Customer Reviews for

Soon I Will Be Invincible

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The coolest idea!

    I loved this, and I don't even like to read. It was such a cool idea, all the comic book cliches were fantasic, right down to the over-used lines such as: "You'll never stop me!" and "It's over for you!" Doctor Impossible was the best character. He was all the greatest and funniest super villains rolled into one. I also really liked Mister Mystic and Black Wolf - way cool. If you like comic books or movies based on comic books you HAVE to read this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A comic book for novel readers!

    I adored everything about this book. The characters were so much fun and so colorful, but completely stuck to the "comic book" genre ideas of how good guys and bad guys act toward each others. There were many comflicts amongst the Champions - the good guys - and Doctor Impossible - the bad guy and self-proclaimed "Smartest man on the planet" - had problems with them and all of his own ideas. He was definitely the coolest character. The twist with Lily was cool, too, and I really liked Damsel and Blackwolf. If you even kind of enjoy comic books or super hero sagas, you must read this! It is a great way to spend a rainy day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I can't recommend this novel highly enough. One of the most sat

    I can't recommend this novel highly enough. One of the most satisfying reading experiences I've had in a very long while. It embraces the conventions of superhero comics and lovingly re-creates them, and the author has the confidence to take the subject matter seriously and avoid either pretense or mockery. Despite the growing appetite for superhero stories amongst the general public, I sense that there seems to be some unwritten rule that says that the genre is still primarily some glorified sub-section of children's literature. I've read way too many reviews for this book that seem almost apologetic for being positive, like somehow WIlliam Faulkner and Herman Melville are rolling in their graves because adults are reading a novel that has characters in it who can fly, and that such a novel was written without children as their primary intended audience. That's a load of bollocks. It's an insult to the intelligence of both the author and the readers. The former knows damn well what he's doing, and most of the latter are probably smart enough to know that they aren't reading Moby Dick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Dr. Imposible...

    Love the book, the comic book cliché¿s the ingenuity of the evil Dr. Impossible. Can¿t help to feel sorry for the bad guy on this one, you actually root for the guy most of the times. It does remind me of the Disney movie 'The Impossibles'. I am tell you this is a must read if you one day thinking about ruling the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Creative and Hilarious

    This was one of the best books I've read in a very, very long time. The story of a comic book evil genius that has you hoping that he WILL dominate the world. Few books have made me laugh so much! I highly recommend this book - it will be well worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Pays homage to superhero comic books

    As he remains behind bars for his latest failure to conquer the worlds, brilliant diabolical scientist Doctor Impossible wonders where he went wrong. His family deserted him when he lost again to the super tights type and now the government has claimed his secret fortress under some sort of patriotic legal mumbo jumbo.---------------- While Impossible struggles with his superego, the worlds¿ greatest superhero team, the Champions, invites Fatale the cyborg to join them which she does. However, as she begins to train in earnest, team leaders Corefire vanishes and Doctor Impossible begins his latest conquer the world plan in which he plays billiards with the planet by knocking it out of orbit leading to leaders bowing to his superiority. Fatale is forced into battle before she feels ready as the doctor¿s doomsday plan begins but she understands that she belongs to the Champions, who will keep on fighting until the end because the Champions have no time for losers especially doubting cyborg queens.------------ Paying homage to superhero comic books, SOON I WILL BE INVINCIBLE is a terrific fantasy thriller that surprisingly has deep characterizations. Especially developed are Fatale who finds the team¿s mission and vision quite humorous and the Doctor who feels like Wile Coyote as his perfect plans somehow are foiled again and again by losers. He also wonders if he is currently doing the right thing as who will he rule once the planet turns total iceberg (at least he will have stopped global warming). The story line rotates between these two lead adversaries, but also provides strong secondary players who are mostly superheroes. Satirizing the superego power grabbers who will do anything to gain and maintain supremacy even destroy a planet, Austin Grossman provides a winning tale.-------------

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Wonderfully different

    A fun read from the eyes of a supervillian. The ending is weak and cliche, but fun for fans of superheroics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Very enjoyable read. The book is a fun read of a story told fro

    Very enjoyable read. The book is a fun read of a story told from the view of the Supervillian. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Ingenious!!

    This book is one of those rare finds that I read again and again simply because it's so good. It made me appreciate comic book stereotypes and even though I was skeptic of science fiction-y books, I now want to find books just like it to further the fun :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    An absolutely enjoyable read from beginning to end. Can't recommend it enough. The chapters written from the point of view of the villain were incredibly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2