Customer Reviews for

Soul Identity

Average Rating 3.5
( 1954 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(505)

4 Star

(685)

3 Star

(460)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(150)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Original and Fun Take on Religion, Science, and Computer Science

I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very...
I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very refreshing to read a novel involving computers that has some sense of the reality of what computers can or can't do.

The story, around an organization which helps people pass money down to "soul lines" of future generations with their "soul", a replicated iris patterns, is hokey in parts, but the author has fun with characters around the world in exploring ramifications of such an org. How it interacts with traditional religions, the idea of traditional organizations struggling to move online, how science and reincarnation might mesh, all of these are fun and unexpected surprises through the story.

The romance is also somewhat hokey, and some characters reveal unexpected sides with little motivations behind their behaviors, though the author spends pages and pages trying to help us understand.

But in general, if you like conspiracy novels, computer oriented techno thrillers, modern takes on deconstructing religion in today's world, or just quirky modern science fiction, you will enjoy this book. And you'll be as surprised as I was, I bet, at how much you enjoyed this one.

posted by mwexler on March 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

A partial book

The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was fr...
The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was free!

posted by Mo_TheReadingFool on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1963 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 99
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Original and Fun Take on Religion, Science, and Computer Science

    I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very refreshing to read a novel involving computers that has some sense of the reality of what computers can or can't do.

    The story, around an organization which helps people pass money down to "soul lines" of future generations with their "soul", a replicated iris patterns, is hokey in parts, but the author has fun with characters around the world in exploring ramifications of such an org. How it interacts with traditional religions, the idea of traditional organizations struggling to move online, how science and reincarnation might mesh, all of these are fun and unexpected surprises through the story.

    The romance is also somewhat hokey, and some characters reveal unexpected sides with little motivations behind their behaviors, though the author spends pages and pages trying to help us understand.

    But in general, if you like conspiracy novels, computer oriented techno thrillers, modern takes on deconstructing religion in today's world, or just quirky modern science fiction, you will enjoy this book. And you'll be as surprised as I was, I bet, at how much you enjoyed this one.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    A partial book

    The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was free!

    31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Original, I must say

    Written in the first person, "Soul Identity" reads like a story told to you by a friend at a bar. And I write "at a bar" because Scott Waverly, the protagonist, gives you as much detail as you need to move the story along while also providing you with some intimate details of his relationship with Val, his love interest. The fact that he makes her fall for him the very day they met reeks of fiction and/or a frat boy's account of what really happened.
    All in all, the story is original... That reincarnation occurs, or is believed to occur, just not as religions would have it be. The villain is kept in the shadows until the last fifth of the book, and then we get to know too much about him and his stay at a Gompa in the Himalayas. The suspense is lukewarm, enough to make you turn the page. However, don't expect some incredible revelation at the end; there's no M. Night moment.
    That said, the book is good for being free, and the story is enough to make the time go by. I didn't learn anything new from this book, and it is not inspiring me to do better things in life. Still, I'm buying the electronic version of the sequel (for a cool 99 cents), just to follow the story previewed at the end of "Soul Identity"... just like I'd spur on a friend to keep telling a tale while the bartender serves up another round.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    where's the rest?

    Just as I was getting into the story, all of a sudden the book skips from chapter 8 to chapter 19! The entire center of the book missing! and I was really enjoying it and wanted to know where it was going. very disappointed.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Poorly Written

    While the concept was interesting, the writing style was juvenile. Main character, Scott, is hired to find out who is undermining Soul Identity, Archie's organization and entire reason for living. Scott spends half his time sleuthing, and the other half thinking about "boobs". (Only fourteen year olds use that term.) Emotion descriptions are also unrealistic. In his first meeting with Scott, supposedly distraught over the possible demise of his centuries old organization, Archie "chuckles"???? One can only hope that the author matures by the time he writes again.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I downloaded this book because is "sounded" interesting. Once I started reading it, I was completely engrossed. I could absolutly see this as a movie. I thouroughly enjoyed the story line.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Surprising

