Customer Reviews for

Sophie's World: A Novel about the History of Philosophy

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I could read it again and again..

The author knows just how to take the reader into these worlds within worlds and places you inside of each character where you feel every piece of the story as if you were living it yourself. I recommend this book to everyone.

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just Another School Book

I started this book a few days ago and it feels more like a textbook for Philosophy rather than an actual novel. As if I want to read about Philosophy embedded in a story... No, it's pretty much the whole story. I feel like I'm in school again. Don't buy this book, s'il...
I started this book a few days ago and it feels more like a textbook for Philosophy rather than an actual novel. As if I want to read about Philosophy embedded in a story... No, it's pretty much the whole story. I feel like I'm in school again. Don't buy this book, s'il vous plait.

posted by Paige-Face on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    I could read it again and again..

    The author knows just how to take the reader into these worlds within worlds and places you inside of each character where you feel every piece of the story as if you were living it yourself. I recommend this book to everyone.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Beautifully written and interesting to read.

    I read this a few years ago (8th grade), but I still remember and cherish it. I would certainly read it again. It was a school book that I actually looked forward to reading each time. Now, I'm a junior and taking a philosophy class that goes more in depth into some philosophers. I'm writing a lecture on Plato at the moment and am using this book and the book for the class. I certainly recommend this as a school read or just something entertaining and educational.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Excellent book!!!!

    I teach teenage girls and they all love this book. They can all relate to sophie and are learning concepts that they would never go near if they were presented to them in its original form. I have inner city kids talking about philosophy and history and they think its fun! This is a brilliant work!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    A fantastic book!

    I read this book a few weeks ago, and I loved it. It was thrilling, yet very informational, with a bit of mystery to it. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading. I thought that it was very interesting to learn about the philosophers and how they percieved the world around them. I highly reccommend this book to someone who wants a thought provoking read. It is good for discussion too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Philosophy explained in a fun way

    When I read this book I gained great knowledge about philosophy and it's history. This book is a must read to all who want to gain knowledge of philosophy and/or if they themselves want to be philosophers. The sypnosis of this book is very easy and straight to the point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    Excellent introduction to the history of philosophy

    Anyone interested in reading about the journey of philosophy from the days of the natural philosophers and the magnificent trio of Socrates, Plato and Aristotle through the Middle Ages into the epochs of Renaissance, Baroque, Enlightenment and Romanticism till the present day must pick up a copy of this book by Jostein Gaarder. In this book, we make this journey through the history of philosophy with a young Norwegian girl named Sophie Amundsen and her mysterious philosophy teacher Alberto Knox. It is a hard to put down book where the evolution of philosophical thinking has been chronicled in a very simple and lucid manner. Through her teacher, Sophie learns about philosphers like Descartes (cogito ergo sum - I think therefore I am), and Kant ('It's a moral necessity to have faith in the existence of God') among others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    An Outstanding Introduction to Philosophy

    Sophie Amundsen is (or so she thinks) an ordinary Norwegian teenager. That is, until one afternoon when she discovers two mysterious letters in her mailbox from an anonymous sender containing two questions: ¿Who are you?¿ and ¿Where does the world come from?¿ Sophie decides that she does not know the answer to either question, but it¿s too late to turn back now. Those questions have provoked other questions. Soon, she begins receiving a philosophy course (which seems to be from the same sender) that offers some answers to Sophie¿s questions. But who is sending these letters and why? The answer will change Sophie and her world forever. This well-written, fast-paced book weaves philosophy and fantasy into a captivating fairy tale. These two very different story elements mingle together so well that you hardly notice where one begins and the other ends. You are provided with a main background of philosophy through the ages in lessons from Alberto Knox, Sophie¿s mentor. These lessons are all clear and comprehensive, which shouldn¿t be too much of a surprise. (When Mr. Gaarder isn¿t writing, he makes his living teaching philosophy in Oslo, Norway.) With this knowledge, both Sophie and the reader are free to explore philosophy and test the limits of logic. I whole-heartedly enjoyed reading Sophie¿s World. It¿s one of those books that you won¿t be able to put away when your parents call you to dinner or tell you to go to bed. The plot is what keeps this book moving and suspenseful; it keeps it from becoming too informative or report-like. Although, in my opinion, it was excellent, I would only recommend it to a select audience of middle school students. Read Sophie¿s World if you are intellectually inclined or just have an interest for philosophy. You should also be up for a challenge; Sophie¿s World in paperback is 523 pages in miniscule writing. If you are up for the challenge, I wish you good luck and happy reading. Sophie¿s World just may change your outlook on your world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    Who Wouldn't Want To Think Like This?

