Customer Reviews for

Sophie's Choice

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An Outstanding Book!

I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to ...
I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to appreciate what a decent world we live in today. We don't have to make decisions like she did.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating Read!

A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpl...
A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpliest thing. I could not get to the meat of the story quick enough, as it was trapped within pages and pages of literary excess. Incredibly overcomplicated!

posted by 12948683 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A dramatic tale of one woman's unimaginable choice...

    This story was highly recommended to me and so, without hesitation, I picked it up one day at a bookstore. It is definitely different from and Holocaust survivor story I have ever read/heard before. The main character of the story is necessarily where the interest of the story lies. I found him to be neither lovable nor unlovable, but more of a vehicle to uncovering the real story behind Sophie's life and past experiences. In a way, the lifestyle that Sophie chooses for herself post-war reminds me of something taken right out of an F. Scott Fitzgerald novel. Slowly but surely her mystery is finally uncovered, and the main character gets a shocking revelation as to the horror that Sophie went through, in some ways almost worse than the illness and death suffered among other victims.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Gut-wrenchingly Awsome

    I loved this book. It is one of those kinds of books where you just can't put it down because you have to know what happens next. When it came to the point where Sophie has to make her 'choice' it was just so unbelievable that somebody could make you make a choice like that. It was just so cruel. How she did it I will never be able to understand. I highly recomend this book. You will never forget this story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Slow start but it's good.

    This book was really slow in the beginning for me but it really heats up three-quarters into the book. It's a very sad ending but I enjoyed reading it and I'll probably re-read it again in a few years. The characters, plot and scenery are very well done. I was still thinking about this book a few days after reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    sophie's choice... an unbearable decsion...

    this is a wonderful book. Yes it was diffcult with the language and the understanding of the concentration camp but it was a heartfelt and inspiring book, to overcome adversity and pain. I think that this is a good read once you understand more about the plot itself. This book is about a woman who has been grief striken and left for almost dead when she finds nathan to save her but then as she goes through life she meets stingo who lets her tell the true story of her long painful history. this is a aww inspiring novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    look beyond the words

    William Styron not only created a masterpiece with Sophie's Choice, but the whole novel was about emotions and the source of these emotions. The characters are faced with lust, anger, guilt, fear, and depression. Styron doesn't just tell you how someone feels he shows you the root of the emotion and these roots are true for everyone not just the characters. Sometimes you have to look deeper in a novel, more than just the print to what it makes you feel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    The Many Things One Does Not Learn in World History

    When one studies WWII in school or sees old newsreels from that era,only a fleeting glimpse is obtained as to what life was like in war-torn Eastern Europe. To read the heart-wrenching tale of Sophie, broken and bruised through the Nazi's (as well as her own family's) inhumanity, one can almost feel her pain and suffering. Though a work of fiction, Sophie's Choice should be read by anyone wanting to learn about the conditions forced upon those unfortunate enough to have been born in the wrong time and place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    nadine omeyka

    The book quiet good and it very dramatic and for the of the reader. i can see myself read other book from this auther. And i can really recomend it ot others to read and enjoy. not for kids under 16 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1