Customer Reviews for

Sophie & Carter

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Book! Love It! A Must Read!

Sophie & Carter is about one hundred and four pages. It's a short read, but it's a powerful one. There's no way you will put this book down until the last word. And it's even longer from your heart to let it rest. I'm still crying as I write this review.

Chelsea Fine...
Sophie & Carter is about one hundred and four pages. It's a short read, but it's a powerful one. There's no way you will put this book down until the last word. And it's even longer from your heart to let it rest. I'm still crying as I write this review.

Chelsea Fine has written a beautiful, heart-melting story. She's an astonishingly talented author. I'm amazed at how strong and beautiful this story is, and can't wait to see more from this author. Sophie has lived next door to Carter since the third grade, and through the years, they've watched each other's abuse from the windows of their homes. Sophie has watched Carter's father abuse him and his mother, and Carter has watched Sophie take on the responsibly of raising her three siblings because of her mother's neglect and drug problem. Sophie's porch swing has become their meeting place at the end of day. Their sanctuary, and a place where they draw strength from one another. And where they are able to then leave, whole, to be able to face another day. But something else has been building between them in that swing they've shared, and Sophie and Carter have started to realize it. They're eighteen, and fixing to graduate high school. They're about to start their own lives. And they're facing their true feeling for each other.

It's been a long time since a book has touched my heart like this one has. I will be waiting for Chelsea Fine's next book, and help me if she writes a three hundred pages book. I'll problem won't stop crying for a week lol. I highly recommend Sophie & Carter as a must, must read! This is one book you don't want to miss out on!

posted by iheartyabooks on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

73 pgs for 2.99!?

Ok the story itself was good....not for 2.99 though. I've written research papers longer then this "book"

posted by TinyRed on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sophie & Carter by Chelsea Fine

    Having seen the worst of each others deep dark secrets, it was no wonder that Sophie Hartman and Carter Jax had become the best of friends. Living next door to each other for so long, they each had a perspective on the others lives that most never saw. After being beaten for so many years by his own father, watching his mother take the abuse also, Carter had finally become strong enough to stand up for them both but only after the scars had been left and his mother had paid a high price - her sanity. Raising her siblings while at young age herself, Sophie found the strength to confront her own mother in the uncomfortable atmosphere of a strip club but with the support of Carter she could find a way to ask for the money her and the kids needed. Through out high school, Sophie and Carter kept their acquaintance and their close friendship a secret, only talking to each other in the privacy of their homes and yards. With each acting the adult of the households, it was only a matter of time before they realized the feelings they held for the other was more than just plain admiration.

    ****

    Short and sweet, this one took me by surprise how much I really enjoyed it. I wasn't sure what to expect, but this one far exceeded anything I was looking for. The book is set up with 2 different type fonts, one for Sophie and another for Carter, the format is set up somewhere between a journal entry and a "he said, she said". I have read others that have been set up like this before and found that this one is really well done. The flow between the two points of view is good and you don't seem to lose continuity like can sometimes happen in this format. What a wonderfully encouraging and inspirational story about young adults that have been able to take on so much and still came out of it as really good people, it is sad that this is probably not far from truth for some kids. I have never read Chelsea Fine before, but I will be sure to look for other books by her. I am giving this book a 4, but it does lean toward the 5 star category. Great book, I am so grateful that I was given the chance to receive this book as a free reviewers copy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sophie and Carter is a very simple, short story. It is about a b

    Sophie and Carter is a very simple, short story. It is about a boy and girl who both come from troubled family backgrounds. They’ve suffered abuse in the past, whether it’s emotional or physical, and each day is still a struggle for them. Both of them are best friends and they both look forward to each night when they would sit on the porch swing and share each other’s company.

    I liked the way the chapters alternates between Sophie and Carter’s point of views. Both of them have their own fonts, so it’s easy to remember and distinguish whose point of view you’re reading. Also, it’s quite obvious which is a male and which is a female point of view. For example:

    Sophie: I’ve got five hours until everyone’s in bed… until I have a minute to think… until I can connect with the only person who really knows me. Carter. (p. 18)

    Carter: I stretch my neck and start walking to the living room. Just a few more hours until I can relax. (p. 24)

    Of course, you can easily guess which point of view belongs to who because only a girl would count the hours! Guys aren’t as detailed as girls are, after all. Sometimes, their narrations would overlap for certain events. Other times, it wouldn’t. The overlapping narrations were good because we can understand where both of them are coming from.

    There are just a couple of things that nagged at the bookworm inside of me. The story lacked depth. There were many issues that weren’t explored in a deeper level. In fact, few issues were explored at a deeper level, besides the ones connected with their individual pasts. Another thing is the repetition of certain actions or phrases. Sophie used the “I love his/her guts!” way too many times. If I were to read the book aloud, that phrase would sound pretty awkward and unnecessary. Carter stretches his neck way too many times. I don’t know if that’s a bad habit he has or what, but it was too repetitive in the story.

    Nevertheless, despite the slight oddities mentioned, the story is captivating. It can be read in under an hour and the story isn’t really complicated despite the darker themes, but its simplicity is the drawing point. It doesn’t go too much into technicalities. There’s always something going on in the story. Whether it’s family problems, bad past, jealousy, plans for the future, or other issues.

    After I finished reading the book, I promptly reread it. Nowadays, it’s harder to find secular Young Adult books that are clean. I was happy that this book is a clean read. It’s definitely one of its plus points. Another plus point would be the issues touch upon in this book. Sophie and Carter are teenagers with adult problems. They are forced to grow up and take more responsibility than they should be having at their age. Despite all their problems and no matter how bleak their future seem to be, they find hope in each other. They encourage each other in their own little ways. Their friendship and relationship is just so sweet! There is a touch of innocence in it with could be incongruous (but isn’t) due to what they’ve went through.

    Conclusion: I was surprised to read that Sophie & Carter is the author’s debut book. While there could be improvements, the storyline is good and the writing, for the most part, varied and interesting.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through the Review the Book book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. This is a short read, but Chelsea

    I really enjoyed this book. This is a short read, but Chelsea Fine has
    managed to fit so much in a few pages. It is the "day" read
    at the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Books...

    I really loved how close the boy and girl were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Loved It!

    Sophie and Carter's tale is one of love and triumph. It was heartbreaking and tragic and beautiful. I loved it! The only thing that could've made this story better, is if it was longer. I would' ve enjoyed hearing about how they transitioned into adulthood- you know, career paths, marriage, children, Sophie brothers and sister growing up, and Carter's mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1