Customer Reviews for

Soul Bonds: Book 1 Circles of Light series

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

A perfect blend of humor, adventure, and fantasy! Great storyline! I couldn't put it down. A must read for every avid fantasy fan.

posted by 7388926 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good

This was a good book, I liked the story line, but it the writing style could of used work. At times it was hard to tell who was talking. But I still liked it.

posted by 10671157 on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Fantastic!

    A perfect blend of humor, adventure, and fantasy! Great storyline! I couldn't put it down. A must read for every avid fantasy fan.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Good but could have been much better

    This is the first book of a series of 6 books. I bought and read all 6 books. This first book was engaging and held a great deal of promise for a topnotch series, but as each book that followed was read, it became clearer that the author has great potential which was unfulfilled in this series. The plot is typical of many fantasy books: unknown child suddenly is found to be the promised savior and the story catalogs her growth into her powers and the allies she makes along the way, and concludes as expected. What sets apart series like this are how well the subplots and characters are developed. And this is where Sinclair fails to deliver. By the end of the series numerous subplots remain partially developed and unresolved. For example, it is not learned what happened to the second child, Mim, who became Lord of the Dragons. His story just got dropped without resolution. Along the way new subplots came into being and at the end remained unresolved. Several of the subplots were "resolved" by guessing, that is, by a character guessing x is what must have happened, but most were just ignored. The combination of constant introduction of new subplots and leaving them unresolved results in an unsatisfying read over the course of the series. One subplot that was never resolved, and whose lack of resolution I think is most annoying, is what the pendants Tika, Mim, and several other characters find and wear are. We know they are ancient relics, but there is never a telling of who created them, how they are really supposed to be used, what their real powers are, why there are so many of them hidden away, etc. This first book of the series is a very good read, but is not worth pursuing without reading the followup stories, which themselves are not worth pursuing. One note of caution for those with young children: The lead character, Tika, is a young woman. She is often burned between her breasts by the pendant she wears when she uses a great amount of her magical powers. The power use renders her unconscious and her older, male follower, Sket, completely undresses her, bathes her, puts ointment on the burn and sometimes puts a nightgown on her. Nothing untoward occurs, but readers with young children may not want to have to have the discussion of whether an older man should be undressing a 15-year-old girl.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good

    This was a good book, I liked the story line, but it the writing style could of used work. At times it was hard to tell who was talking. But I still liked it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Good read

    Well worth it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Fascinating

    Dragons, wise women, hideous and powerful bad guy, intrepid young heroes, whole world secrets, many diverse intelligent species ... A fantasy fan's heaven.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Exciting story

    Though it starts slow it is enthralling and worth a read. Next book reads faster and deepens the plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Alsome

    One the best I have ever read. And not my normal reed but alsome. I loved it. A little slow at so spots but made up for it later.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Great series. A bit confusing at first. I wish a map had been pr

    Great series. A bit confusing at first. I wish a map had been provided but otherwise tis story as a "starter" certainly had everything I want to see. A great new world.good well developed characters and cats and Dragons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Worth all five stars!

    Very good read. Try it ! Thanks to the author for a great book and offering it free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good, long read.

    I was surprised by this book. It started off kinda slow, but then the pace picked up really fast. Its a good story and i was happy to find that i actually connected with the characters. The only problem i had with this book was it was kind of hard to tell when a new persons point of view happened. It switched between the views in a bit of a rush and that got me cinfused at first, but once i became used to the style of writing it wasnt so bad. Id definitely recomend it if you are into this kind of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Excellent series

    I loved this book. It was well written and had tons of different characters and situations. I loved it so much, I bought the entire series and eagerly await the next book to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Circles of light series

    I have read the whole series and did enjoy it.
    The first book introduced you to the world and most of the main players.
    The bad guys were exceptional in their meanness that the did to the world.
    As a coming of age and into powers, the book leads you on a roller coaster of
    Adventures and discoveries.
    A fun time all the way through..
    Realy a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Enjoyable and entertaining

    Very well written with strong storyline for us fantasy lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    free and you can't go wrong

    the first book is pretty good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Great book

    This is one of the best I have read in a long time. Could not put it down. I will absolutly be getting the rest in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    good

    Really good I am enjoying it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    wandering & pointless with jarring writing style

    The plot seems to be going nowhere for most of the book beyond "lets do this ... 'because' style motivation" made all the worse given how much of the unique animals, (many sentient), magical maccguffins, etc are regularly brought up as if the reader should be a native of this world not needing an explaination on it. A prime example is the vicious & uncooperative mounts used throughout the book are only given the briefest of descriptions after hundreds of pages on page 820something.

    Sudden jarring & bizzare writing style shifts regularly gracing the pages is made worse by the seeminly near random chapter placement resulting in a book that reads like a bunch of random slashfic authors got together to write a book together with no editor going over anything until 800some pages in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Avidfantasyreader

    899 pages. Tika is a runaway slave. Rather than become a sex slave, she runs away into the mountains. She stumbles upon a remote cave, while a dragons clutch is hatching. She somehow bonds with a newborn Farn. Adventure to save the realn ensues.

    I really enjoyed this book alot. After the first 150 pages i couldnt put it down. Looks like the 1st book of 6 in the series. Definintly will be getting all 6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    I really liked this.

    I really liked reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    :(

    Boring

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2