Customer Reviews for

Soul Identity

Average Rating 3.5
( 1958 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(506)

4 Star

(688)

3 Star

(460)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(150)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Original and Fun Take on Religion, Science, and Computer Science

I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very...
I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did. The first surprise was when the characters talked about computer security... and what they said was correct! While sometimes disruptive and thrown in just to prove that the author knows what he's talking about, it's very refreshing to read a novel involving computers that has some sense of the reality of what computers can or can't do.

The story, around an organization which helps people pass money down to "soul lines" of future generations with their "soul", a replicated iris patterns, is hokey in parts, but the author has fun with characters around the world in exploring ramifications of such an org. How it interacts with traditional religions, the idea of traditional organizations struggling to move online, how science and reincarnation might mesh, all of these are fun and unexpected surprises through the story.

The romance is also somewhat hokey, and some characters reveal unexpected sides with little motivations behind their behaviors, though the author spends pages and pages trying to help us understand.

But in general, if you like conspiracy novels, computer oriented techno thrillers, modern takes on deconstructing religion in today's world, or just quirky modern science fiction, you will enjoy this book. And you'll be as surprised as I was, I bet, at how much you enjoyed this one.

posted by mwexler on March 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

A partial book

The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was fr...
The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was free!

posted by Mo_TheReadingFool on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    A partial book

    The story started out slow, then a huge chunk of the book was missing out of the middle; the majority of the plot. I kept reading, catching on a bit, then got to the last 40 pages and couldn't go any further. No idea how it developed or ended. Thank heavens it was free!

    31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Poorly Written

    While the concept was interesting, the writing style was juvenile. Main character, Scott, is hired to find out who is undermining Soul Identity, Archie's organization and entire reason for living. Scott spends half his time sleuthing, and the other half thinking about "boobs". (Only fourteen year olds use that term.) Emotion descriptions are also unrealistic. In his first meeting with Scott, supposedly distraught over the possible demise of his centuries old organization, Archie "chuckles"???? One can only hope that the author matures by the time he writes again.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Disappointing

    Just an OK kind of read. Predictable and very very few twists. The computer knowledge of the characters was interesting though. Also the two main characters were charming and likable. If the plot had been a bit more developed and the author didn't have to come up with explanations at the last minute why this or that was possible, it would have been much better. I guess I was just expecting a "can't put it down" kind of read. The title was so intriguing! I finished it, but only because I kept hoping for something more. But instead I felt as if I had wasted my time on a cheesy made for tv movie from the 80s.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    A waste of my time

    I promised a friend that I'd read this, but it was a chore. I admit that the premise is very creative, but all the computer jargon was beyond my mere mortal cognitive abilities. I suspect the book is self-published. There is probably a market for this. I'm just not it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    Dialog is awful.

    Boring! I got halfway through and couldn't take the terrible dialog.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Good concept, bad execution

    It was an interesting read, up until the protagonist decided to fall in love with a coworker. After that, there was far too much pointless romantic banter and barely any plot. The ending was rushed and predictable, and it wasn't believable in any sense of the word. The author also tried (and failed) to be funny throughout the book, making for an awkward read. Character development was choppy and rushed.
    Concept - 8/10
    Writing - 4/10
    Believability - 0/10
    Character development - 0/10
    Did it keep my attention? Barely
    Would I reccommend? No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Eh

    Meh-i just didnt connect with this story. While towards the end the intrigue was interesting...im just not a fan. Still, worth a read. Im sure other ppl will like it just fine, just not me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Simplistic

    Unconvincing and simplistic. This story is not at all believable. It appears to have been written for young adults or juveniles, especially the unrealistic sex scenes. The writing style is typical of a beginning writer. There are too many editing errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great premis

    But way too long it just didnt do it for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This looked good however...l

    What I read started out great; however, I was unable to adjust the type to make it comfortable to read. I could not change the spacing for type size.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    !

    This was a good story, but a little long winded. There were several times I felt like saying "come on, get to the point". It took me longer to read this book than most. Usually I can't wait to get to the next page in a good book, but it took me over a week to read this one. I'd finish a chapter and not really care what was coming. When things were finally coming to an end it all ended too fast. I like to see the "bad guys" exposure take some time and not put into an epilog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Got bored halfway through the book

    I initially liked the idea of a soul transfer book, but the author strayed from the story line and digressed into a number of relationship subplots. I continued to ask myself, "When is he going to get back to the story?"

    He had a good idea with soul transfer, but digressed into organzational politics and intriege and relationship stories. I don't know if was stretching the story, but he didn't need a lot of the material is the middle of the book to move the plot along.

    The computer geek setups were nice, and interesting. But the male and female characters meet, and bang, they are in bed within twelve hours. I think attractive girls like the heroine would wait a little longer, and the author should have added some sexual tension and they were solving the mystery.

    An author should remember the big three: Make them laugh, make them cry, make them wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    That book was lame!! Worst start!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    So so

    Finished it because I didnt want to feel I wasted so much tme reading it. Over 600 pages, really? Too wordy, seemed like a school paper, worded up to be a novel. Wont be back for more with this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Not recommended.

    I really tried to get into this novel but it just didn't hold my attention. I enjoy pushing the bounds of believably but this one just didn't do it for me. Would be nice to think it were possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Soul identity aqnd intent

    I found this story to have very redunted narration and action. I found the characters to feel like high schoolers. The author comes up with a relitively unpassionate novel dealing with reincarnation from a secular point of view. Read but there is better stuff out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Preachy, preachy, preachy

    Ok, we get it already. You are an atheist and despise religion and find Christianity particularly repulsive. The story line is good and so is the writing. Your editor should have explained that all your preaching makes your story choppy and detracts from what is otherwise a pretty good book. I probably won't sign up for your next SERMON, though. It's a shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    The book would have been more interesting without all of the computer jargon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Interesting

    Through all these reviews i have decided to possibly read this book hoping i can learn new interesting things from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    eh

    This book had an interesting, unique plot, but moved so slowly. There were times I could barely get through it. I finished it, but will not be reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8