Customer Reviews for

Sora's Quest (The Cat's Eye Chronicles #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was awesome! A completely fresh world. I read it in a

    This book was awesome! A completely fresh world. I read it in a day, I love epic fantasy stories. This book reminded me of Robin McKinley (The Blue Sword) or Tamora Pierce, but better. It had a lot of action, like Terry Goodkind's "Sword of Truth" series. Sora started off kind of a spoiled sissy, but by the end of the book, she's grown into a strong and loyal (and very likeable) person. And Crash is so swoon-worthy! I love the dark, mysterious assassin persona. Shreffler is a great writer. Her writing has that kind of flow that just sucks you in. Lots of imagination. I'm definitely buying the next book!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I bought this book not knowing what to expect and read it in a w

    I bought this book not knowing what to expect and read it in a weekend!!! Shreffler is an awesome writer, her words glow on the page. I was completely sucked into the world.

    Sora wants to run away from her "Blooming," a coming-of-age ceremony that coincides with her birthday. While making her escape, she runs head-first into an assassin who was hired to kill her father. The assassin kidnaps her. Sora is kinda clueless at first, she's naive to the evil in the world and doesn't understand what's going on. Boy does she learn fast! She learns that her necklace is really a magical weapon and that she's being hunted by bloodmage (it's explained in the book). Then she gets taken on this amazing adventure. So full of action and surprises! The plot was really unexpected, not your usual "save the Kingdom" stuff. I love the descriptions in this book. They were vivid and detailed without being overly-explained. The world building was strong and well-thought out. The characters were amazingly developed, you feel like you KNOW them. Sora starts out as a scared, innocent girl and turns into a brave warrior by the end. She runs into all sorts of magic. Plus there is romantic tension between her and the assassin, it slowly builds up, leaving you breathless, waiting for something to happen between them!

    I give this book a 5 stars and I will definitely buy the rest in the series! I can't wait!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Great story. Really fun read that kept me turning pages. The cha

    Great story. Really fun read that kept me turning pages. The characters are so real, you get really involved with their story. The scenes in the swamp were my favorite. Won't go into too much detail, don't want to spoil it for anyone. I recommended this book to my mom. And wow it's free great deal!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Many Thanks

    I am loving all the new books I am gathering to read. I do long hours at kidney dialysis every week, and reading makes it easier to pass the time. Thank you for providing me with a way to fill those long hours.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Love, love, love.

    Shreffler's fantasy world is filled with excitement and intense action. You cant help but love every character, especially sora and crash aka viper. I couldn't put this one down i found myself staying up all night reading, this is a page turner. I definitely want the second and third book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    It's Different...

    We are first introduced to a descent into madness by grief. Then we are introduced to our young heroine, a naive 17 year old, who constantly pats herself for not being like her spoiled rich contemporaries. The tone confused me, I thought it'd changed into a comedy. But as I read on that corrected itself, or rather I began to understand why. I don' t want to give too much away, because it turns into aread you can't put down.

    I said it's different because there is no "we must save the world from blah blah," at least not on the surface. But as you continue you start to feel that something is going on but you don' t know what, why, or from whom. You know the immediate threat but not where it's going. I know this though, you will want to read the other books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Sora's Quest

    Oh man was this a good book!! I am definitely reading the next one!! This is full of action, adventure, and magic. All of the characters are well written and developed even though we actually don't know too much about them. Sora is a great heroine; she is very likeable, full of moxie, and relatable. The ending is very sad, yet hopeful. Can't wait to read what happens next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    recommend

    The cover doesn't do justice to the story. 690 nook pages. An interesting story line and characters. Look forward to more. Thank you author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Okay?

    Hello. I'm 12 and my name is Kathy. Recently, I've realized that there were a few innapropriate books in the kids category. I was wondering if this book was okay for me to read. Thank you!!!
    -Kathy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Like it. No love it. No MARRYING IT!!"

    What happenes"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am loooooksiiing myyyyyy miiiiinnnnnd!!!!
    Its so goooooood i cant seem to get through the lastcouple pages!!!!!
    Pleas tell me what happens (between sora and the assasin)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Speechles

    Speechles

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    I fell in love with this book. I love Sora and Crash. I am curre

    I fell in love with this book. I love Sora and Crash. I am currently waiting for the fourth book in the series to come out because I have fallen in to this world. The author does a wonderful job creating a spark for your imagination to run with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Loved it.

    Really good book. Starts out slowly and pulls the reader in. Great characters that make you love them as their adventure moves on. Looking to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    England Girl

    The book is realy intresting and I can't stop reading it! It's a twist of love,desire,and kiddnapping.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    loved this book! read all of the series and am waiting for the n

    loved this book! read all of the series and am waiting for the next one to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    Loved this book. Great beginning to the series. I highly recomme

    Loved this book. Great beginning to the series. I highly recommend reading

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Good read !!!

    Good read !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Loved this book. I wish there had been more going between Sora a

    Loved this book. I wish there had been more going between Sora and Crash, but it ended the way it was suppose to. I am so glad its a series. I could not have handled not reading about this new world T.L. Shreffler has created, with its awesome characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    this book, this series is amazing! true diamond! I usually get t

    this book, this series is amazing! true diamond! I usually get the free books hoping they're good but this book... WOW! I am in love. One of the best 
    series of all TIME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    An absolute page-turner.  LOVED IT!  

    An absolute page-turner.  LOVED IT!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5