Customer Reviews for

Sophie's Choice

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

An Outstanding Book!

I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to ...
I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to appreciate what a decent world we live in today. We don't have to make decisions like she did.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating Read!

A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpl...
A very nice story, but I have never had such a frustrating time reading a book. This book is over 600 pages and there are pages and pages where the narrator of the story just talks and talks and talks! He goes out of his way to use the biggest word to describe the simpliest thing. I could not get to the meat of the story quick enough, as it was trapped within pages and pages of literary excess. Incredibly overcomplicated!

posted by 12948683 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    An Outstanding Book!

    I absolutely loved this book! I picked it because it had to do with the Holocaust and it definitely kept my attention! The book kept me on edge the entire time and made me want to keep reading on so I could find out what was going to happen next. This book helped me to appreciate what a decent world we live in today. We don't have to make decisions like she did.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Outstanding!!!!!

    What a book! What a movie! How could anyone NOT like anything Styron wrote, especially this masterpiece? By far this is a landmark in American literature, a saga of enormous weight and merit, like Steinbeck's 'East of Eden,' McCrae's 'Bark of the Dogwood,' or Conroy's 'Prince of Tides.' Sophie's Choice packs a wallop you won't soon forget. Even if you know the story you'll still be blown away by the excellent dialogue, brilliant characters, great settings, and moving events that unfold--it all makes for great literature, great reading, and above all, an American masterpiece.Also recommended: Prince of Tides, Bark of the Dogwood, and Empire Falls

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    astonishing

    This is an incredible novel, beautifully writen, not boring for 1 second, and told in a very unique and clever way - folding the true plot layer by layer till you reach the core of the tragedy. very highly recomended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Astounding

    Certainly one of the landmark works of the 20th century. Anyone who has ever experienced guilt will certainly recognize the characters in this book. The issues of Stingo's sexuality and their awful juxtaposition with Sophie's own story are heart-breaking in their dichotomy. In times of great tragedy, the mundane often interferes with the cosmic and causes us endless regret. Astounding.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    Very good book

    Sophie's choice was such a good book. The characters and the plot of the story became one rollercoaster ride right after another. Sophie and Nathan were quite a couple. They were perfect for each other from the beginning of the book to the end. This story was not only a romance, but also very descriptionate on the Holocaust which took place during World War I. This book was so good. I would encourage anybody to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    A favorite

    A must-read! One of my favorite books of all time. Spectacular story. Believable story and got drawn it by the characters. Absolutely amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    Gripping!

    The pictures painted in my mind by Styron's prose are so vivid that I am transported to the protaganist's side,witnessing the sights, sounds, and smells just as he, 'Stingo', describes them. The gripping tale of the ill-fated couple, Nathan and Sophie, made my heart pound. The narrative is so utterly brilliant, so elegant, that it is scarcely to be believed that a mere human being could write such a masterpiece. Some anecdotes provoke howls of laughter, but then the unspeakable horrors of Sophie's past are slowly revealed. It is almost too much to bear without setting the book down periodically to 'compose oneself'. Styron is a titan of American literature. Don't hesitate for a moment to read this book, but ready yourself for sleepless nights as you breathlessly turn the pages long into the wee hou

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    William

    Willam chuckled "I aim to please." He kissed her back, he pulled bak his gaze concerned "Is your hand ok?"

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Sophie

    I'll live.... just kiss me again..... *bites my bottom lip*

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Choice award

    This is bio

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Possibly tye fuckiest shit on earth.

    Fuc.k

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    One of the best books written

    This is a huge wonerful book so very sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    Wonderful!!

    It was outstanding! I am only 13 and I loved the book. I first watched the movie and it made me think about what happened in the concentration camps. I read the book it sure was worth reading. This book will make you smile and cry.You will stay hooked to the book. It will take your breath away! I loved it so much that i will read it again. so much that i will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Kool

    I was cool! I am not old enough to read this I guess but I thought this book rocked!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2