Customer Reviews for

Soul Identity

Average Rating 3.5
( 1951 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(684)

3 Star

(460)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(149)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Original and Fun Take on Religion, Science, and Computer Science

I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very...
I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very refreshing to read a novel involving computers that has some sense of the reality of what computers can or can't do.

The story, around an organization which helps people pass money down to "soul lines" of future generations with their "soul", a replicated iris patterns, is hokey in parts, but the author has fun with characters around the world in exploring ramifications of such an org. How it interacts with traditional religions, the idea of traditional organizations struggling to move online, how science and reincarnation might mesh, all of these are fun and unexpected surprises through the story.

The romance is also somewhat hokey, and some characters reveal unexpected sides with little motivations behind their behaviors, though the author spends pages and pages trying to help us understand.

But in general, if you like conspiracy novels, computer oriented techno thrillers, modern takes on deconstructing religion in today's world, or just quirky modern science fiction, you will enjoy this book. And you'll be as surprised as I was, I bet, at how much you enjoyed this one.

posted by mwexler on March 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

A partial book

The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was fr...
The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was free!

posted by Mo_TheReadingFool on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Juvenile, boring. I

    I wanted to like this book. I really, really did. The Soul Identity concept has... er, had, a lot of potential. Alas, what promise there was was wasted in juvenile dialog, a wandering but predictable plot, shallow characters, and painfully dull description.

    "Ka-boom" for an explosion? .... Really? Is this 8th grade English class? I'm seriously side-eyeing both the author and editors right now.

    Overall, this reads like the first draft of a rough draft... written by an 18 year old.

    I can't say too much; I mean, the book was free. I guess I'm more disappointed in the wasted potential.



    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    At least it was free

    Ultimately undone by terrible writing, horrible editing and complete inplausibility. The romance had to be written by an adolescent. It was painful.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Personally I found the writing style to be immature and underdeveloped. I couldn't really get into the book, nor get half way through. The synopsis of the book built me up for something that was not delivered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Started out okay, but deteriorated into a read I did not have the desire to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    bad story

    glad it was free. not a well written book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Didn't Finish

    Kept waiting for the dialog to improve. Everything seemed very contrived.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    PROBLEM!!!!

    I was looking forward to reading this book but the words overlap making it impossible. Bummer, it sounded like a good read. Bummer!!! The overview given sounded very interesting.

    PS- I gave it one star so that I could post this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    January 19 2012

    Very slow to get into

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Slow book

    I enjoy reading every chance I get, but reading this book made me dread picking up my nook. Way too boring. I found it hard to go along with the storyline. Glad the book was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Good diversion, but totally predictable

    The concept was interesting as it became clearer, but there was too much cliche to make this a truly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    impossable

    Unable to read the letters are all jammed together .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Stupid

    Could barely finish it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    unreadable !!

    This book has so many typos, that i quit reading it. I lost count at a hundred erros. very NOT professional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Didn't care for the book

    One star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Formatted so poorly unreadable

    It may be a good story but all the letters were so close to each other i could not read without straining my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I really hated giving this 1 star. I was excited about the premise, which was quite intriguing. The plot itself was fine and had the potential to be exciting. However, throughout the book the narrator interjects to explain parts of the dialogue, which felt a little condescending. Also, I had a lot of trouble stomaching the dialogue itself. It was cheesy, silly, and trite - especially the exchanges between Scott and Val - I felt like I was reading a teen romance. I'm disappointed - I had high hopes for this one, especially considering all of the positive reviews it had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Very Confusing

    How did they do this before cameras and computers? How do the churches and reigion figure in? To Highly Recommended. I can' believe I read the whole thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Horrible book, stupid story. On a positive note - can read in one toilet visit.

    There were so many things wrong with this book, where to begin? First, the story is pathetically stupid. Second, the two protagonists end up tied in what reads like a Harlequin romance novel. Third, did anyone edit the damn book? Apart from a slew of grammatical issues, there are a plethora of misspellings. Good thing this was free, and it goes to show you that when you pay nothing, you end up with crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Don't bother!

    The price is right on this one - it's free and it's worthless. I didn't make it past the first couple of pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth your time...In my opinion

    This book in my opinion is a waste of time,it starts off with an interesting concept but then focuses more on the main characters lust for another character and after awhile it starts to feel like a script for some cheesy TV show...For me it got so bad that after reading a good portion of the book i no longer wished to continue wasting my time and archived it.I would not recommend this book to anyone,instead i would recommend that you read Marked by Elizabeth Naughton it is far more interesting than this drivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8