Customer Reviews for

The Sorceress (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 844 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(588)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant surprise to see this book in print

I was walking the aisles in Barnes & Noble and was surprised to see the third book in the Flamel Series. It was an intense read that I could not put down. It kept me on the edge of my bed every night. I highly recommend the entire series for teen readers.

posted by Piny on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great edition to an already excellent series

These are fast-paced can't put it down until your finished kind of books, and this edition to the series is no exception. However, I find myself wanting a lot more from them and the world that Scott is creating. Don't get me wrong, I really do love these books, but I ha...
These are fast-paced can't put it down until your finished kind of books, and this edition to the series is no exception. However, I find myself wanting a lot more from them and the world that Scott is creating. Don't get me wrong, I really do love these books, but I have a lot of general qualms with them. I want more magic, and I want to know how the magic is being created. When we all were transported to Hogwarts, there was an explanation of how the magic worked throughout the world, which had very particular rules about what one can do when and how long it takes to acquire that knowledge. So, ok, I know that Scott is not trying to recreate the Potter world, but it would be nice to know what rules the magic of this world operates from. The best explanation that we get at any point from either of the twins is, "I don't know, somehow you just know how to do it." I think this is a travesty and is missing out on a crucial element of drawing us into the story. How are they developing these abilities? How do they feel as they're creating the magic? Every once in a while we get a peek into the whole thing, but it's not nearly often enough. Even the other immortals have cool spells that I'd like to get a little more depth on. Most of the time, they simply say, a shaman taught me this, or I learned this from Circe. You learned what from Circe? Is it a spell that you say? How are you creating the magic? Anyway, past all that, it's a fun read and, in my opinion, more engaging than the first two. Josh and Sophie have generally become less whiney and are starting to jump into this whole being special and having magical abilities thing. Also, not to spoil it, but there's an interesting plot twist that happens right at the end of the book. -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

posted by Lindsey_Miller on June 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 862 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pleasant surprise to see this book in print

    I was walking the aisles in Barnes & Noble and was surprised to see the third book in the Flamel Series. It was an intense read that I could not put down. It kept me on the edge of my bed every night. I highly recommend the entire series for teen readers.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    Impossible To Stop Reading! (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    The Sorceress
    By Michael Scott
    Pub. Date: May 2009
    5 out of 5 stars
    PG-13 - Violence
    Recommended

    Nicholas Flamel was able to get the twins, Josh and Sophie, out of Paris, France, but it seems only to bring them to an even more dangerous place, London. In a city that Dee and the Dark Elders completely control, every corner hides a person that may finally be able to capture them, or worse. kill them. They are not helpless though, with Sophie already trained in two elemental magics, Nick's knowledge, and Josh's sword, but any presence of their auras will alert everyone in the city to their location. Even if the twins survive the streets of London, they may not survive the encounter with the Water magic teacher. For Nicholas has been hiding the fact from them that this man is completely and utterly insane.

    The Sorceress isn't only an action-adventure fantasy for teen boys, but also a thrilling, mysterious ride for all ages and genders.

    Not only is The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series exciting, but also great books to use in the classroom. Many characters are based on historical figures. You could easily use these books as interest builders for history class. Even Science, Math, and Physics classes could be aided in teaching students by these books. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series uses Intelligent Fighting tactics. The characters aren't just bashing the bad guys on the head with hammers, but using physics, gravity, common sense, distance estimation, probabilities, erosion, and more to take out the bad guys. These are all things that are taught in school, but not always met with interest from students. These books could turn that around!

    A fourth of all the sentences started with either he, she, or they. Though that is not a very sophisticated writing technic, it doesn't impinge my love of the books at all

    The Sorceress kept me on my tiptoes the whole time. Each chapter had a different cliffhanger, so it was impossible to stop reading! Someone should really add an advertisement page after each chapter, because seriously, I was waiting for the commercials to begin. Also, every character, be them minor, major, hero, or villian, had to face their different dilemmas in their own narrated chapters. I never knew who would be in the next chapter, or when we would get back to a different one. Warning, you will not be able to put this book down!

    Date Reviewed: May 20th, 2009

    For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Put It Down

    My husband and I started reading the series a few months back and we couldn't wait for The Sorceress to come out. He devoured it in about a week. I love how Michael Scott mixes myths and legends from all across history and cultures with modern time and issues. The plight of Sofie and Josh are just as engaging and suspenseful as the predicament Nicholas and Parry are in. We can't wait for The Necromancer to be published.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting...Intriguing

    I would reccommend this book to all ages. I suggest reading the first two first, though.
    The worst thing about this book and all in the series, is waiting for the next one to come out.

    Definitely read them!! :-)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    A Real Page Turner

    Like The Alchemist and The Magician, the first two books in this series by Michael Scott, The Sorceress is a real page turner. Scott weaves his extensive knowledge of folklore and mythology thoughout the books, creating an exciting story with interesting characters. I stayed up late several nights reading. I'd say to myself, "All right, I'll go to bed at the end of this chapter," only to have it end with a cliffhanger so I'd have to read on. And I'm 52 years old! My best friend's 15 year old son and I had a race to see who could finish The Sorceress first. (He won.) We can't wait for The Necromancer to be released.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great edition to an already excellent series

