Customer Reviews for

Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board

Average Rating 4.5
( 1006 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(775)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

I watched the movie and i was soooo into it. I felt what bethany felt. Durring the shark attack my left arm fell alseep!bethany made me want to try surfing.i could read the book and watch the movie over and over again. I say that this was my fav movie and book lov it it...
I watched the movie and i was soooo into it. I felt what bethany felt. Durring the shark attack my left arm fell alseep!bethany made me want to try surfing.i could read the book and watch the movie over and over again. I say that this was my fav movie and book lov it it is #1

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

awesome

i love this book its so imspiring

posted by shai-shai99 on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Bethany Hamilton, a soul surfer

    Bethany Hamilton. A true influence to all who has been such a strong, brave, young girl to get back into life the way she was before. The tragic accident of loosing her arm to a shark is unforgettable, and most people would agee they could never be as couragous as Bethany was.Who knew a thirteen year-old girl could be so compassionate and determined to surf ever again after an excruciating attack. What a fighter! She knew God was with her from the moment the shark attacked her, all the way until her recovery. Faith was everything in Bethany's life!She has been an inspiration to me, and many others around the world during this very hard time for her, and her family.

    The book "Soul Surfer" written by Bethany Hamilton was a good biography for any ages to read. I felt at parts she was a little boring, but it has been truley inspiring how deep she spoke of the Catholic Religion. The word choices were poor, but other than that I enjoyed reading this book! It was an inspiration to me. Family, and her faith in God was a very big role in this book. It was so heart-warming that at some parts it was shocking, touching, and exciting. Thats how throguhout the whole book Bethany expressed her feelings and thoughts so honestly, I feel like I know her personally. Overall this book was good and I am so excited that Bethany has accomplished so much after her accident, and relieved she has healed today!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    An Inpirational Story

    Soul Surfer tells Bethany Hamilton¿s story on how her faith in God, love for surfing, and the support of family and friends helped her conquer her ¿handicap¿ and perform what was thought to be impossible, surfing with a missing arm. When she was attacked by the shark her family and friends had all come together to pray for her well being, but they all knew deep down that she would not be able to return to the sport she loved. Bethany had also given up, knowing she could not be a surfer with one of her arms missing, but she decided that she would not be stopped by something like this, and continue to surf no matter how hard it was. The story tells the reader what has happened but it also includes details about Bethany¿s family, life, and beliefs, giving us a more in depth look on how she was able to come back from such a devastating incident.
    Major themes include never giving up and work hard for something you love.Faith in God can greatly effect someone's outlook in different situations.The support of family,friends, and even strangers is important when someone is going through tough times.
    What I really liked about the book was the fact that the book talks more than just about what happened suring the attack. It also talks about family background, Bethany's religious beliefs, and other things like who inspired her. I didn't like how the book had pictures in the middle of the chapters, and how simple the diction of the book was.

    Anyone who has gone trhough a hard time, or can't seem to see the light should read this book. It's very inspiring and is easy to understand, so even some younger kids can readt his. There is no vulgar language and has funny parts scattered throughout keeping the reader intertained.

    I would reccomend Into the Wild as another book to read, because it is about a man who did what he loved even though people believed it was hopeless. Although the situations of the two stories are different both are very inspiring.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Soul Surfer Review by Katelyn W.

    The book that I read this summer for school was called Soul Surfer. It was about a young girl named Bethany, who loved to surf. There are a lot of characteristics about Bethany in this book like she was brave, determined, and also anxious. It was a beautiful Halloween morning in Hawaii, and Bethany decided to go surfing with her friends. All of a sudden, while Bethany was on her board and her arms were in the water Bethany felt something pulling on her arm. Do you know what it was? It was a SHARK! Bethany noticed she was bleeding a lot because the shark bit her arm off. While she was scared, Bethany knew that if she panicked, the movement might bring the shark back. Somebody pulled her out of the water, and Bethany was rushed to the hospital. The doctors did surgery on her arm, Bethany was terrified, and she did not want to die but they had to do the surgery. Bethany was a brave girl because the surgery was over with, and she was fine. After weeks in the hospital Bethany finally went home, and she was so happy because she got to see her dog and her brothers because Bethany was so happy she was even crying. Bethany was very determined to go on her board again, and ride in the waves but she could not ride in the waves right away, she had to wait a while. She worked hard, during that time; do you know what happened to her? She became famous because all of the contests she had won, she was on TV shows, in the news paper, and on the radio because of the contests. Bethany had won medals, trophies, and awards to because of how good she was even with only one arm! Some of the people even caught the shark for her! Then Bethany's life started to get back on track again, because people helped her to get her life back and tried to help her for get about the attack. It is all over and she is fine. What I liked about this book was that there was a lot of action, and really amazing things that Bethany could do now even though she had lost her arm. She could swim, surf and exercise with one arm. I was exactly like Bethany in the being of the summer because I had back surgery, and I could not do a lot of stuff. I had to wait until the doctor said I could. Because, if I did something before the doctor said ok my back would hurt and I would have to go back to the hospital. My summer wasn't as fun as I planned. The thing that I did not like about this story was that there was a lot of sadness when she lost her arm. Bethany did not like losing her arm because it was hard to do some stuff. Like me, I did not want to have back surgery. I had to. If I didn't, I would have to wear the brace again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Soul surfer

