Customer Reviews for

Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board

Average Rating 4.5
( 997 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(769)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

I watched the movie and i was soooo into it. I felt what bethany felt. Durring the shark attack my left arm fell alseep!bethany made me want to try surfing.i could read the book and watch the movie over and over again. I say that this was my fav movie and book lov it it...
I watched the movie and i was soooo into it. I felt what bethany felt. Durring the shark attack my left arm fell alseep!bethany made me want to try surfing.i could read the book and watch the movie over and over again. I say that this was my fav movie and book lov it it is #1

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

awesome

i love this book its so imspiring

posted by shai-shai99 on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 769 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Best book ever

    I watched the movie and i was soooo into it. I felt what bethany felt. Durring the shark attack my left arm fell alseep!bethany made me want to try surfing.i could read the book and watch the movie over and over again. I say that this was my fav movie and book lov it it is #1

    89 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Best book ever

    I love this book it is such an amazing story and such a strong girl i would like for everyone of my friends to read this book.

    61 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Awesome

    The movie and the book was life changing.

    57 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Soul surfer

    I like this book because it shows that god will allways help you when you need help and if this happends to you and you read this nook you would now what could happen to you and you will be able to get a new perspective and if you get stuck in the inpackt zone you need to get right back up the reason i rote a review is so people would know how much perserverints it took to get back up on the board.

    52 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Amazing and super inspirational!

    I enjoyed this book like no other! She is a wonderful author and has lots of description. Who would be better to tell her story better than Miss Bethany herself? I had to have my friend read it ! My love of surfing fits well with my love of this book! I VERY MUCH reccomend this book to all Bethany fans and lovers of the water.

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    great read

    An emotionally trying story of inspirationally overcoming obstacles and having faith in the big picture. I cant wai to see te movie

    33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    I love this and i love her outstanding faith

    I love this book i can not believe she whent through this but im so glad that Jesus had His hand on her i love you and your true faith keep it up and always stay with Him love in Him mckinzie

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    AMAZING!

    This book is 1 word. AWESOME!!

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Inspiration at its best! :)

    "Soul Surfer" is a very inspirational story about a young girl, Bethany Hamilton, who has a dream. A dream that is very reachable, until it was abrupted by a horrendous experience that would forever change her life. Bethany always wanted to become a pro surfer. She was always said to be the "next big surfer". That was until a horrendous accident occurred. On October 30, 2003, she was relaxing on her board when a shark came up from under her and bit her arm off. After that, her life forever changed. I honestly don't know many people who would've handled this situation as well as Bethany did. Her passion and dedication was truly inspiring. The fact that she didn't wallow in self-pity, not only says a lot about her character, but the fact that she is able to overcome anything life throws at her. I really liked how inspirational the story and message was. It really inspired me to be the best person I can possibly be. Bethany's story also showed me no matter what life throws at you, you can handle it. Even if that means modifying everything in your life. I also really liked how she was motivated by God. I think everyone has their go to person and God was Bethany's. He showed her that it is okay to be different, it's okay to be strong, it's okay to keep living your everyday life. The only thing I really didn't enjoy was towards the middle, it did get a little dry. However, that is the only complaint I have! I think every girl should read this book. It really showed me that it's okay to be different. In school now of days, it's not the cool thing to be 'different. However, Bethany's teaching girls all around the World to embrace their uniqueness and I think that takes a special person (which Bethany clearly is). I would rate this book a 5 because the message was so strong and so appealing to people all over the World. You never think you'll be the 'one', but sometimes you are and you have to deal with it. Bethany's story is a true inspiration to my life. Truly a great read:)

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Awesome!

    Saw the movie and thought this book would be cool. This book is awesome!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Love it

    Best book ever love it!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Great

    Omg movoe awesoke and i cant wait to read the book

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    this book was great

    im in fiifth grade and i was able to understand it perfectly. this would be a great book for like fourth grade and up.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Great for guys and girls

    SO Inspirational! Good for younger kids, too. I am almost 10 and I enjoyed this book.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Amazing book

    It was so cool how she lived from a shark attak it was a awsome book

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Bethany Hamiltin

    The book AND movie r so inspiring to me i wish tht i cood b just like Bethany with the grit she had not to scream out loud but to also be on His side i pray for Bethany Hamilton every day and a word if advice for those who like to surf DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT sneak out tht will just kead u to horrible things and situations that people every day have to go thru BETHANY HAMILTON I PRAY FOR U AND I HOPE THT U LOVE THE PEOPLE THT R ON UR SIDE THT SUPPORT AND PRAY FOR U

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Probrly that ( up )

    Saw movie reading book next... so pumped to read it!!!!!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    K

    Love this book!!!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    AMAZING STORY! A MUST READ!!!!!!!!

    This is an inspirational story. I think she has amazing potential and guts to be able to get back up and surf again. I would recommend this book and movie to anyone that was willing to read about this amazing girls story and all the courage she had just to do what made her happy and to live her dream(:

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Soul surfer

    i am in the same world as her when i read this book and i love that shes strong enough to write this book this makes me feel stronger and i am only nine

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 769 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39