    These are fast-paced can't put it down until your finished kind of books, and this edition to the series is no exception. However, I find myself wanting a lot more from them and the world that Scott is creating. Don't get me wrong, I really do love these books, but I have a lot of general qualms with them. I want more magic, and I want to know how the magic is being created. When we all were transported to Hogwarts, there was an explanation of how the magic worked throughout the world, which had very particular rules about what one can do when and how long it takes to acquire that knowledge. So, ok, I know that Scott is not trying to recreate the Potter world, but it would be nice to know what rules the magic of this world operates from. The best explanation that we get at any point from either of the twins is, "I don't know, somehow you just know how to do it." I think this is a travesty and is missing out on a crucial element of drawing us into the story. How are they developing these abilities? How do they feel as they're creating the magic? Every once in a while we get a peek into the whole thing, but it's not nearly often enough. Even the other immortals have cool spells that I'd like to get a little more depth on. Most of the time, they simply say, a shaman taught me this, or I learned this from Circe. You learned what from Circe? Is it a spell that you say? How are you creating the magic? Anyway, past all that, it's a fun read and, in my opinion, more engaging than the first two. Josh and Sophie have generally become less whiney and are starting to jump into this whole being special and having magical abilities thing. Also, not to spoil it, but there's an interesting plot twist that happens right at the end of the book. -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!! Need I say more?! I think this book was wond

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!! Need I say more?! I think this book was wonderfully written. I felt as if I was there with 
    Sophie and Josh the whole time. I couldn't put it down! If you are debating about reading this book, or starting
    the series, READ THE WHOLE SERIES! You will not be disappointed at all! Trust me! WARNING!
    DO NOT READ THE EPILOGUE UNLESS YOU HAVE THE NEXT BOOK IN THE SERIES!!!!!!!!! 
    I hope this review helped, (Please click yes if it did) ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    LOVE this book!!!!!:)

    The Sorceress is the 3rd book in The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series. I highly recommend this book for sit-down-and-relax reading and also plane-riding, as it has a lot of mystery, adventure, and action. This book is fun and excited and, in my opinion, great for rereads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    So AWESOME

    TWO THUMBS UP!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    This series is awesome! Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    Looking forward to the rest of the series. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Can't put it down!

    Just finished this 3rd book this morning and until I got within the last 50 pages thought this was the last in the series. Then I got withint 20 pages of the end and knew the series wasn't over. Rather happy about that. So I got on line and ordered the last two books (book 4 and 5) that I intend to begin today. I'm hooked on Michael Scott's series of Nicolas Flamel and belive you will be too. History, magic, and possibilities abound. He has a great imagination that stirs yours as you read. No movie could do this series justice, just as about all movies fail to live up to the pictures that are created in your mind as you read the story. Continue to highly recommend this story to any age group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great book

    Read it once and just had to read it again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love this series! I have enjoyed every step of the journey the twins and the Flamels have been on. I tore through the first three books in the series in a weeks time, not being able to put the books down. I am on the forth and am enjoying that one. This is a great series, a must have if you like the world of magic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    The Roller-coaster doesn't Slow Down

    As I said in the other two reviews, this series is one of my favorites. The action does not stop. I'm hooked. Hard to put down, wonderfully developed characters, great plot line, suspense galore. I love that a number of the main characters are based on actual people. Flamel and his wife really existed, Google his name. His house in Paris still stands. The myth is that he discovered immortality based on the fact that he was wealthy, but no wealth was discovered when he died. His grave was dug up to see if gold was buried with him and he was no longer in it! This is fact that the author extrapolated into this wonderful series. John Dee is based on a real person too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Good book Good read

    Good book for people that like fasntasy and action books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    Same old, same old

    Though i loved the first books in the series, The Sorcerres has the same old plotline of the other two, without anything new. Josh and Sophie get chased by monsters, they meet imortals, they fight yet another battle with yet another half-human, half-animal elder, and they get another superpower. All jumbled together in the impossible time frame of one day. Plus, does Michael Scott have to tell us everything that's happening to every character every second no matter how boring their plot line is? But i gotta admitt, the ending is pretty cool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent addition

    I stumbled across this series and got hooked within the first few chapters. In this third book more creatures of old and legendary men and women come to light. Michael Scott has done something unique and brilliant with the twins Josh and Sophie gradually losing innocence and maturing with each new mythic and lethal experience. Nicholas Flamel seeming all the more human as his flaws become more apparent. The slow approach of ancient nightmares. All this keeps you on your toes and pining for more as each chapter ends, and despite how the chapters switch perspectives from one character to another the transition never feels out of place. Somehow despite all the myth and wonder that Michael has put into these books you never lose sight of the fact that they are in our world. The plot throws interesting curves and manages to keep its reveals dramatic and unexpected even now in the third book. However, it is not difficult or challenging to follow. So those looking for a hard read would be better off looking elsewhere. As mentioned before the characters are all unique and Michael shows another side to historic figures all the while respecting their origins. Josh and Sophie remain in the spotlight as more choices and responsibilities are put on them, and despite different perspectives they always desire to protect one another. This remains the crucial human element in a book of non-human creatures. Nicholas Flamel is also shown as having weaknesses and this makes him more relatable as a character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Doesn't disappoint

    Oftentimes a series will falter but, in my estimation, Scott's Flamel books have yet to do so. Sorceress has some boring passages of back story that are typical of this format, but not a surfeit. Scott's knowledge of myth and folklore are evident...you'll find all sorts of creatures here and from all corners of the world. He keeps the focus on action, moving between characters and scenes by chapters. I don't feel that his characterization is stellar, especially concerning the twins. I'm more drawn in by the magic and mayhem than by their plight, but there is enough going on to keep me turning the pages to find out what's going on in spite of the fact that I'm not highly drawn to the characters emotionally.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Awsome

    We need another book man c'mon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 862 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44