    Iis this book really good???

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I am not sure

    I have not read it but I read the sample and watched the movie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Sample

    Is the sample worth it?†††

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Surfs up

    Bethany really likes to surf and she really belives in god so i think that she should be able to feel free and feel happy of how shes herself she may have only one arm but she got her arm bit off by a tiger shatk cause her watch was reflecting in the ocean and the tiger shark got distracted snd bit her arm of that was a long time ago but now shes okay and happy to be her and who whouldnt love to be there self i know i do but now shes a awesome surfer and she always will luvve u bethany katie :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Faith

    ¿
    You know, Bethany Hamilton survived because she never really freaked and Alana's father was amazing. Plus, she got lucky. Sometimes, I can't help but read about an eleven-year-old boy named Lester who died during the shark attacks of 1916. It just pains me, especially since I always conclude it with poor Alysha, fatal attack, age seven, 2003! I'm proud if Bethany Hamilton's faith that kept her alive. I hope she never forgets that she must not ever take life for granted. AMEN
    and RIP Alysha and Lester and Oliver Reed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Good

    I got kida board but its a three star book to me

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Blaze 246

    Wats up in the hood

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended, excellent story of Faith!

    I enjoyed this book very much. Bethany had a very good out look and a lot of faith and support from her family, friends, church and faith in God to bring her through this very traumatic accident. It was an excellent book on Faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    An ok book

    This book was pretty boring in tell she auctualy started talking about her attack. I think the movie was a lot better than tye book. In the book she caried things on to long. I would reckamend reading this boo.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Not the best

    :(

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Ispiring

    This book was very inspiring, but it needs some work. I still think that everyone needs to read this book. I love the message it gives. The movie inspired me to surf, and now whenever i see water i want to grab my board and go. Overall pretty good. It is a little slow. She can be naive,and annoying,but it's an okay book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    ok

    I love bethany and all but hoped for more on the attack

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Awesome

    Good book ;):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    good book for teens

    this book was enjoyable but not very deep on any fronts. More like reading an article in my daughter's Seventeen magazine. Don't get me wrong Bethany is an amazing young woman, and her trust is the Lord is awesome.

    I find that, for me, it is missing a lot of the storyline around the attack. It is covered in like 5 pages of a 138 page nook book. Anyway, it is probably a good summer read, but defiently won't tax your brain, nor did it reach deep into my soul to search for a closer walk with the Lord.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book an amazing and inspiring read!

    Soul Surfer is a story of faith, fighting, and courage. Bethany Hamilton was a 13-year-old girl who lives in Kauai, Hawaii. Her life goal was to become a great and accomplished surfer. She had been surfing since she was 7, and she was really good and had already won some tournaments and medals. She was surfing on Halloween morning, when a shark attacked Bethany. When she lost her arm to the shark, the doctors told her she would never surf again. Her family, her parents and her brothers Tim and Noah, and friends told her she could do what ever she set her mind to. She set her mind that she would surf again.

    I liked this book because she clearly gave the message to never to give up. Even though she lost her arm, and could not do something's that other people could do. Even though it was a book about her life, she focused mainly on the people who helped her get to where she is now. I liked that; it made me think that she was very unselfish. But that did not stop her from trying. She figured out how to surf, and do a lot of the stuff a lot of other kids could. She made a lot of people believe in miracles.

    You would think that when Bethany lost her arm, she would want her arm back, and back down from anything people said she could not do. But not Bethany. She accepted she would not get her arm back, and figured out how to do things without it. It inspired other kids to do that. Bethany said, "I think I may be able to do more good having one arm than when I had two." This book is best for believers, and for people who love sports and surfing. It might be better for older kids, some of the language is hard to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3