Customer Reviews for

Sookie Stackhouse Box Set (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 786 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(563)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books about vampires that i have read

I almost never read books about vampires but i just picked up the first book and started to read it then all of the sudden the next day i was done. I just had to read the entire series and i did in less than a week, so if you are looking for a good vampire story heres ...
I almost never read books about vampires but i just picked up the first book and started to read it then all of the sudden the next day i was done. I just had to read the entire series and i did in less than a week, so if you are looking for a good vampire story heres one.

Oh by the way even though i LOVE the series and cannot wait until the next one comes out it is not at all like Twilight, this series has romance but it has a lighter feel to the series.

Hope you like/love the series as much as I did.

posted by Kankles on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse Series gets my 5 star rating as a offbeat mystery/thriller/romance which is chock full of interesting characters, unexpected plot twists as well as touching and comedic incidents.

The Sookie Stackhouse Series is not your typical "vampire" book! The series centers around the life and times of a seemingly ordinary heroin, Sookie, who is graced with the talent of mind-reading, and, who stumbles into a myriad of situations in which her talent as wel...
The Sookie Stackhouse Series is not your typical "vampire" book! The series centers around the life and times of a seemingly ordinary heroin, Sookie, who is graced with the talent of mind-reading, and, who stumbles into a myriad of situations in which her talent as well as her good old- fashioned common sense helps her to survive. You will truly enjoy this fast paced romantic thriller which will keep you entertained in its interesting conflicts, colorful characters and the unexpected twists and turns in the plot. Charlaine Harris' fluid writing style, written in first person narrative, makes the reader feel they are involved in the action of the plot as it unfolds. The beauty of the story is the fact that it is a series in which you become enmeshed in Harris' world of humans, vampires, were-wolfs, were-panthers, were-tigers and supernatural beings. It is thrilling to connect with and journey along with these characters in each book of the series. The characters develop with each book which creates many interesting turns in events that are oft-times unexpected.

This series is a great read and fun to share with others!

posted by The_Reading_Teacher on July 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    One more twist on the Vampire myth

    Charlaine Harris does the Vampire story with yet another twist. Well, kind of. The setting is the deep South, but the Vampires mostly have the strengths and weaknesses you are familiar with. Harris also throws in psychics, werewolves, and other creatures. As the books progress, Sookie finds out how much she has to learn about the non-human world.<BR/><BR/>Some of the best characters are not the main ones, but Sookie is fun to follow in her misadventures. It is best to read these books in order, but this is not entirely necessary. I have not seen the HBO series, but I hope they don't ruin it by straying too far from the books. <BR/><BR/>It's not deep thinking or masterful plotting, just enjoyable light reading and mostly fun characters. I find some of the situtations and character responses a little absurd at times, but usually in a laugh-out-loud way. <BR/><BR/>Recommended for teens and adults. There is sex (sometimes too "romance novel" for my tastes), violence, love, kindness, humor, and evil. What more could you wish for? I give the series 4 out of 5 stars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and entertaining.

    Plot: Sookie Stackhouse is a waitress who people in her small Louisiana town think is a little crazy due to her strange ability to read other peoples thoughts. Sookie gets caught up in the supernatural world of vampires, werewolves, shape shifters, and all sorts of mythical creatures.

    Review: I enjoyed this series and the books were quick reads. Don't let the cute cartoon characters on the front of the books fool you, these are not children's books. There are graphic sex scenes and adult content. This is one of those stories that you just get lost in the characters and the world they live in. The HBO television series that is based on the books was very loosely based on the books, if you really want to get into this world and the characters stick with the books. I can't wait to see what happened to Sookie and her friends in the upcoming books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    fun

    Not the most thought provoking thing you can read but entertaining nonetheless. If you are a TrueBlood fan, like I am, it's worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    This series is just fun!

    This series is just fun! It's quirky, sexy and pulls you in completely.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Sookie Stacks the House

    Could not stop reading each book. Can't wait for the 10th novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A little too sexy, but overall Great read!

    ok so like so many others I am addicted to Edward & Bella from Twilight. Actually didnt read before twilight. But I needed something else & have always loved the whole vampire gone good thing so I tried this. it is really interesting & exciting. Incredibly sexy, tho I have to say its a lil much. Some parts I wanted to skip because it was too detailed (no need for imagination) type seens. If anyone was around while I was reading it I almost felt uncomfortable because of the explicit sex scenes. I did read the 1st book in a day tho. & I havent finished them but there is no real love story so far like there is with Edward & Bella its just all sex in these, mind you Great sex, but still no Real love just lust. I do suggest it, tho I wish I could find somethin more like Twilight.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, light, and easy to read.

