BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Soul Circus (Derek Strange & Terry Quinn Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Recommended highly

    No fantasy land here. We are taken to places in DC that are known only to locals,EMS and police. The psychological landscape is as dense as the tension of the tale. Though the elements of humanity are universal, it is refreshing to view the city away from K St And the White House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    gritty urban thriller

    The case against drug dealer Granville Oliver is so tight that state execution is a sure shot especially since his deputy Philip Wood testified against him. Desperate, Granville¿s attorney hire DC private investigator Derek Strange to coax Wood¿s former girlfriend Devra Stokes, who once filed a brutality complaint against him, to testify so she can destroy his credibility leading to life instead of death for his client. At the same time, Strange¿s partner, former cop Terry Quinn¿s has a client, pathetic small time hood Mario Durham, who hires him to find his missing girlfriend Olivia Elliot. Mario is the older brother of the head of the notorious Six-hundred Crew in Washington Highlands. Terry knows his client lies about love forever, etc., as Terry wants his stolen drugs that she took from him. Other sleuths also work cases, as DC is a place for job security for private investigators. The eleventh appearance of Derek Strange is a powerful private investigative tale that shows how little society is doing to help teens make it. The Durham siblings are on the career path of criminality with no detours. Even prison time will do no more than slow down the pace of their fall. Guns and butter are the market place as both can be purchased easily and relatively cheaply. Still even with such a strong message, the tale is loaded with action, plenty of life and death scenes, and the return of long time characters like Foreman, and a surprise guest appearance by Nick Stefanos. This gritty urban thriller will leave most readers agreeing with the hero¿s thankful belief that his home is an oasis of love and care in a deadly desert. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    To be completely honest, Soul Circus was not bad. Although not b

    To be completely honest, Soul Circus was not bad. Although not being one of the best, it was definitely an interesting read and also mentioned topics in which I particularly find myself vigorously researching. It is a bit disturbing at first to accept that some of these events actually occur. This book definitely does not smooth the topics over for the readers, but that is actually one of the qualities of this piece of writing. It gives me a sense of reading a non- fiction, which I find myself typically more fond of. Personally, I recommend this book to a more mature audience. The reason being that the topi mentioned, tend to be a bit raw in context. The vocabulary is in no way hard to understand. However, the  constant references to sex and women could be a bit much for a 10 year old to handle; given his or her maturity level. If you find yourself to be all for a very active book relating to drugs, crime, and don't mind the occasional derogatory and sexist references, go for it! However, if you find yourself easily offended and not very into the topic of killings and crimes, maybe this isn't the book for you. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    Must Read!!!

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. I just wish I had read Hell to Pay first. Derek Strange is a great character. If you enjoy reading James Patterson books with detective Alex Cross you should enjoy this, though a bit more edgy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Pelecanos: Existentialist crime novelist

    This is only the second of Pelecanos's books I have read. (The first was 'Shoedog,' a startling exercise in noirish minimalism and a vivid recreation of existential characters caught in a hopeless, doomed caper.) In 'Soul Circus,' the existentialism pervades the characters' lives (with the exception of Derek Strange, who seems to be rock-solid and decent, the anti-hero's anti-hero who hunts bad people while understanding why they're bad he has a peculiar compassion for these people). The power and accuracy of the street language in 'Soul Circus' left me reeling. I've never read dialogue so flat-out realistic. It just jumps off the page. The novel is depressing, but I don't think Pelecanos set out to write a comedy. The word 'gritty' has often been used to describe his work, and that's a pretty accurate word for me. He's unique. Nobody writes so-called 'crime' novels the way he does: the dialogue not only shines, but seems to serve as a narrative device to propel the plot toward his central point (to me at least): the meaningless, out-of-control madness of doomed people who prey on each other. Pelecanos's novels are works of art. He is an original crime writer who writes brilliantly of doomed characters caught up in their own absurd world without seeming to realize that their world is indeed absurd (in the philosophical sense). To use an oxymoron, the characters seem to be hopeful nihilists. Great achievement by a great and gifted writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    A THINKING MAN'S THRILLER VERY WELL READ

    With his 11th novel bestselling author George Pelecanos offers another powerful, disturbing and highly readable story set on the mean streets of Washington, D.C. Private investigator Derek Strange with the aid of Terry Quinn again takes center stage as turf battles erupt in violent grabs for territory and money. Accomplished voice performer Richard Allen adds just the right amounts of menace and bravado to his reading, ably inhabiting the skins of both good and bad guys. When a D. C. crime boss is captured and imprisoned he seems a shoo-in for the ultimate punishment. Lawyers representing the gang leader hire Strange to help in getting a lighter sentence. A witness is needed to cast doubt on testimony against the drug lord, and that witness might just be an angry former girlfriend. After all, hell hath no fury like a you-know-who. Meanwhile with the crime boss in jail two young drug dealers are jousting for the apparently up for grabs neighborhood and profits to come. It is, as Pelecanos makes clear, a vicious circle that goes round and round in an amoral neighborhood where fear rules and friendships are forsaken. Pelecanos writes thinking man's thrillers, as his legions of fans will attest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Amazing writing

    Pelecanos has well constructed plots but, honestly, I read his books for the insight he has into the lives of people, how they talk, and how they think. His characters are complex and fascinating. I heard Pelecanos talk recently and he described his work as urban westerns and it seems right to me. The characters' conversations on cars, sex, drugs, booze, and music add an extra dimension. He nails the rythm and flow of conversation of working-class city people. He does not sugar-coat anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1