    I was very surprised at this book. Most free ebooks aren't that great but I really enjoyed this one. I ended up buying the second one. Very interesting theory and I good read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for a snowy day

    Read the e-book on my blackberry during the blizzard of 2010. I found the escapism great and the setting on the Eastern Shore of Md was fun.... concept is far fetched by read fast. Looking forward to seeing his next book and if he can improve the plot line. Great book for a snow storm or down the ocean this summer!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Quirky, funny and quick

    This is a quick read. It appears as if the editor took a nap. I liked the story idea and the humor. The final scene is definitely killer. It's missing a lot of movement when it comes to processing the story- the author skips steps to get from A to C without involving B. Getting to step B is not intuitive for the reader. I would like to read the sequel, but would love a rewrite even more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Soul Identity Not Very Soulful

    This book sat in my Nook Library for several weeks before I decided to give it a read on a rainy day. Perhaps because it was free, I thought it might not be worth my time. I was pleasantly surprised! Dennis Batchelder is a writer who gives us an original, dramatic plot with his science fiction, mystery thriller. I thought the characters were well developed for the most part, although some were incredibly naive in their beliefs and experiences. If the premise of the story, the ability to leave assets to be used by persons who will share your soul in the future, could be possible, I'm not sure how many people would be interested. I for one, have enough concern managing my own assets and hoping to care for my direct descendents, nevermind people who might share my soul! It is, however, an interesting and intriging premise and certainly an entertaining read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    Easy Reading

    It's well-written with good dialogue, an interesting concept (soul identity), and a good plot. It's a great easy reading book. I gave it 4 stars.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Juvenile, boring. I

    I wanted to like this book. I really, really did. The Soul Identity concept has... er, had, a lot of potential. Alas, what promise there was was wasted in juvenile dialog, a wandering but predictable plot, shallow characters, and painfully dull description.

    "Ka-boom" for an explosion? .... Really? Is this 8th grade English class? I'm seriously side-eyeing both the author and editors right now.

    Overall, this reads like the first draft of a rough draft... written by an 18 year old.

    I can't say too much; I mean, the book was free. I guess I'm more disappointed in the wasted potential.



    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    At least it was free

    Ultimately undone by terrible writing, horrible editing and complete inplausibility. The romance had to be written by an adolescent. It was painful.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    i want more!

    loved this author and i want more from this world! you will not be disappointed with this read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great book!!

    I absolutely loved this book. The characters are so easy to connect with. I was pretty apprehensive of the soul identity stuff and almost didn't give the book a chance. I ended up giving it a try and even liking the concept and immediately went on to read part two, Soul Intent. Well done!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    A page turner A good page turner

    This was an enjoyable book. I was looking for something different, out of the ordinary and this book was just what i was looking for. It was suspensful and kept my intrest the whole 696 pages. I also liked how it made you stop and ponder "what if" there was a way to track your soul, that would be so cool!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Your kidding...

    Free? He should be charging at least ten bucks for this! Fast paced, interesting plot, fully believable chatacters and well written, this is no amateur. Get this and enjoy! I'm thinking this is either a freebie to hook you on the author so you'll buy the next one, or its some established author doing a Stephen King/Bachman deal. Either way, a good fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Disappointing

    Just an OK kind of read. Predictable and very very few twists. The computer knowledge of the characters was interesting though. Also the two main characters were charming and likable. If the plot had been a bit more developed and the author didn't have to come up with explanations at the last minute why this or that was possible, it would have been much better. I guess I was just expecting a "can't put it down" kind of read. The title was so intriguing! I finished it, but only because I kept hoping for something more. But instead I felt as if I had wasted my time on a cheesy made for tv movie from the 80s.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    A waste of my time

    I promised a friend that I'd read this, but it was a chore. I admit that the premise is very creative, but all the computer jargon was beyond my mere mortal cognitive abilities. I suspect the book is self-published. There is probably a market for this. I'm just not it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Very good

    A good page turner and very suspenseful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1963 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 99