Customer Reviews for

The Sorcerer's Companion: A Guide to the Magical World of Harry Potter

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I think that this is one of the many great books of Mythology! No, I take that back, this is THE:' Best Mythology Book out...Although, I havent read the second edition yet, so that might be more up to date, but this is one hell of a book.....GREAT! But, if you are expec...
I think that this is one of the many great books of Mythology! No, I take that back, this is THE:' Best Mythology Book out...Although, I havent read the second edition yet, so that might be more up to date, but this is one hell of a book.....GREAT! But, if you are expecting for it to talk about Harry Potter, it doesn't. It talks about mythology, such as Tarot cards, Crystal Balls, and teaches you how to read tealeaves. I recommend this book to anyone who like Mythology. But a word of advice, don't fool around with it if you dont know what your doing. Things could get...'messy' P.S. The Titles you also enjoyed part, cut off alot of what I said, so here is the rest: Finding the God in Harry Potter (I just like to read these because I think its intresting how the world of harry potter relates to the God alot of People in the 'Real' World believe in) Mythology, The Hidden Myths in Harry Potter: Spellbinding Map and Book of Secrets, The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths Legends and Fascinating Facts, The Science of Harry Potter: How Magic Really Works, and Faith Journey through Fantasy Lands: A Christian Dialogue with Harry Potter, Star Wars, and the Lord of the Rings (agian i just find these interesting) Thanks for reading this...I hope you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading this

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not that great

I liked some, but parts were boring. I thought it was more Harry Potter related.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Great Book

    I think that this is one of the many great books of Mythology! No, I take that back, this is THE:' Best Mythology Book out...Although, I havent read the second edition yet, so that might be more up to date, but this is one hell of a book.....GREAT! But, if you are expecting for it to talk about Harry Potter, it doesn't. It talks about mythology, such as Tarot cards, Crystal Balls, and teaches you how to read tealeaves. I recommend this book to anyone who like Mythology. But a word of advice, don't fool around with it if you dont know what your doing. Things could get...'messy' P.S. The Titles you also enjoyed part, cut off alot of what I said, so here is the rest: Finding the God in Harry Potter (I just like to read these because I think its intresting how the world of harry potter relates to the God alot of People in the 'Real' World believe in) Mythology, The Hidden Myths in Harry Potter: Spellbinding Map and Book of Secrets, The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasury of Myths Legends and Fascinating Facts, The Science of Harry Potter: How Magic Really Works, and Faith Journey through Fantasy Lands: A Christian Dialogue with Harry Potter, Star Wars, and the Lord of the Rings (agian i just find these interesting) Thanks for reading this...I hope you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading this

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    very good

    i really liked this book. i first picked it up at the library, because i thought it would have thorough, direct explanations of what happened in the harry potter books. after i read a few pages, i was kinda dissapointed. but as i read on, i realized that not only does the book explain things that happened in harry potter (not directly, though), it talks about other types of magic too. and so, i liked the book even more. i would suggest buying this book and keeping it. because u'd probably go back to this book again, and again, to find out more stuff.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    READ THIS BOOK!

    This is a great book. I loved it. It had information on most fo the magical creatures and other topics from the Harry Potter books. I would have liked more topics and more information, but it's still good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Excellent Book

    This book really is a wonderful compliment to the Harry Potter books, because it allows the reader to research many concepts introduced in the books and learn about the folklore and history surrounding them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    Not that great

    I liked some, but parts were boring. I thought it was more Harry Potter related.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Next Best thing to the books

    This book was out of this world. I have read other HP Explantion Books but non were quiet this good. Everyone who wants to learn more about mythical creatures should reas this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Mya B.

    MAGIC IS REAL! who r u kidding? R u crazy? Ur crushing little kids dreams here! Saying magix isnt real! People if u do most recwnt for the searches. Ull know what im talking about. DUDE! MAJIC IS REAL! IVE SEEN IT HAPPEN UNDER MY OWN NOSE! TAKE MY WORD FOR IT! *mumbles stuff under breath*
    Anyway. I think this would be helpful. I love Harry Potter. Oh and um people. If that one review saying magic isnt real crushed u. Magic iiiiiisssss real. Seen it happen with my own to eyes. So always live up to ur dreams peeps!
    Peace
    -mya B. Kid critic

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome book full of info behind the scenes of JK Rowling's ideas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!

    I loved the book, it had loads of info. It even had stuff that wasn't in the books or was rarely talked about. LONG LIVE HARRY POTTER!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Worth way mor then 13$ dollars

    Amazing this book opened up all the mysteries of harry potter!!! By it u will be hooked

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Amazing information!!!!!

    Read the sample, and you'll be hooked! Even the sample has enough info to keep u going until u buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    An interesting guide to the background mythology

    This book is a little slow to read. It is filled with useful information about the history of spells, myths, beasts, etc. There are better books about the same subjects.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    brings you to a magical world

    this book is a great book to read while reading the Harry Potter series. If you like magical books like Harry Potter then you should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    AWASOME BOOK!!!

    This book is awasome i give it 5 stars it is the best book i have ever read great reference stuff!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    This book rocks!

    This book is filled with all the Harry Potter information you can imagine! I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    Awsome!!

    I love this book! I learned how to do arithamancy and now I do it 24 7. I even put them in my Valintine cards

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    All fact no fiction!

    They got info from other non-fiction books! Non-Magic believers BEWARE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    The book with all the answers

    I have been reading the Harry Potter books over and over again and always wonder if J.K Rowling made all of the stuff up. If so how does everything work? This book gives me all the answers in the world, Harry Potter world. All of my questions are answered in a simple book. I think that anyone with questions about Hinkypucks or Arithmacy should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Elizabeth to Mya B.

    What magic did you see? TELL ME ALL ABOUT IT!!!!!!!! 8D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Magic Smagic

    Just a rehash of other books on "magic" using Harry Potter to get you to buy it. Will get a lot of the Harry Potter fans to buy it then be disappointed when it has nothing to do with the books. Sorry kids there is No such thing as magic. Tarot cards don't work neither does tea leaf reading nor spells. I would NOT recommend this book. The Harry Potter books were good escapism but they were fantasy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3