Customer Reviews for

Sorcerer's Ring Bundle (Books 1,2,3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This Series is amazing nothing boring about it, each page leaves

This Series is amazing nothing boring about it, each page leaves you wanting more and also checking for when the next book comes out so you can snatch it up. If your tired of the same old scenario, don't worry you will be refreshingly suprised at the twist and turns. Ho...
This Series is amazing nothing boring about it, each page leaves you wanting more and also checking for when the next book comes out so you can snatch it up. If your tired of the same old scenario, don't worry you will be refreshingly suprised at the twist and turns. Hopelessly waiting on the 4th addition!

posted by 18180016 on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A disappointment

If the series has been "professionally edited" then the editor needs to find a new profession. I work as an editor for a major publisher and there are so many flaws that I can't bring myself to finish the first book. I feel like I wasted my money.

posted by 2970709 on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    This series was written by two teenagers who had a computer. I c

    This series was written by two teenagers who had a computer. I can not believe anbody would compare these books to Lord of the Ring or
    A Game of Thrones. I will not be buying any more of these books. I wish there was a way to return and get my money back. Badly written rip off of every other good fantasy series....but this is NOT one of them!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    If you love grammar and spelling, stay away

    I am probably only halfway through the first book and I am regretting having bought this. The grammatical errors are sometimes glaring. It's so bloody predictable that you can set a watch to it (or something like that). Everything is so contrived that it stretches the limits of credibility. Thor is granted a place in the king's family because he saved a knight. He gets a falcon (something reserved only for the very privileged) AND finds a snow leopard cub (which is something very mystical and whatnot) and manages to 'bond' with them right away. Even before he gets royal favor, he becomes best friends with the youngest prince and finds a champion in the best knight in the kingdom, all within minutes (seemingly) of being at the castle. His hunting groups kills the biggest boar. He gets the love of the princess. He gets the admiration of the entire Legion because of one brave act when the entire Legion wanted to kill him the day before. And, I swear, people, the other reviewers and I am not making this up: the name of the leopard cub changes spelling constantly. I mean, really. Pick a spelling and keep it!

    I fault the editor for the grammar and the spelling. I fault the author for such a contrived, predictable plot that it makes this a book that I want to put down, even though I've only read half of the first book.

    I suppose if you're a kid, you'll love this book. It does have action and adventure and it does very much tell the story of a how a boy makes something of himself by believing in himself. Other than that, if you're an adult who dislikes predictability and noticeable grammatical errors, then steer clear.

    (Oh! And I haven't even mentioned the fact that the author called a leopard baby a 'pup', have I? And that within 2 pages, the author has the leopard cub 'whining' in fear three or four times? I mean, couldn't the author have chosen another word? I don't know whether to blame the author or the editor for that.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Dreadful Dreck!

    If you have dulled perceptions and a high tolerance for grammatical and historical error, this is for you. I understand this is fantasy, but the huge blunders (a castle with a wall a whole foot thick!), a sovereign who leaves a room in a hurry and slams it on his way out (no mention of the door, seems he slammed the room itself). These were the 2 most egregious errors in the first 3 or 4 chapters, but there was an average of one or two per page, taking you out of the story while you figured out what was meant, or how the assertion made any sense in an obviously medieval world. Save your money. There are many good writers of fantasy. Morgan Rice is not one of them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    A disappointment

    If the series has been "professionally edited" then the editor needs to find a new profession. I work as an editor for a major publisher and there are so many flaws that I can't bring myself to finish the first book. I feel like I wasted my money.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Poor editing, could have fit these 3 books into one.

    The editor should have been fired - there are so many mistakes between character names and place names that you need to re-read numerous paragraphs to figure out what is going on. It makes you wonder if she ever learned how to read above the 5th grade level.

    After reading every page of the first book I figured out that for the rest of the books you can read every third page and still know what is going on. Don't get attached to any of the characters because she is going to kill them off.

    This series really had a lot of potential but the author gets so wordy that it actually gets so you forget what she is talking about. Her long, drawn out descriptions of fights became tedious. She must have taken lessons on how to make these as gruesome as possible because the violence actually becomes boring.

    After reading the first nine books of this series I have given up and don't really care what happens to the "heroes" anymore.

    Lots of potential. Poorly executed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Trash

    No

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Too simple

    Simple and formulaic. Written for kids, by a kid I think. I could not even finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Good concept poorly executed.

    Very poorly written and even worse editing. Don't bother with this one.
    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Below average

    As a fan of this genre I have read hundreds of books by dozens of authors. This series is towards the very bottom of the list. Shallow and cliche in character development. The plot is weak and painfully predictable. I pressed forward in reading for two reasons; first, I paid for the books, and second, I held a slowly dying hope that the author would actually get better. Money and time wasted, hope turned to ash.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    This book is horribly written and contains multiple errors.

    This book is horribly written and contains multiple errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    &kcuf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    DON'T BUY DON'T BUY DON'T BUY DON'T BUY DON'T BUY

    This book has SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    many grammar mistakes and character mix-ups. I feel like I'm reading the type of writing one makes when they're a 3 year old. All who agree post i agree. This dosen't even deserve one star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Horrible

    I read the reviews before I bought this entire series. What the reviewers failed to mention are the gaping plot holes and the third grade grammar. I understand spell-check does not correct grammatically poor sentence structure but a half decent editor would help greatly. The plot is reminiscent of something I might have written in grade school. One day in and the main character has drastically altered his life and made lifelong friends. This could have been a decent series if there was any actual plot development instead of things just magically happening. I've read harlequin romances with better character creation. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    at best preteen

    at best preteen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Moonkit

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1