Customer Reviews for

The Sorcerer of the North (Ranger's Apprentice Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 644 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(491)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Fantasy

This is an outstanding adventure tale and very well written. Okay I will admit it. I am an adult who read this book. Believe when I say I as old as I am, I got caught up in this story.

The story is about a man named Halt who chooses an apprentice named Will. They...
This is an outstanding adventure tale and very well written. Okay I will admit it. I am an adult who read this book. Believe when I say I as old as I am, I got caught up in this story.

The story is about a man named Halt who chooses an apprentice named Will. They soon learn to respect each other. Halt is a Ranger who teaches Will how to shot a longbow, use knives to throw, make himself invisible to others so he can hear what is going on in the kingdom. Halt's teaches Will not only survival skills, but how to relate to a bully who has pestered Will in school. Will learns many of life's lessons from Halt who has plenty of experience as a Ranger.

Naturally there is an evil man who wants to take over the kingdom. Also there some creatures who will cause trouble for the Ranger and his apprentice. Halt can easily relate to Will's feelings and is an understanding man.

There is plenty of action, adventure, wit, and character charm in this book. I would highly recomment it for any school library. It is an excellent teaching tool for a child who does not like to read. The story moves fast, the characters are people you care about, and the dialogue is excellent.

Higly recomment for the young reader and older reader too.

posted by Aki on June 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Allesandra and ashpaw

What game are you guys talking about?

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sorcerer of the North

    It speeds forward in time, skipping over the rest of Will's training, mentioning his past in 1 chapter. You don't hear of Alyss since The Burning Bridge, and she suddenly pops up as Will's romantic interest. Princess Cassandra is hardly mentioned, like a wisp of smoke in the sky, and I've noticed that some of Will's friends(George and Jenny) vanish from the story in The Burning Bridge. However, I think that The Sorcerer of the North is well written, and plenty of people will like it if they read the books in order. I read this book, and I would recommend this book to people ages 3-103.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    the sorcerer of the north

    It's a good book. It's my least favorite in the series, but it's needed to introduce the next book in the serise which I love. Its still a good book though. I recommend the rest of the series and Warriors.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great

    One of the better books I've read. If you like this book i definetly recomend The Hungergames by Suzane Collins

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dangerously Addictive!

    This author and series was introduced to me through a free e-book offering through B&N. Now I own the entire series. I can't thank them enough for the hours of entertaining and addictive reading I have experienced in a long time. I highly recommend this series to everyone...but be aware that you won't be able to put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sorcerer of the North

    I would have to give this book about four stars out of five. I say this because out of all the Rangers Apprentice books this one seemed more centered around magic. This book takes place in the Sea Cliff Fief. Will has just been placed there as a full ranger. Strange things have been happening at Sea Cliff, with no way to explain them. Will has no other way to turn except to magic. This book has a lot of action and suspense so you don't want to put it down. Before you read this I would suggest that you read the first four books, because there are parts you wouldn't understand if you didn't. I would recommend this book to fantasy readers. I usually don¿t enjoy fantasy books, but there are a few that catch my attention, like this one. Overall The Sorcerer of the North was a good book, it just didn¿t take the course I expected it to take.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    A very good book & installment in the Ranger's Apprentice s

    A very good book & installment in the Ranger's Apprentice series. I just finished reading it less than an hour or so ago & it only took me a week
    or to do so.
    I'm looking forward to getting & reading the Siege of Macindaw within another day or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Aesome guy

    Will is finally a ranger but then Lord Syron is struck with an illness by keren who will try and take over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Really good

    I just finished reading this book, and I have to say it wasn't as good as the others. We don't get any REAL action until the very end, unlike the previous books where the action and adventure was constant. This book also doesn't wrap up as well as the other books. And we missed a whole bunch of charecters. I mean, what happened to Evanlyn? She was one of my favorite charecters, and an IMPORTANT one, and she's hardly mentioned! Instead we get Alyss, who I've never really liked. And Horace was hardly mentioned either, who was another of my favorite charecters. Another few things that ticked me off were 1) Will seemed to have changed A LOT (Yes, I know he's all grown up now, but he needn't change that much, 2) the author kept introducing characters and things supposedly from the previous books that were never really there, and 3) the amount of cursing in this series has grown to a steadily higher rate. I mean, SERIOUSLY! This is supposed to be a kids book! I'd like to introducd this series to my little brother, but I don't want to introduce him to a whole bunch of curse words either!!! I probally sound like I hate the book, but other than the major changes and the cursing, it was pretty good. Will is a full-fledged Ranger, and is called away very quickly from his fief for his very first mission. Lorn Syron of the Macindaw castle has fallen under a perilous illness, supposedly because an ancient wizard placed a curse on his family. Will isn't sure who is the cause of this curse—Syron's son Orman, who is rather mean and spends his days locked up in his tower reading ancient scrolls and books, or a very real wizard who's placed the woods under a spell—but he's running out of time. It's up to the Ranger to get to the bottom of this mystery, before it's too late. Not as suspenceful as the previous books, but still pretty good. I would rate this book four stars, and recomend it to readers who enjoy knights and castles and magic kind of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Highlt Recommend for Young Boys

