Customer Reviews for

Soul Detox: Clean Living in a Contaminated World

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ

I was fortunate enough to read Soul Detox in advance and hear him preach on this subject. I can honestly say that the practical implications for me after hearing this message have shifted the way I think, react and how I want to move forward to be all that God has call...
I was fortunate enough to read Soul Detox in advance and hear him preach on this subject. I can honestly say that the practical implications for me after hearing this message have shifted the way I think, react and how I want to move forward to be all that God has called me to be.

We're all under renovation and this is a great tool that not only brings to our attention the toxicity of the world we're living in but gives us practical steps on how we can detox and become all that we were meant to be.

It's a good read.

posted by JamieBMe on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

While the book has some good points, it's underlying premise is

While the book has some good points, it's underlying premise is that our righteousness is based on what we do to stay righteous. Sorry, but our righteousness isn't based on what we do, it's based solely on the finished work at Calvary by the Lord Jesus Christ. Our job i...
While the book has some good points, it's underlying premise is that our righteousness is based on what we do to stay righteous. Sorry, but our righteousness isn't based on what we do, it's based solely on the finished work at Calvary by the Lord Jesus Christ. Our job is to believe on that finished work, not to follow a set of "ways" to follow to be clean and pure.

posted by ChanFan on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    A MUST READ

    I was fortunate enough to read Soul Detox in advance and hear him preach on this subject. I can honestly say that the practical implications for me after hearing this message have shifted the way I think, react and how I want to move forward to be all that God has called me to be.

    We're all under renovation and this is a great tool that not only brings to our attention the toxicity of the world we're living in but gives us practical steps on how we can detox and become all that we were meant to be.

    It's a good read.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Craig Groeschel is a preacher for today’s world. He is the

    Craig Groeschel is a preacher for today’s world. He is the founder of a LifeChurch.TV, with fourteen locations and is on the web. Groeschel has podcasts available through the itunes store, and has written several books. Soul Detox is an excellent choice for many of today’s Christians, who have allowed the world to take over their lives instead for living a life pleasing to God. Groeschel does not preach he merely presents well thought out reasoning pointing out how many of us have lost sight of the kind of life that the Lord chooses us to live. What has today become accepted in the world cannot be allowed in the life of a Christian, because it leads us away from God instead of toward Him as we are intended to move.

    This is was really eye opening to me, forcing me to begin to make some changes in my life where I had become lax. Groeschel’s term ‘Christian-Atheist’ really struck home. We know the commandments, yet we choose to break them, since often the world says it is OK. This is an excellent choice for anyone. It is such an easy read, that it would make a great gift for young people, or could be studied in a youth study group. Don’t get me wrong, it should be read by most adults, too. This one book will change your life.

    Galley provided by NetGalley.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Great book for those seeking spiritual growth

    Craig Groeshel is obviously a talented and gifted teacher. He gets straight to the point in this book about cleaning up your life or "detoxing your soul". This is a must read for any Christian who is seeking spiritual growth and guidance in this area.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Excellent book!

    Challenging, engaging book! A definite must read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    A must read if you care about your soul.

    Eye opener, in a world so polluted with distractions, evil, and indifference, you tend to get
    contaminated without realizing it.

    Soul Detox is a tool from God through pastor Craig Groeschel to mitigate/eliminate the effects of pollution from our so corrupted society, a reminder to stay focused, resisting the variety of weapons of mass distraction from our spiritual enemy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Awesome book!!

    This book is great if you want to truly go deeper with Christ! It will challenge you to take a hard look at your life & decisions, and choose to make wiser decisions that center around Christ & not the things of this world!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Another great read from Pastor Craig

    Do what you can do and trust God with what you can't.

    Don't just wait around for things to happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    To the faggots below

    Hey you douche bags take that crap somewhere else. Im a christian and whether or not i like it God has charged me with loving even scumbags like you now you should know that Jesus died on the cross for your sins. He went through pain that would leave you a shell of the people you are now ( and judging by the crap you posted, I would say thats about the bottom of the barrel). And like it or not he loves you, if you or I were to catch just glimpse of his love, I guarantee you we would shrivel where we stood. But you hurt him more than you can imagine when you do this, please for youselves and for him please turn away from your sins and turn back to Jesus.
    I'll pray for you.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Zaylor

    Ohhhhhh se<_>xah!!! XD

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Great Book!

    Another great book from Pastor Craig.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Hunting ground.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1