly enjoy the Runelord series and could not wait to read this new installment. I was shocked once again though when I completed it. This book has none of the carefully planned out storylines of the past 4 books. The introduction of the new characters is very shallow and you find yourself not even caring what happens to the majority of them. Some are even completely discarded with the main characters not even flinching at the loss. All in all I found myself very frustrated that no character like Gaborn emerged out of this novel. While his son was supposedly the new focus the story jumps around so much you do not feel for him as you did for Gaborn. All in all this novel felt rushed out the door lacking in the detail and emotion the Runelord books before this had. Disappointed would be a good rating for how this book left me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Runelords Series Continues

    Farland does a pretty good job on the 5th book of the Runelords series. I enjoy his fantasy concept of endowments. The taking of endowments can make one powerful, but there's always a price to pay. The book reads well as it builds up to the characters fleeing to a remote island. Then there is a large time gap that Farland tries to summarize over a few pages. The lost years leaves a gap of character continuity that just doesn't flow very well. With that said I have to say I enjoy David Farlands writing and look forward to future Runelord books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a great fantasy with complex and compelling characters

    When Shadoath in her persona of the One True Master tried to put all life under her control, the One True World shattered into a thousand thosand worlds each a pale reflection of the glory of the One True World. Also lost is the master rune, but on one of the worlds is where the runelords exists the knowledge will be regained and the worlds will join together into one.------------- The torch-bearer, an immortal reborn as Fallion, the Earth King¿s son, doesn¿t know his true nature although his sire has some idea. When the Earth King dies, the country of Mystarria is attacked by its enemies. Fallion, his brother and some trusty allies escape and make their way to the docks to find a ship that will take them to Landsfallen which is what Fallion¿s father told them to do. Captain Stalker plans to ransom them to the pirate Shadoath but changes his mind when he comes to know and care for Fallion. However, a betrayal causes Fallion and his brother to be captured and only by using his latent powers of fire and have his allies discover where they are do they have a chance of escaping and going inland, giving Fallion a chance to grow into his powers.--------------- This is the fifth book of the Runelands with the action taking place eight years after the events of THE LAIR OF THE BONES. David Farland¿s latest work involves the next generation of warriors who must fight the forces of darkness in the form of locus, sentient parasites that attach themselves to people and control them, while bringing light into a world made better by the earth king. Fallion has the seeds of greatness within him but he must be wary of using his power in a dark manner otherwise he will be no better than the evil beings that want dominion over the world. SONS OF THE OAK is a great fantasy with complex and compelling characters.--------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2