Customer Reviews for

Sorcery and Cecelia or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    simply magical

    Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer first published Sorcery and Cecelia under that that title in 1988. In recent years, thanks to reprints with shiny new cover art by Scott M. Fischer in the case of the edition I read as well as two new sequels, this book has regained popularity and visibility. Aside from that, one of the most important things to know about this book is its alternate title: The Enchanted Chocolate Pot: Being the Correspondence of Two Young Ladies of Quality Regarding Various Magical Scandals in London and the Country.

    Wrede and Stevermer wrote this book as a writing exercise of sorts called the Letter Game. Patricia C. Wrede wrote as Cecelia while Caroline Stevermer responded with Kate's letters. They did not plan the plot before they began writing.

    Almost every review I have found online describes Sorcery and Cecelia as a cross between the books of Jane Austen and those of J. K. Rowling. The comparison does make sense, but I might venture to say I liked this book better than any of the Harry Potter series.

    The year is 1817 in an England where magic is as much a part of life as letter writing. The latter is of particular importance to Kate and Cecelia as the cousins spend the novel in separate parts of England. While Kate and her more glamorous sister Georgina are in London enjoying a proper Season, Cecelia, much to her consternation, is left to languish in the country with her brother Oliver for company (at least until he's turned into a tree).

    Problems begin for both cousins when Kate accidentally intercepts a rather nasty pot of chocolate in a London garden that was, apparently, meant for the eccentric Marquis of Schofield. If only he would explain exactly why.

    Meanwhile, in the country, Cecelia finds herself following a shady figure spying on Cecy's new (and surprisingly popular!) friend Dorothea. When Cecelia repeatedly catches him in the act of spying, James Tarleton repeatedly refuses to offer any information.

    As the girls learn more about these mysterious men, and the mysterious events, it becomes clear that something big is happening--big enough that evidence of the plan can be seen in both London and the country. The only question is what, exactly, is going on and if Kate and Cecelia can stop it in time.

    Being an homage to Jane Austen, this novel has not one but two romances. Which couple is better has been a hot topic since the book came out. The librarian who recommended the book to me feels very strongly that the Mysterious Marquis and Kate are a more enjoyable match to observe. For my part, I preferred Cecelia and James.

    This novel avoids all of the traps that can make an epistolary novel awful. There is no repetition, there is dialogue, the narrative reads like a, for lack of a better word, normal book in that the narrative flows in a fairly traditional way. There is neither too much information nor too little. And, most importantly, the novel is filled with suspense, action, humor and romance that shines through both Cecelia's and Kate's letters.

    But then from two talented and well-known fantasy writers, what else can a reader expect but perfection?

    Sorcery and Cecelia is the first in a series of books featuring Kate and Cecelia. Their stories continue in The Grand Tour (2004) and The Mislaid Magician of Ten Years After (2006).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun read, share with a friend

    If the phrase "Pride and Prejudice with magic in" intrigues you, read this book. It's whimsical, occasionally hilarious, and phrases from it will mysteriously appear in your mind the next time you watch a Jane Austen movie. Highly recommended if you enjoy Jane Austen, Susanna Clarke, or Patricia Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles. (Also, if you like it, check out the sequels.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great writing with uninteresting story

    I didn't like this book in particular. The writing is great, and the way the book is set up is very unique, but this book was just not my cup of tea. The story wasn't that interesting and I had difficulty getting into the book. The book itself might be interesting to someone else, but it just seemed boring to me. I couldn't remember most of the secondary character either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, Imaginative Fantasy

    I really enjoyed Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot. The whole story is told by the letters the two main characters write to each other during the course of the book. These characters are the cousins Cecelia and Katherine, who happen to be best friends. Kate and her younger sister Georgy are off to London for a glittering first season while Cecy is left home in her family's estate in Essex. The mischief begins when Kate goes through a portal, is mistaken for someone else and is almost poisoned by an evil witch. Back in Essex, Cecy has befriended the beautiful Dorothea Griscomb, who's ability to make men fall in love her is just like magic. Both cousins are caught up in magical intruige, all during the backdrop 1817 England, the only difference being magic exists and is acknowledged. Sometimes humorous, sometimes suspenseful, and sprinkled with romance, this novel is a witty engaging tale that I would definitely reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Totally awsome!!!!

    This book rocks!!! If you like magic, Adventure & Romance this is the book. it's great i can't get enough of it. i've read it a least 20 times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    What a clever idea!

