Customer Reviews for

Sophia's War: A Tale of the Revolution

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great book

    This was an interesting book on the betryal of Benedict Arnold and the Britsh Amy's leader, John andr¿. Avi made up a female character, Sophia Calderwood, and told the story from her point of view. I expected more action, not feelings and how Sophia felt towards John Andr¿. It was a short book (256 pgs)and is worth the money. I also reccomend Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson. Chains is longer and interesting.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    So cool

    This book is a historical fiction walkthrough of a girl named Sophia. Her brother is in the army, but something horrid happens, followed by something that would change Sopia's life forever. Being a patriot, when a certain soilder starts living in her house, Sophia can only pray for her family's saftey. I do not own a copy, beacause we are reading it in school. I hope you enjoy this book,
    Axolotl lover579
    P.S. this book is a real cliff hanger!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great Read for tweens

    I simply loved this book! I would recomend it to any one who likes history, and who get get through some boring parts. A few parts of the book where kind of gory so be forewarned! If you do not like stuff about wars then this is not the book for you! I hope that you consider this book. I also hope that this reveiw was usefull.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!

    I couldn't put it down!!!!!

    This book is about a young girl named Sofia Calderwood who lives in New York during the revelution. Her older brother is in the American army. Then, a British officer by the name of John Andre moves in to her house.Soon, Sofia finds out that her brother has been captured and put in a prison, but Andre refuses to help. Will Sofia find a way to save her brother? What will she do if he dies?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Amazing Book

    I really enjoyed this book! It would be a great read for you if you like historical fiction or anything on the american revolution. Ithink that Avi is a great author because his books are always interesting and he gives somethig that sort of makes tou feel as if you were in Sophia Calderwood's shoes. Avi makes his characters very realisctic. Its almost like you can realte to them and you understand them.
    In this book Sophia calderwood is living in Newyork with her family. Newyork has been captured by the brittish. Sophias brother is a patriot soilder and gets captured by the brittish and taken prisoner. Sophia goes to wirk as a maid at general clintons home.(A brittish general). She soon uncover a plan to give West Point over to the brittish for a large sum of money and a battle. But sophia finds out and soes eveerything that she can to prevent the meeting from taking place.
    I loved this book. You are a great author avi. I would recomend this book to you.If you like avi writing or if you just like historical fiction.
    The end!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is really good and i have not even gotten to page 29 yet its deserves a newbarry award

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Sooooooo awesome!!!

    My teacher is reading this book to our class. This book is so good. I totally recommend this book!!! 100% awesome!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    I LOVE this book

    This book is great. I love it. I read it for school and it was so cool. If anyone is looking for a good revolutionary war book then you should read sophia's war!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Michael Jackson

    The age group is 5th grade-10th grade

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Great people

    This goes out to all the people who think this book was great or good. Well i have not been able to finish it yet but so far it is amazing!!! And if you agree then pat your self on the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Lizzy Hearts

    So far this is a really good book and I am only chapter 8, only 62 chapters to go!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Wow

    This is a great thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    SOPHIAS WAR IS A FAIRLY GOOD BOOK.

    Sophias War is areally good book in the revoloutianary, but I AM surprised that she is not in history books. My favorite character is Sophias mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Good

    Good fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    This book sucks

    Too much about sophias feelings. No action or anything ijteresting. No one cares that he has a school girls cruh bon jihn ande. This book sucks. Dont read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Question

    What is the age group i must know
    make your headline Michael Jackson if your nice ofen to answer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Want to read it

    Want to read it . Is it good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1