BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sophie & Carter

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Book! Love It! A Must Read!

Sophie & Carter is about one hundred and four pages. It's a short read, but it's a powerful one. There's no way you will put this book down until the last word. And it's even longer from your heart to let it rest. I'm still crying as I write this review.

Chelsea Fine...
Sophie & Carter is about one hundred and four pages. It's a short read, but it's a powerful one. There's no way you will put this book down until the last word. And it's even longer from your heart to let it rest. I'm still crying as I write this review.

Chelsea Fine has written a beautiful, heart-melting story. She's an astonishingly talented author. I'm amazed at how strong and beautiful this story is, and can't wait to see more from this author. Sophie has lived next door to Carter since the third grade, and through the years, they've watched each other's abuse from the windows of their homes. Sophie has watched Carter's father abuse him and his mother, and Carter has watched Sophie take on the responsibly of raising her three siblings because of her mother's neglect and drug problem. Sophie's porch swing has become their meeting place at the end of day. Their sanctuary, and a place where they draw strength from one another. And where they are able to then leave, whole, to be able to face another day. But something else has been building between them in that swing they've shared, and Sophie and Carter have started to realize it. They're eighteen, and fixing to graduate high school. They're about to start their own lives. And they're facing their true feeling for each other.

It's been a long time since a book has touched my heart like this one has. I will be waiting for Chelsea Fine's next book, and help me if she writes a three hundred pages book. I'll problem won't stop crying for a week lol. I highly recommend Sophie & Carter as a must, must read! This is one book you don't want to miss out on!

posted by iheartyabooks on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

73 pgs for 2.99!?

Ok the story itself was good....not for 2.99 though. I've written research papers longer then this "book"

posted by TinyRed on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Good

    Short story but worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. This is a short read, but Chelsea

    I really enjoyed this book. This is a short read, but Chelsea Fine has
    managed to fit so much in a few pages. It is the "day" read
    at the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Cfrff

    Cgcgxgxf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Want to read

    I want to read it. Is it any good?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I loved this novel! It isn't long at all, but it isn't too short

    I loved this novel! It isn't long at all, but it isn't too short either.
    Usually with shorter books you feel like more could have happened, but I
    think since Chelsea kept the story so simple and tried not to make it
    too deep it worked perfectly. I still wish it was a longer book, because
    I loved the story so much, but I think it is perfect the way it is.
    Chelsea and Carters characters are wonderfully done and I love their
    relationship. The way their interact with each other is so graceful and
    beautiful. It really just calms you think about how easy they move
    around each other. I highly recommend this novel to everyone everywhere
    who loves YA and I cannot wait to read more from Chelsea Fine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Good Book

    Great Book"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Beautiful.

    Heartwrenchingly beautiful. This is a story of two fractured souls who find strength to endure a life many adults drown in. Sophie and Carter are able to function in world where they are the protectors, and are only able to shoulder the heavy burden on such young shoulders by leaning on each other. Theirs is not a frivolous and shallow relationship, but one of true love and acceptance. Sophie and Carter's love is enduring because it is unconditional--a beacon to follow through the horrendous storms in each of their lives.

    I would highly recommend this debut by an exceptional talent. Chelsea has done an amazing job of ripping your heart out in the most poetic of ways. It is a must read; just be sure to have the tissues handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    To: zoe

    More advice please. I have a friend who thinks that practically every guy that crosses her path is drop-dead gorgeous. Any advice on what i should tell her? She's only 14 like me but she's already had several boyfriends. I know its wrong but i dont know how to tell her & my parents are absolutely no help whatsoever. Please, help me out here. I really need some advice on this. ~ Sara Beverly, 14

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    To: all th girls who think they need bfs....

    Look.... i know that some guys r super cute and popular but dating isnt as glamourous as it seems... ive dated a few guys and its not that fun at all... they usually ignore u and they r sometimes mean and sleepy and gross/pervy...im not saying u shouldnt want one... thats norm.... but u need to ........
    REMEBER THIS:
    U should only date the guy that makes u truly happy on the inside...i wish i knew that before i started dating... ive only met 2 guys who have made me happy and i feel good to be around.....someone that likes me the way i am... i hope u can find someone like that...someone that DESERVES u ad how special u are... I HOPE I HELPED U!!!
    -zoe
    P.S. ask for more advice!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Wooo

    Loved it. Soooooo touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Good

    This book was Soo good, I've already read it twice. My only problem with it was that it was to short, it was only like 70 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Books...

    I really loved how close the boy and girl were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Fhjb

    Amazing. It was a little short but id buy it again. It is a very emiotonal read and i found it easy to connect with all the charactors. You alwasys know how the charactors feel.Every teen should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book was quite a love story . It was real lovr not the kind of love where teens have these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Loved It!

    Sophie and Carter's tale is one of love and triumph. It was heartbreaking and tragic and beautiful. I loved it! The only thing that could've made this story better, is if it was longer. I would' ve enjoyed hearing about how they transitioned into adulthood- you know, career paths, marriage, children, Sophie brothers and sister growing up, and Carter's mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Wondering

    How long is this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Wonderful!!

    An amazing book! Felt for the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Bob

    This is one of of the most amazing, heart touching books I have ever read. And in my opinion, ever will read. I have read other books of the same genre as this, but never have I seen something like this book. Sophie and Carter is so painfully real, it actually made me cry. The characters go through so much, yet its not so much that it seams unrealistic. Oh and Sophies mother, I deseratley wanted to hit that woman upside the head. And she needed it. Maybe it would have knocked some sense into her. Anyway, i really felt for the characters, and honestly loved this book to death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Really good!

    It was a good short read 78 pages long i enjoyed it read it in a hour an a half only thing i wish though if it went into more detail of the past and present felt like it was skipping around in a couple of places put more school drama with her mom more about carters dad to make it five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this novella!!! I really couldn't put it down

    I really enjoyed this novella!!! I really couldn't put it down and loved getting to know Sophie and Carter better as they developed in the story! I found myself routing for both of them and enjoyed the "real" love portrayed. I really enjoyed this and look forward to reading more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4