Customer Reviews for

Sookie Stackhouse Box Set (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 786 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(563)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books about vampires that i have read

I almost never read books about vampires but i just picked up the first book and started to read it then all of the sudden the next day i was done. I just had to read the entire series and i did in less than a week, so if you are looking for a good vampire story heres ...
I almost never read books about vampires but i just picked up the first book and started to read it then all of the sudden the next day i was done. I just had to read the entire series and i did in less than a week, so if you are looking for a good vampire story heres one.

Oh by the way even though i LOVE the series and cannot wait until the next one comes out it is not at all like Twilight, this series has romance but it has a lighter feel to the series.

Hope you like/love the series as much as I did.

posted by Kankles on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse Series gets my 5 star rating as a offbeat mystery/thriller/romance which is chock full of interesting characters, unexpected plot twists as well as touching and comedic incidents.

The Sookie Stackhouse Series is not your typical "vampire" book! The series centers around the life and times of a seemingly ordinary heroin, Sookie, who is graced with the talent of mind-reading, and, who stumbles into a myriad of situations in which her talent as wel...
The Sookie Stackhouse Series is not your typical "vampire" book! The series centers around the life and times of a seemingly ordinary heroin, Sookie, who is graced with the talent of mind-reading, and, who stumbles into a myriad of situations in which her talent as well as her good old- fashioned common sense helps her to survive. You will truly enjoy this fast paced romantic thriller which will keep you entertained in its interesting conflicts, colorful characters and the unexpected twists and turns in the plot. Charlaine Harris' fluid writing style, written in first person narrative, makes the reader feel they are involved in the action of the plot as it unfolds. The beauty of the story is the fact that it is a series in which you become enmeshed in Harris' world of humans, vampires, were-wolfs, were-panthers, were-tigers and supernatural beings. It is thrilling to connect with and journey along with these characters in each book of the series. The characters develop with each book which creates many interesting turns in events that are oft-times unexpected.

This series is a great read and fun to share with others!

posted by The_Reading_Teacher on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse Series gets my 5 star rating as a offbeat mystery/thriller/romance which is chock full of interesting characters, unexpected plot twists as well as touching and comedic incidents.

    The Sookie Stackhouse Series is not your typical "vampire" book! The series centers around the life and times of a seemingly ordinary heroin, Sookie, who is graced with the talent of mind-reading, and, who stumbles into a myriad of situations in which her talent as well as her good old- fashioned common sense helps her to survive. You will truly enjoy this fast paced romantic thriller which will keep you entertained in its interesting conflicts, colorful characters and the unexpected twists and turns in the plot. Charlaine Harris' fluid writing style, written in first person narrative, makes the reader feel they are involved in the action of the plot as it unfolds. The beauty of the story is the fact that it is a series in which you become enmeshed in Harris' world of humans, vampires, were-wolfs, were-panthers, were-tigers and supernatural beings. It is thrilling to connect with and journey along with these characters in each book of the series. The characters develop with each book which creates many interesting turns in events that are oft-times unexpected.

    This series is a great read and fun to share with others!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    ummmm

    I can honestly say that I like the books but I feel that she could have taken her time on them. It seems like she spends more time describing the characters ugly clothes than she does the plot. I sometimes find myself confused by what she is trying to say.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OVER KILL

    What a bunch of convoluted nonsense...over and over and over again. It good once...but very redundant & almost insulting to think our lives are so dull we need this much escapiam.

    Here is the winner's list:

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Good Fantasy

    This book is great fantasy. If you are a diehard TrueBlood Fan the series tends to vary from the books a little, but enough to be a spoiler of the general plot if you read the books first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Printing error, April 2007 edition

    My copy of Definitely Dead is missing pages 55 through 86.

    I got my copy in this 7 book box set, and it's printing history labels it as "Ace mass-market edition / April 2007".

    Hopefully this is just a fluke with my copy, but I felt obliged to come share this information to others interested in buying it for themselves. A good head's-up never hurt anyone. :]

    I'm enjoying the book as much as I have the others in the series, but missing out on chapters 5, 6, and half of 7 has certainly effected the experience. Don't let this stop you from buying the book if you're so inclined. But if you read this and find you're missing pages, it won't be such a frustrating shock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    TV Series is better

    I got these for my birthday because I love "True Blood". I have read four of the seven so far, and I am very disappointed. This is one of the few times when I feel that the TV/Movie is much better than the book. The show is suspenseful and character-driven, while the books waste too much time on repetitive summary and explanations. Not impressed with the writing of the novels, in comparison to the scripts on the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    Very Disappointing

    I bought the whole set because of the excited customer reviews but could barely make it through the first book. I found the characters shallow, the plot predictable, and the language very poor. English is not my native language, but even to me the sentence on page 111 "Outside, Eric was standing outside by his car..." sounds crude, to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dissapointing

    I was very dissapointed in this series. I expected more. I thought that Sookie is a complainer, and the books were kind of dry. I did however read them all, and liked the story plot, but not always the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Sookie Stackhouse

    This started out as a good quick read, but the sex on every other page left me skipping and jumping to get on with the story. I wanted a good story and not cheesy sex scenes that just turned me off. I didn't even finish the first book before I sent them to the donation box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2