    I really enjoyed this book. It took a few pages to really get into the story, but once I did, I had fun reading through. The blend of friendship and magic is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    OMG! I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    This book is a great book for any young adult interested in magic, romance, and mystery. Is definitly a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is one of my favorites because I didn't want it to end. It's crazy, but in a good way. The way things are expressed is quite the times, and very interesting to hear gossip of society put in with the plot. This book is very interesting with a sense of humor. The book keeps you hooked, it doesn't move slowly!!! The magic put in adds some unpredicablilty, too. It's hard to believe that the authors didn't plan what they were supposed to do together!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Thoroughly Enjoyable

    Kate and Cecelia rush into the thick of things and make their own trouble before sorting everything out. I am intrigued by the idea of writing letters back and forth in character in a 'letter-game.' I first read Wrede's Enchanted Chronicles a long time ago and this has been a very nice return to her stories. I am definitly looking forward to reading 'The Grand Tour.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    This is an AWESOME book

    This book is so cool. I made our school library to order it because I wanted to read it, and it was every bit as good as I thought it was going to be! The coolest part of this book is the format that it is written in. The writers actually wrote this book in letters written back and forth to each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Great!

    Fun and romantic, yet full of mystery and adventure. I recommend this book to any young adult readers who are interested in fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    a review

    While the story didn't capture me as much as I had hoped, this book has a great style to it. I loved the setting and characters and I LOVE the idea of two people actually writing letters back and forth to eachother as characters. A so-called Letter Game. In fact I liked it so much that my friend and I are doing it ourselves with our own characters. It is so much fun. All in all this book was decent, I've read better and I've read worse, but the concept was really cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    'The Enchanted Pot' is enchanting

    I honestly love this book. Kate and Ceceila are wonderful and fun, but they aren't afraid to get their hands a little dirty. And you can't help but adore James and Thomas (a tough decision, but Thomas was my favorite). I would recommend it to all looking for some fun and magic. Can't wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    A book that gets you hooked

    Sorcery & Cecelia was one of the best books I've ever read; it's imaginative,witty,and shows cunnung in the charaters. Both Kate and Cecelia are strong willed and it makes the book even better, these girls wont sit around and wait for trouble they go and find it. The way the authors write the girls story makes you want to dig in and reread it after you have already read it. The book was amazing and I would recomend it to anybody who can read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    LOVED it!

    This is one of the most delightful books I've ever read! The delightful style of writing really sucks you into the story. I was surprised to learn (after finishing the book) that the authors hardly talked about the direction of the plot! Every fantasy lover should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Sorcery and Cecelia

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! It is the most Fabulous book I have read in a while and i am waiting for The Grand Tour to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    An excellent tale of magic and mischief

    I love how magical this tale is, and the setting really makes it unique and enjoyable. The two main characters are delightful and strong-willed, which always makes for a fun read. I highly recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    A review of a GREAT BOOK!

    When i got this book last year, I had no idea what it was about. I just picked it up and started reading it since it was by one of my favorite authors:Patricia Wrede. I LOVE IT! It is one of my all time favorites. At first i thought, great another letter book, but I was wrong it was one of the best books I've read, and that's saying something. I can't wait til THE GRANDE TOUR comes out! Patricia and Caroline, ya'll make a great team! I'll be reading this book over and over. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE GRANDE TOUR!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    A Book to Reread Again and Again

    I must admit that I was a fan of this book years before it was re-released. I preorder two copies (one for me and one for lending) as soon as I knew it was coming back. If you are over 18 years old, do not be swayed by it being called 'young adult.' It is just a grand read for anyone! I gave it to my 80 year old mother and I read it to my daughters when they were 8 and 11--all three LOVED it as much as I! Everyone I have told to read the book has loved it--so go ahead, no matter what your age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Not 'Odious' in the Least!!

    This book was amazing!! I was so exited when I bought it, but when I begun to read I was a little let down. The letter thing threw me off...I hadn't noticed it was all letters. A few pages in though, it got good. Things started happening really quickly and soon the two characters, Cecy and Kate became my best friends! I just reread the book this morning and I laugh harded than ever. This is the kind of book I will come back to and read and reread until I'm thirty, and then I'll pass it on. I cannot wait until the Sequel comes out! I have been thinking about what it will be like all through the day and it has unfairly occupied my mind so that I cannot do my homework. If I could, I would ask it to 'kindly release me so I can go about my business. Young ladies have not time enough to absentmindedly wander about and dream of books when embroidery has to be done and there are callers waiting in the tea room!...although that would be fun! * * * * *!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3