Customer Reviews for

Sophie's Choice

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An Outstanding Book!

I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to ...
I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to appreciate what a decent world we live in today. We don't have to make decisions like she did.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating Read!

A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpl...
A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpliest thing. I could not get to the meat of the story quick enough, as it was trapped within pages and pages of literary excess. Incredibly overcomplicated!

posted by 12948683 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    An Outstanding Book!

    I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to appreciate what a decent world we live in today. We don't have to make decisions like she did.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A dramatic tale of one woman's unimaginable choice...

    This story was highly recommended to me and so, without hesitation, I picked it up one day at a bookstore. It is definitely different from and Holocaust survivor story I have ever read/heard before. The main character of the story is necessarily where the interest of the story lies. I found him to be neither lovable nor unlovable, but more of a vehicle to uncovering the real story behind Sophie's life and past experiences. In a way, the lifestyle that Sophie chooses for herself post-war reminds me of something taken right out of an F. Scott Fitzgerald novel. Slowly but surely her mystery is finally uncovered, and the main character gets a shocking revelation as to the horror that Sophie went through, in some ways almost worse than the illness and death suffered among other victims.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Outstanding!!!!!

    What a book! What a movie! How could anyone NOT like anything Styron wrote, especially this masterpiece? By far this is a landmark in American literature, a saga of enormous weight and merit, like Steinbeck's 'East of Eden,' McCrae's 'Bark of the Dogwood,' or Conroy's 'Prince of Tides.' Sophie's Choice packs a wallop you won't soon forget. Even if you know the story you'll still be blown away by the excellent dialogue, brilliant characters, great settings, and moving events that unfold--it all makes for great literature, great reading, and above all, an American masterpiece.Also recommended: Prince of Tides, Bark of the Dogwood, and Empire Falls

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Frustrating Read!

    A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpliest thing. I could not get to the meat of the story quick enough, as it was trapped within pages and pages of literary excess. Incredibly overcomplicated!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Gut-wrenchingly Awsome

    I loved this book. It is one of those kinds of books where you just can't put it down because you have to know what happens next. When it came to the point where Sophie has to make her 'choice' it was just so unbelievable that somebody could make you make a choice like that. It was just so cruel. How she did it I will never be able to understand. I highly recomend this book. You will never forget this story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    astonishing

    This is an incredible novel, beautifully writen, not boring for 1 second, and told in a very unique and clever way - folding the true plot layer by layer till you reach the core of the tragedy. very highly recomended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Not my style

    I purchased this because of all the rave reviews and it was only $2.99. I really did not like it because of the narrative form and all the whining of the main character due to the fact that he was still a virgin. That is what this book was mainly about, although I'll admit I couldn't read it all; I only read about half. It is one of the few books I did not finish. I decided to rent the movie, which was excellent. I would not recommend this to others.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Slow start but it's good.

    This book was really slow in the beginning for me but it really heats up three-quarters into the book. It's a very sad ending but I enjoyed reading it and I'll probably re-read it again in a few years. The characters, plot and scenery are very well done. I was still thinking about this book a few days after reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    sophie's choice... an unbearable decsion...

    this is a wonderful book. Yes it was diffcult with the language and the understanding of the concentration camp but it was a heartfelt and inspiring book, to overcome adversity and pain. I think that this is a good read once you understand more about the plot itself. This book is about a woman who has been grief striken and left for almost dead when she finds nathan to save her but then as she goes through life she meets stingo who lets her tell the true story of her long painful history. this is a aww inspiring novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    Very good book

    Sophie's choice was such a good book. The characters and the plot of the story became one rollercoaster ride right after another. Sophie and Nathan were quite a couple. They were perfect for each other from the beginning of the book to the end. This story was not only a romance, but also very descriptionate on the Holocaust which took place during World War I. This book was so good. I would encourage anybody to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Astounding

    Certainly one of the landmark works of the 20th century. Anyone who has ever experienced guilt will certainly recognize the characters in this book. The issues of Stingo's sexuality and their awful juxtaposition with Sophie's own story are heart-breaking in their dichotomy. In times of great tragedy, the mundane often interferes with the cosmic and causes us endless regret. Astounding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    look beyond the words

    William Styron not only created a masterpiece with Sophie's Choice, but the whole novel was about emotions and the source of these emotions. The characters are faced with lust, anger, guilt, fear, and depression. Styron doesn't just tell you how someone feels he shows you the root of the emotion and these roots are true for everyone not just the characters. Sometimes you have to look deeper in a novel, more than just the print to what it makes you feel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Annoying!

    This book could have been so much better if it had been solely the story of Sophie's life. About 2/3 of the book describing 'stingo's sexual frustrations and desires were just obnoxious, annoying, utterly pathetic and unbearable. While the author's writing is rather intricate, the layout of the story is quite disorganized, overly dragging, and tiresome to read. So much so that Sophie's choice in the end didn't even come as a big shock as authour wanted (I think) to unveil. I am no literary critic, but I know from reading this book that sometimes less could be much better.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A favorite

    A must-read! One of my favorite books of all time. Spectacular story. Believable story and got drawn it by the characters. Absolutely amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

    I really think this book would have been better if it concentrated more on the story of Sophie then with Stingo's complaints about being a virgin. Most of the book seemed to be about that. There were times when I was like,"OK, when are we going to find out abour Sophie's choice, the whole point of the book?!" I also agree with another poster who said that when Sophie's choice was revealed, it didn't have as much emotional impact as it should have. It was because the reader was bombarded with all the Stingo stuff. I was actually confused at the start of the book, because I assumed Sophie would be narrating, and here Stingo is, complaining about his neighbors!
    I would recommend this book to no one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    I only got to the 9th chapter then it died

    The book itself looked interesting because of the cover, old and ragged but reading the book itself was just boring. I tried finishing it all but my heart and imagination was not in it. I guess he talked so much that you already knew what was going to happen or what could happen. The lust in this book was interesting but at the same time pathetic.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    The Many Things One Does Not Learn in World History

    When one studies WWII in school or sees old newsreels from that era,only a fleeting glimpse is obtained as to what life was like in war-torn Eastern Europe. To read the heart-wrenching tale of Sophie, broken and bruised through the Nazi's (as well as her own family's) inhumanity, one can almost feel her pain and suffering. Though a work of fiction, Sophie's Choice should be read by anyone wanting to learn about the conditions forced upon those unfortunate enough to have been born in the wrong time and place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    Gripping!

    The pictures painted in my mind by Styron's prose are so vivid that I am transported to the protaganist's side,witnessing the sights, sounds, and smells just as he, 'Stingo', describes them. The gripping tale of the ill-fated couple, Nathan and Sophie, made my heart pound. The narrative is so utterly brilliant, so elegant, that it is scarcely to be believed that a mere human being could write such a masterpiece. Some anecdotes provoke howls of laughter, but then the unspeakable horrors of Sophie's past are slowly revealed. It is almost too much to bear without setting the book down periodically to 'compose oneself'. Styron is a titan of American literature. Don't hesitate for a moment to read this book, but ready yourself for sleepless nights as you breathlessly turn the pages long into the wee hou

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Mila

    She zteps in. "I'm her baby."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    William

    Willam chuckled "I aim to please." He kissed her back, he pulled bak his gaze concerned "Is your hand ok?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4