Customer Reviews for

Sorcery and Cecelia or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Review:Sorcery & Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede 4 STARS This

Review:Sorcery & Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede
4 STARS This is an interesting background to writing a novel. They played a game called a letter game and would write letters back and forth in character and not mention plot. Now days if kids did that it would be short...
Review:Sorcery & Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede
4 STARS This is an interesting background to writing a novel. They played a game called a letter game and would write letters back and forth in character and not mention plot. Now days if kids did that it would be short texts. I enjoyed it but would have been better if I read it instead of listening to my kindle. It broke and I could not look at screen if I was lost.(did not handle evacuating very well.) Thier is nothing in hear that is objectional unless you believe magic is wrong. The story two main characters never come in contact with each other except by letters. Kate and Cecelia are cousins and quite close till the summer of 1817. Kate was sent to come out for a season in London and Cecelia at home in her small country home. The two cousins tell each other everything that is going on. Thier is a world of magic that exists. This story is different and as an air of uniqueness to it. As they both battle in thier way against evil and find love along the way. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 05/22/2012 PUB Open Road

posted by rhonda1111RL on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Overall this was an enjoyable read. I didn't quite know what to

Overall this was an enjoyable read. I didn't quite know what to expect from the cover and the title gave me the impression that this was more of a juvenile book. That was a very incorrect assumption. This book should be firmly placed in the YA category and would be espe...
Overall this was an enjoyable read. I didn't quite know what to expect from the cover and the title gave me the impression that this was more of a juvenile book. That was a very incorrect assumption. This book should be firmly placed in the YA category and would be especially enjoyable for older teenage girls or even adult women. The story is told in letters between Cecelia (Cecy) and her cousin, Kate. The interplay between the two is charming. They are both smart and witty among a slew of vapid women out to marry as well as possible. The element of magic is woven pretty seamlessly into early 1800's society. It's a main point to the plot but the author doesn't bash you over the head with big showy magic tricks.

The plot is entertaining, but not surprising. I enjoyed it while reading but when I put it down I didn't feel like I had to immediately pick it back up. Perhaps that's because I had a pretty good idea what was going to happen next. The plot was predictable. Everything is tied up neatly at the end and it is satisfying although not unexpected. If there were some kind of twist or anything at all out of the ordinary I would have given an extra star.

The real strength of this book is in it's dialogue. It is witty and funny and it's what I really liked best about the book.

posted by CherieReads on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Overall this was an enjoyable read. I didn't quite know what to

    Overall this was an enjoyable read. I didn't quite know what to expect from the cover and the title gave me the impression that this was more of a juvenile book. That was a very incorrect assumption. This book should be firmly placed in the YA category and would be especially enjoyable for older teenage girls or even adult women. The story is told in letters between Cecelia (Cecy) and her cousin, Kate. The interplay between the two is charming. They are both smart and witty among a slew of vapid women out to marry as well as possible. The element of magic is woven pretty seamlessly into early 1800's society. It's a main point to the plot but the author doesn't bash you over the head with big showy magic tricks.

    The plot is entertaining, but not surprising. I enjoyed it while reading but when I put it down I didn't feel like I had to immediately pick it back up. Perhaps that's because I had a pretty good idea what was going to happen next. The plot was predictable. Everything is tied up neatly at the end and it is satisfying although not unexpected. If there were some kind of twist or anything at all out of the ordinary I would have given an extra star.

    The real strength of this book is in it's dialogue. It is witty and funny and it's what I really liked best about the book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Fun read for woman or teen age girl

    This was a nice character driven story. It had a friendly, gossipy feel, and felt like a reading letters from high school friends. Kind of a light hearted Jane Austen, with a smattering of magic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Review:Sorcery & Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede 4 STARS This

    Review:Sorcery & Cecelia by Patricia C. Wrede
    4 STARS This is an interesting background to writing a novel. They played a game called a letter game and would write letters back and forth in character and not mention plot. Now days if kids did that it would be short texts. I enjoyed it but would have been better if I read it instead of listening to my kindle. It broke and I could not look at screen if I was lost.(did not handle evacuating very well.) Thier is nothing in hear that is objectional unless you believe magic is wrong. The story two main characters never come in contact with each other except by letters. Kate and Cecelia are cousins and quite close till the summer of 1817. Kate was sent to come out for a season in London and Cecelia at home in her small country home. The two cousins tell each other everything that is going on. Thier is a world of magic that exists. This story is different and as an air of uniqueness to it. As they both battle in thier way against evil and find love along the way. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 05/22/2012 PUB Open Road

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Just for fun

    A clever way to write a book. Both authors are a delight and together they mix up lots of fun. I'm now reading the other books in the series and enjoying the lovely sillyness of them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Couldn't put down

    looking forward for number 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    A Fun Read

    A fun, light-hearted novel that Jane Austen could have written if she had magic on her mind. The series of letters format could have been annoying, instead it is charming. At times hilarious, this is a great novel for escaping the mundane realities of everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Love this book

    One of my favorites that I never get tired of reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Favorite Fluff

    This is one of my favorite fluff reads; it's an enjoyable adventure through a Pride and Prejudice-like era. The two heroines tackle magical mysteries without blinking an eye, and refuse to become damsels in distress, ever. They are perfectly ready to lend their aid to any magician who runs afoul of villains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    simply magical

    Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer first published Sorcery and Cecelia under that that title in 1988. In recent years, thanks to reprints with shiny new cover art by Scott M. Fischer in the case of the edition I read as well as two new sequels, this book has regained popularity and visibility. Aside from that, one of the most important things to know about this book is its alternate title: The Enchanted Chocolate Pot: Being the Correspondence of Two Young Ladies of Quality Regarding Various Magical Scandals in London and the Country.