    I purchased this set as a fan of true Blood on HBO. In September I was left at the season finale wanting more. These books delivered; they are cute, fun and easy to read. It took me less than a month to go through all of them, and of course I had to buy the ones that followed. If you are a fan of True Blood and want to learn more about the characters and additional plots I would recommend this set.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable with lots of twists

    I started reading these because I liked the HBO show True Blood and thought I'd read the stories it was based on. I enjoyed these books, they were certainly unpredictable. Though the writing style is different than what I usually read, I will be buying the subsequent books in the series. I recommend both the books and the the television show; just be prepared for lots of explicit scenes if you pursue the show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Excellent

    These books were great! Some say if you like twilight you would like these. However, the books are not for the young ones who like Twilight. There is definitely more sex in the Stackhouse books. There is also another difference. Ms. Harris does not get your adrenaline rushing for some action only to stop, like Ms. Meyers did, at a crucial point. The books are also a bit more lets say "realistic" with relationships. It is not over the top romance. They are books to enjoy and not to read because of some literature expertise. Read them and enjoy, then watch the show if you didn't get enough, which also needs supervision for the younger ones :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This selection offers a delightful read, especially if you like a vampire book.

    The Sookie Stackhouse series of books is great for anyone who likes books about vampires and the supernatural. The constant clothing descriptions are sedating. Sometimes it seems as if the explanations of wardrobe are just to fill needed space. If you can get over the clothes fetish, these books make for a great read. Each book in the series is individual and has it's own unique storyline, with Sookie remaining as the main storyteller.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    great books! box set not in order

    had a great time reading all the books! but the books in the box set aren't in the correct order. "dead as a doornail" is before "definitely dead"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Twilight leave you wanting more?

    So I read the Twilight series and loved it! When it was over I read a few other books but nothing that were page turners like that vampire series. Then a friend suggested that I read the Sookie Stackhouse series. I have read all of them and am looking forward to her new one that is coming out in May 09. This vampire series is more adult and unlike Twilight these vampires are trying to mainstream into the public and are not in hiding. Charlaine Harris' wonderful sense of humor makes you immediately become connected with the spunky Sookie Stackhouse. This series has everything... suspense, romance, mystery. Once you start you will want to read them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    very addictive and easy to read

    I love the books,read them really fast.I recommend these books to everyone who likes stories about vampires and true blood series.I was little bit disipointed when i found out there is a box set with 8 books and i got one with 7,so i had to buy book #8 and i am planing to buy #9.Also book #10 is comming soon so i cant wait to read more of sookie's adventures.Very nice written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    These were great books and easy to read, they went fast!

    These were great books and easy to read, they went fast! I bought the sereies 1-7 then went and read the other 2 and have the 10th on my wish list. Cannot wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    VERY GOOD EXCEPT....

    I really enjoy the books and they are very hard to put down. The only problem I have with the books is the repetition of character description and back story, although brief-STILL ANNOYING!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Fun to read and then watch True Blood

    I read a few of the books and then started watching the show- fun to put a face to the name. The books have a different writing style, but they are addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    sookie stackhouse box set

    these books were great ... i've noticed that i've been reading a lot of books based on vampires ... especially after the twilight saga ... i've never watched the tv series based on this book, but i heard that they've changed some of the details ... i enjoyed the book ... i think i might enjoy the tv series, once i get a chance to watch the show ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    New take on an old set of legends(?)

    Fun and offbeat. Different than the HBO series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Started reading becuase of True Blood the series

    The books are way better than the show. Show deviates from the book a times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yummy Vampires

    I picked up reading this series after seeing the third episode of the show based on these books. I found the books to be full of story, full of action, heat, lust, love and the supernatural. Something was always happening, and I had a hard time putting them down. A fun read, definitely! In a time of Twilight, these books are great for those of us who enjoy the vampires, bloodlust and some more "adult" subject matter. I thoroughly enjoyed reading them, however often felt exhausted for the main character Sookie Stackhouse - how can one person have so so so many adventures and continue to live to tell the tales... I wait for the sequels with anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7