    My son is 11 but an advanced reader. He has throughly enjoyed this series. He read books 1 -5 in 6 weeks. he can't wait to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Rangers apprentice the sorcer of the northe

    I havent read yet i.am on the battle at skandia book4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Hi Mr. Williams!!!

    This book is about Will who is now a full fledged ranger and the adventure were the lord Syron all of a sudden gets sick. He and Alyss investigate the so called sorcerer of the north. Doing so Alyss gets taken hostage by Keren after Buttle discovers her true identity. Will then tries to help her to get out.

    I liked this book because its a very interesting book, and i also love books with violence in them. What i didnt like in this book was some of the confusion that came to me reading it.

    I recommend this book to everyone who loves action and mysterious books. This book is an amazing addition to the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good

    Good series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A good intro...

    At frst glance you'll notice Will is not an apprentice anymore. After 4 books it's about time. This book is a good lead into a good story but you can definately tell it's only the first half. Paced a bit slower than I prefer but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    very good book

    it was well written and gripping

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not #1 in the Series, but Good

    Book 5 wasn¿t my favorite of the series so far, but it was still good. The time difference between book 4 and book 5 is a little odd for me. All of the sudden will is a ranger with his own fief and is twenty something years old. There wasn¿t as much action as other Rangers Apprentice books, but there was some mystery in it. The surprise of the book really surprised me. I didn¿t see it coming and it was a good fit for the story. The new characters make me hate them, or really love them. Despite these faults it was still a good read and I will continue on with the series.

    Reviewed by Kole for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story with the familiar characters taking on a new (temporary role).

    Let me start by saying this is definitely a segway book leading into book 6 of the series. But let me also say I was not disappointed at all with this book. It has all the same characters along with some newly introduced characters as well. There is a little bit of a twist with this book as it is not exactly the Will you have read in the previous 4 books. Not that it is a bad thing; Will just takes on a different role in this book. Without giving too much away, read the story and I don't think you will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    The Sorcerer of the North

    The book Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanagan is full of adventure and excitement. After years of practice, effort, and dedication Will, the main character, is finally a full-fledged Ranger. He has been given his first assignment.

    Will is sent to the Fief of Seacliff, the northern border of Araluen. Lord Syron of Castle Macindaw is struck down with a mysterious illness. Will hears rumors about a sorcerer called Malcallm can be behind this. Another person the townspeople are suspicious of is Orman, son of Lord Syron who is supposed to be taking Lord Syron's spot. Instead, Sir Keren is the popular choice to the townspeople. Now Alyss his friend who came with him is taken hostage from the criminal whose behind Lord Syron's illness. It is now up for Will to choose whether to save Alyss or finish his assignment. Will it be to save Alyss? Or continue his assignment.

    This book is filled with simulation and action. Maybe Will might leave his assignment and go for Alyss. Or leave Alyss to danger. It makes us wonder more as the author makes us hang on to the story. If you want to know read the next book of Ranger's Apprentice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absorbing But Slightly Unsatisfying Story - Wonderful Adventure Series

    This is a great adventure series which primarily follows the exploits of Will, an undersized orphan apprenticed to the Ranger Halt. Halt has instructed Will in riding, longbow shooting, use of a small swordlike knife, throwing knives and unseen movement as well as survival and tracking skills. Through sharing his life with Will, Halt has also provided him with unflagging examples of courage, loyalty and patience. Rangers are the eyes and ears of the crown, and in this installment Will has become a full fledged ranger with his own territory. It's an engaging read as Will copes with his first real posting, but he is then sent on a covert mission to investigate reports of a sorcerer in the north. The bulk of this story goes on to recount Will's undercover investigation in this northern region which includes many intense, (occasionally desperate), moments. It's a compelling read, but there's not a lot of heart-stopping thrills or action sequences, and the ending doesn't resolve anything. Due to the lack of thrills/action and unresolved ending, I found this book a bit unsatisfying when compared with other installments in this series. Nonetheless, I heartily enjoyed the story and am looking forward to its conclusion in the presumably action-packed "Siege of Macindaw".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good addition to the set

    The fifth book in the set was almost as good as the rest. Although it was a good book, I will say that it seemed to be slightly lacking in the over plot compaired to the rest of the books in the set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6