    Surprisingly interesting is an understatement of this book. A friend of mine who is a sophmore in college, 4 years older than I, was reading this for a class over the summer. I thought I would try it out since I had never been taught anything of Philosophy, and I loved it. I will say that it doesn't have much of an in depth story, but it's just enough to keep it from being a Philosophy textbook. The first 5 pages already had me thinking differently and asking a million questions. If you're someone who is interested in this subject at all, or has never even thought about it and wants to see what Philosophy is all about, read Sophie's World.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Philosophy can be Fun

    This book is the best history and summary of philosophy I have read! It should be read by every student in High Schools, so they would have a better grounding and understanding of the history of philosophy. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Anonymous

    I was assigned this over the summer by my future teacher and although i just started today, i find it fascinating! I've always been curious about the world. I remember being young and asking the adults where everythimg came from and why are we important or why is Earth so important, isn't there something better out there if the universe is so big? As i grew older these questions never actually left me. It was relieving to read this book and see that lots of people wonder about the same things. I haven't finished yet but so far i am loving this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Great book

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. I have read it
    several times, and each reading reveals new depths into the author's understanding of philosophy. I love the history of philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A guidebook for us philosophy-challenged

    This is my 4th time reading this book and each time I discover something new. Love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Sentimental Value

    My grandfather gave me a copy of this book when I was in 7th grade. Back then, much of the meaning escaped me and I disliked it for it's length and difficulty. Reading it again as a teenager introduced me to new ideas and a new way to consider the world. This book got me interested in philosophy and I plan on pursuing that topic when I am older. I am very grateful for Jostein Gaarder's contribution to the world of philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I read this book back in junior high and it has stuck with me ev

    I read this book back in junior high and it has stuck with me ever since. Even over a decade later, I still remember the effect it had on me. Any book that you can recall a dozen years after you read it, is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book

    I read it in my senior year of high school. I wasn't to sure of reading it at first. But when i started reading it i couldn't put the book down. I learned more about philosophy from this book then from my college philosophy class. It is an interesting book to read. I looked ever where to find the book and now i am glad that i found it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Read in high school and it stuck.

    I read this book in high school my senior year and the ideas presented in the book stuck. I'm a junior in college now and just the other day I though about something from the book when I was just observing a young child in amazement as she stared at some fishes in a fish tank. This book helps you see things from different perspectives. It is a very exciting read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    The Fresh Perspective of a Teenage Girl

    In the novel Sophie¿s World, by Jostein Gaarder, a teenage girl named Sophie discovers that there is more to life in Norway than pet animals and the latest history test. She soon recieves a blessing in the form of mysterious letters from an unknown man who wishes to teach her philosophy. As she begins her journey through the course, Sophie discovers the way to find herself and the completely new ways to look at life. This fascinating novel by Gaarder is an excellent way to make your first dive into the thought-provoking subject that is philosophy, or a superb way to refresh your memory on the subject. Gaarder combines the narrative of an easy-going teenage girl easily with the history and major points in the time line of philosophy to make this novel an excellent read. The courses in philosophy are easy to understand because of the division of the materials into small segments that are just the right length to get your brain moving. The materials covered in the novel make you stop and think What if the world was this way, or how would life be like.... In reading this book, you also find yourself thinking more of others and the community, for that matter, because you know have several different ways to look at life. Some people might be worried about reading this novel because of conflicts between their religion and the concepts of philosophy. However, I believe that in reading this novel, you can better understand the views of some non-religious and some religious philosophers and better understand the views from which other people stand today. However, I feel as if I must warn you: This novel is not for the light reader. This 500-something page book, while incredible in writing and content, takes more time and effort to read than the latest mystery novel or romantic epic. However, I still enthusiastically suggest this novel to anyone who has considered and I also highly suggest that you recommend it to you intellectual you happen to meet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    lissa tamez

    This is one of the best bopoks I've ever read. Though I will admit he should have gone more in depth into certain philosophers, it was shortened by the plot. I really recomend for someone trying to read upon the basics of philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    A Great Book to Read!

    This book is so good. My aunt gave it to me and I couldn't put it down. Everyone should read this book because it teaches people A LOT about philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Brilliant Novel!

    I was always interested in philosophy ever since I took the course in grade 11. Now, I am in my last year of high school, and I decided to read it. I read it, and I love this book. It made me question reality, and see the world in a new and a more interesting way. I really enjoyed the philosophy part of the book and it is much more interesting to read than a textbook; I especially liked the part about Plato and his idea-world. I also liked the story part of the novel. I know some people hated it, but it was so bizarre it actually worked for me. It was unpredictable! And I like how the author blends the story and the philosophy together. I suggest this book to anyone who has never questioned reality before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4