    Wrede and Stevermer wrote this book as a writing exercise of sorts called the Letter Game. Patricia C. Wrede wrote as Cecelia while Caroline Stevermer responded with Kate's letters. They did not plan the plot before they began writing.

    Almost every review I have found online describes Sorcery and Cecelia as a cross between the books of Jane Austen and those of J. K. Rowling. The comparison does make sense, but I might venture to say I liked this book better than any of the Harry Potter series.

    The year is 1817 in an England where magic is as much a part of life as letter writing. The latter is of particular importance to Kate and Cecelia as the cousins spend the novel in separate parts of England. While Kate and her more glamorous sister Georgina are in London enjoying a proper Season, Cecelia, much to her consternation, is left to languish in the country with her brother Oliver for company (at least until he's turned into a tree).

    Problems begin for both cousins when Kate accidentally intercepts a rather nasty pot of chocolate in a London garden that was, apparently, meant for the eccentric Marquis of Schofield. If only he would explain exactly why.

    Meanwhile, in the country, Cecelia finds herself following a shady figure spying on Cecy's new (and surprisingly popular!) friend Dorothea. When Cecelia repeatedly catches him in the act of spying, James Tarleton repeatedly refuses to offer any information.

    As the girls learn more about these mysterious men, and the mysterious events, it becomes clear that something big is happening--big enough that evidence of the plan can be seen in both London and the country. The only question is what, exactly, is going on and if Kate and Cecelia can stop it in time.

    Being an homage to Jane Austen, this novel has not one but two romances. Which couple is better has been a hot topic since the book came out. The librarian who recommended the book to me feels very strongly that the Mysterious Marquis and Kate are a more enjoyable match to observe. For my part, I preferred Cecelia and James.

    This novel avoids all of the traps that can make an epistolary novel awful. There is no repetition, there is dialogue, the narrative reads like a, for lack of a better word, normal book in that the narrative flows in a fairly traditional way. There is neither too much information nor too little. And, most importantly, the novel is filled with suspense, action, humor and romance that shines through both Cecelia's and Kate's letters.

    But then from two talented and well-known fantasy writers, what else can a reader expect but perfection?

    Sorcery and Cecelia is the first in a series of books featuring Kate and Cecelia. Their stories continue in The Grand Tour (2004) and The Mislaid Magician of Ten Years After (2006).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun read, share with a friend

    If the phrase "Pride and Prejudice with magic in" intrigues you, read this book. It's whimsical, occasionally hilarious, and phrases from it will mysteriously appear in your mind the next time you watch a Jane Austen movie. Highly recommended if you enjoy Jane Austen, Susanna Clarke, or Patricia Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles. (Also, if you like it, check out the sequels.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great writing with uninteresting story

    I didn't like this book in particular. The writing is great, and the way the book is set up is very unique, but this book was just not my cup of tea. The story wasn't that interesting and I had difficulty getting into the book. The book itself might be interesting to someone else, but it just seemed boring to me. I couldn't remember most of the secondary character either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, Imaginative Fantasy

    I really enjoyed Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot. The whole story is told by the letters the two main characters write to each other during the course of the book. These characters are the cousins Cecelia and Katherine, who happen to be best friends. Kate and her younger sister Georgy are off to London for a glittering first season while Cecy is left home in her family's estate in Essex. The mischief begins when Kate goes through a portal, is mistaken for someone else and is almost poisoned by an evil witch. Back in Essex, Cecy has befriended the beautiful Dorothea Griscomb, who's ability to make men fall in love her is just like magic. Both cousins are caught up in magical intruige, all during the backdrop 1817 England, the only difference being magic exists and is acknowledged. Sometimes humorous, sometimes suspenseful, and sprinkled with romance, this novel is a witty engaging tale that I would definitely reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Totally awsome!!!!

    This book rocks!!! If you like magic, Adventure & Romance this is the book. it's great i can't get enough of it. i've read it a least 20 times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    What a clever idea!

    I really enjoyed this book. It took a few pages to really get into the story, but once I did, I had fun reading through. The blend of friendship and magic is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    OMG! I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    This book is a great book for any young adult interested in magic, romance, and mystery. Is definitly a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is one of my favorites because I didn't want it to end. It's crazy, but in a good way. The way things are expressed is quite the times, and very interesting to hear gossip of society put in with the plot. This book is very interesting with a sense of humor. The book keeps you hooked, it doesn't move slowly!!! The magic put in adds some unpredicablilty, too. It's hard to believe that the authors didn't plan what they were supposed to do together!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Thoroughly Enjoyable

    Kate and Cecelia rush into the thick of things and make their own trouble before sorting everything out. I am intrigued by the idea of writing letters back and forth in character in a 'letter-game.' I first read Wrede's Enchanted Chronicles a long time ago and this has been a very nice return to her stories. I am definitly looking forward to reading 'The Grand Tour.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    This is an AWESOME book

    This book is so cool. I made our school library to order it because I wanted to read it, and it was every bit as good as I thought it was going to be! The coolest part of this book is the format that it is written in. The writers actually wrote this book in letters written back and forth to each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Great!

    Fun and romantic, yet full of mystery and adventure. I recommend this book to any young adult readers who are interested in fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    a review

    While the story didn't capture me as much as I had hoped, this book has a great style to it. I loved the setting and characters and I LOVE the idea of two people actually writing letters back and forth to eachother as characters. A so-called Letter Game. In fact I liked it so much that my friend and I are doing it ourselves with our own characters. It is so much fun. All in all this book was decent, I've read better and I've read worse, but the concept was really cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3