BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Soul Catcher

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Alex Kava is the BEST!

I am addicted to Alex Kava's novels of serial killer suspense and FBI investigations. I have read all of her books and find myself upset when I am almost finished her latest one knowing I have to wait for the next one to be published. In my opinion she can't write fas...
I am addicted to Alex Kava's novels of serial killer suspense and FBI investigations. I have read all of her books and find myself upset when I am almost finished her latest one knowing I have to wait for the next one to be published. In my opinion she can't write fast enough to satisfy my craving. I am waiting for Nick's return soon. I love him and Maggie together! Everyone should read her books - starting with the Perfect Evil, Split Second , then Soul Catcher.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wanted to, but couldn't get into it

I have read all of Alex Kava's books except 'Whitewash' (waiting on paperback). I love the other titles, but this one, I could have done without. Re-occuring character Maggie O'Dell is in this book, which is a plus, and the rest of the characters were pretty solid for...
I have read all of Alex Kava's books except 'Whitewash' (waiting on paperback). I love the other titles, but this one, I could have done without. Re-occuring character Maggie O'Dell is in this book, which is a plus, and the rest of the characters were pretty solid for the most part. I just could not get 'caught up' in this book. The plot was a little predictable and I just couldn't get into the 'religous rallies' and the group holding them. Fans of Alex Kava may enjoy this one, because it is just as well-written as the others, but the plot just wasn't as crisp. There were not the twists and turns that one would expect. I thought the book was just ok. If I had it to do over again, I could skip it and not miss out.

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    Alex Kava is the BEST!

    I am addicted to Alex Kava's novels of serial killer suspense and FBI investigations. I have read all of her books and find myself upset when I am almost finished her latest one knowing I have to wait for the next one to be published. In my opinion she can't write fast enough to satisfy my craving. I am waiting for Nick's return soon. I love him and Maggie together! Everyone should read her books - starting with the Perfect Evil, Split Second , then Soul Catcher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Wanted to, but couldn't get into it

    I have read all of Alex Kava's books except 'Whitewash' (waiting on paperback). I love the other titles, but this one, I could have done without. Re-occuring character Maggie O'Dell is in this book, which is a plus, and the rest of the characters were pretty solid for the most part. I just could not get 'caught up' in this book. The plot was a little predictable and I just couldn't get into the 'religous rallies' and the group holding them. Fans of Alex Kava may enjoy this one, because it is just as well-written as the others, but the plot just wasn't as crisp. There were not the twists and turns that one would expect. I thought the book was just ok. If I had it to do over again, I could skip it and not miss out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    The Soul Catcher

    I just love Alex Kava's books! Fantastic author, fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Attention grabber from beginning to end!

    Attention grabber from beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    not as good

    As her fifst two books. I'm trying to hang in there & finish . I hate to give up, that's just a waste of money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    The Maggie O'Dell series are exciting, different, and just great reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    She did it again! Love her as always!

    She can do no wrong, i love that she has a women as the lead person, stong and independent and rocks every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    My Favorite

    This and 'One False Move' are my two favorite Alex Kava books. I felt like this was a much more engaging plotline than 'A Perfect Evil,' which I didn't really care for. All the different elements of this book pull together, and I actually figured out a couple things before the FBI agents, which made me feel smart. ^_^ Definitely reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    Big Dissappointment

    A Perfect Evil was her best. This book was long and dragging. Not comparable to the first book. Very dissappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    The Best!

    This book kept me at the edge of me seat. I didn't want to put it down. I'm a teenager and I don't read a lot, but when I do, her books are the ones that I'm reading. This book, The Soul Catcher, just kept popping up suprise after suprise. I don't see how anyone could write such a good book. Her other books are also GREAT. It's everything a book should be, action, suspense, mystery, murder, and a little romance along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    A Perfect Evil is still Kava best book

    I have a really hard time finishing this book. Very hard for me to get into it. In fact, it's half read right now. It's not as great as her very first book 'A Perfect Evil', her best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great FBI tale

    In Suffolk County, Massachusetts, the FBI and ATF agents have the secluded cabin surrounded trapping the six cult members inside with a large cache of weapons. ¿Father¿ informs the sextet that they must not allow Satan to catch them so they each swallow cyanide capsules just before the bullets fly. However, Eric Pratt spits out his capsule deciding life with Satan is better than no life. Six dead in all counting the hostage negotiation team agent. <P>FBI Special Agents Maggie O¿Dell and R.J. Tully investigate the Massachusetts massacre and the related homicide of Ginny Brier near the FDR Memorial. Both are linked by a connection to the charismatic Reverend Joseph Everett. However, this case has personal implications for the two Feds heading up the inquiries. Maggie¿s mother is a member of Everett¿s church and Tully¿s daughter was with the victim of the FDR Memorial killing on the night of the murder. <P>THE SOUL CATCHER is a great FBI tale due to the strong secondary cast though one must wonder why the agents were not excused from the case due to conflicts of interest. Turning a Ruby Ridge-Waco scenario into a real drama works for this novel because the zillion of support characters seem so genuine leading to a plausible, exhilarating plot. Alex Kava transforms the imagery of a monolithic FBI and sheep-like cultists into a series of intelligent human beings who sustain a strong police procedural tale. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4