Customer Reviews for

The Sorceress (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 844 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(588)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant surprise to see this book in print

I was walking the aisles in Barnes & Noble and was surprised to see the third book in the Flamel Series. It was an intense read that I could not put down. It kept me on the edge of my bed every night. I highly recommend the entire series for teen readers.

posted by Piny on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great edition to an already excellent series

These are fast-paced can't put it down until your finished kind of books, and this edition to the series is no exception. However, I find myself wanting a lot more from them and the world that Scott is creating. Don't get me wrong, I really do love these books, but I ha...
These are fast-paced can't put it down until your finished kind of books, and this edition to the series is no exception. However, I find myself wanting a lot more from them and the world that Scott is creating. Don't get me wrong, I really do love these books, but I have a lot of general qualms with them. I want more magic, and I want to know how the magic is being created. When we all were transported to Hogwarts, there was an explanation of how the magic worked throughout the world, which had very particular rules about what one can do when and how long it takes to acquire that knowledge. So, ok, I know that Scott is not trying to recreate the Potter world, but it would be nice to know what rules the magic of this world operates from. The best explanation that we get at any point from either of the twins is, "I don't know, somehow you just know how to do it." I think this is a travesty and is missing out on a crucial element of drawing us into the story. How are they developing these abilities? How do they feel as they're creating the magic? Every once in a while we get a peek into the whole thing, but it's not nearly often enough. Even the other immortals have cool spells that I'd like to get a little more depth on. Most of the time, they simply say, a shaman taught me this, or I learned this from Circe. You learned what from Circe? Is it a spell that you say? How are you creating the magic? Anyway, past all that, it's a fun read and, in my opinion, more engaging than the first two. Josh and Sophie have generally become less whiney and are starting to jump into this whole being special and having magical abilities thing. Also, not to spoil it, but there's an interesting plot twist that happens right at the end of the book. -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

posted by Lindsey_Miller on June 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Doesn't disappoint

    Oftentimes a series will falter but, in my estimation, Scott's Flamel books have yet to do so. Sorceress has some boring passages of back story that are typical of this format, but not a surfeit. Scott's knowledge of myth and folklore are evident...you'll find all sorts of creatures here and from all corners of the world. He keeps the focus on action, moving between characters and scenes by chapters. I don't feel that his characterization is stellar, especially concerning the twins. I'm more drawn in by the magic and mayhem than by their plight, but there is enough going on to keep me turning the pages to find out what's going on in spite of the fact that I'm not highly drawn to the characters emotionally.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wish I could have given 5 stars...

    ...however, so I have found so often with this series, there is conflicting information. Towards the end of the book, Scott states that Flamel took the twins to the Witch of Endor to be awakened. However, we all know he took them to Hekate. This type of error is inexcusable, and I'm not sure why newly printed copies of this book have not been corrected.

    Aside from that major error/annoyance, the story was amazing. This was my favorite story in the series yet, which is why it pains me that I am only able to give it a four. Otherwise, I highly recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    the book is a pretty good book. at the end of each book theres a

    the book is a pretty good book. at the end of each book theres alwoys a cliffhanger! i finished it today and like its soo good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    The entire series is a winner!

    The entire series is a winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great addition to the series

    This was a reallly good book. It really leaves off on a cllifhanger. I'm immediately reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Grest read

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Drags on

    I am a big fan if thus sereis but the plot drags on un tjus book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Annoying

    This book is annoyin to read!!!!!!!;(

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Excellent Book.

    Michael Scott does not disappoint in Book 3 of the seriess: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Predictable, but fun

    I saw the last-page plot twist coming a LONG time ago. That said, I am liking this series so far. It's my "listen while cleaning" audiobook series, and I'm eager to grab the next installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Great series

    I think that these books are terrific and fit most needs of fantasy readers like myself

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    great series

    i love the plot althogh it has some minor problems

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    The Best of Mythos and Realism

    Michael Scott weaves an unforgettable story in this third novel of the Nicholas Flamel series. What I love about this book is his ability to weave mythos, history, and the modern world together in a meaningful and realistic way. In this tale, Sophie and Josh continue on their quest as the immortal twins, and the plot thickens as the intentions of Nicholas Flamel are increasingly scrutinized. Perenelle continues to delight with her ruthless ingenuity and stunning creativity. In short, this book is a brilliant and surprising part of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    it's a good book. If you like fantasy in the modern world.

    it's a nice story. it has a lot of action and I couldn't put it down. the story itself is awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Third book in the Alchemist series

    This is a fun book , the third of three so far. I actually thought it would be the last book, but there is at least one more to come, and maybe a few more by the looks of it. I do enjoy how the author infuses the story with both modern ideas (laptops and iPods) as well as real mythological characters, historical information, magic and other interesting facts such as the discussion of leylines and the Point Zero in Paris. The book is geared for teens, but I still enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the sorceress

    i like the idea of the magic in the world.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A brilliant work with fun twists and a little history sprinkled in

    This installment of Michael Scott's series was spectacular. In my opinion, there was a slight lull in the previous installment (The Magician), but The Sorceress made up for that lull and then some. An absolutely brilliant plot twists that would surprise even the sharpest readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    Must I wait for more?

    Having been left hanging from the previous book, I gobbled this one up to see what would happen next. I was not disappointed. My biggest regret is not paying better attention in school to history and mythology! The pages fly by and I am anxious to see what creatures will appear and thwart the hapless heroes next. And just who ARE the heroes? The lines have become blurred. This reminds me of the old-fashioned radio serial shows. What a delight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sorceress by Michael Scott

    I found the Sorceress by Michael Scott to be an enjoyable read. The characters seem very real, and the storyline takes you through the twists and turns of the world of mythology. It is one of those books that you get lost in and when you finish, you can't wait for the next book to come out. The book tells more about Nicholas Flamel's wife, Perenelle, who is trapped on Alcatraz. The Sorceress defines Perenelle's character more, as well as bringing more depth to the characters of Sophie and Josh. Overall, the Sorceress is a very enjoyable read that is very fast paced, and is good through the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Great Book!

    Addictive reading, could not stop till I got to the end. Thrilling!
    Looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8