Customer Reviews for

Soul Survivor: The Reincarnation of a World War II Fighter Pilot

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!

This is another wonderful book about the truth of the soul. It is a good example of why people should know the truth so that they can actually listen to their children when they have something important to tell adults and know what to do about it. Religions often deny t...
This is another wonderful book about the truth of the soul. It is a good example of why people should know the truth so that they can actually listen to their children when they have something important to tell adults and know what to do about it. Religions often deny the truth of reincarnation. Children are not a "brand new soul" and come into our lives with experiences from their other lives. We need to listen. The parents of James listened. An absolutely awesome book about how a young child taught a valuable lesson to his family, and also helped heal his own soul.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

NO way.

Crunchdog. What makes you think that "strict Christians" don't have access to history and science. What makes you think that Christians believe in reincarnation? What makes you think that this book wasn't written by an author who made up a story of a little boy who has...
Crunchdog. What makes you think that "strict Christians" don't have access to history and science. What makes you think that Christians believe in reincarnation? What makes you think that this book wasn't written by an author who made up a story of a little boy who has the soul of a fighter pilot? It's called fiction.

posted by 516457 on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ!

    This is another wonderful book about the truth of the soul. It is a good example of why people should know the truth so that they can actually listen to their children when they have something important to tell adults and know what to do about it. Religions often deny the truth of reincarnation. Children are not a "brand new soul" and come into our lives with experiences from their other lives. We need to listen. The parents of James listened. An absolutely awesome book about how a young child taught a valuable lesson to his family, and also helped heal his own soul.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Absolutely compelling!

    Being raised strict Catholic, the idea of reincarnation such as this would have been unthinkable. As I've aged, things are no longer just black & white. Why does the exploration of this idea threaten? Most cultures of the world believe in an afterlife of some sort. I literally couldn't put this book down! There are so many "Oh my gosh!" moments. It's absolutely fascinating and thrilling to the very last page. The boy's father had, all along, been the biggest skeptic of all. I find it thoroughly convincing,--but even if you don't---it's a fantastic read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    This book is only second to the Bible. It is a must read for all non-heretics. For all those who believe this is made up I must ask how is it possible that the boy knew what kind of planes flew in World War II? How could he possibly know any pilot's name or where they were shot down? His parents are strict Christians so naturally they don't have access to scientific information or history books. Also, since they are Christians there is no way they would exploit their child for money like those Muslim families. FACT: James is a reincarnated WWII fighter pilot. FACT: He was shot down. FACT: His nightmares had nothing to do with the eight billion model airplanes in his room. FACT: The earth is only 6509 years old.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely engulfing.

    Soul Survivor is the most compelling, riveting, and emotion provoking stories regarding reincarnation. I felt so drawn into each chapter, waiting for the next piece of evidence to appear. The book was well written, accounting for each factor that was pertinent. If you are not a believer, it makes for good entertainment if you have an interest in military/war stories. I did not believe one way or the other before reading this book, however, it has persuaded me to think further into the possibilities of reincarnation. I am convinced that young James has had an extradinary experience, in which many cannot understand or comprehend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Provocative Non-Fiction

    Once I opened this book, I couldn't put it down! I have recommended it to countless friends as an intriguing read. It is certainly thought-provoking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Worthwhile reading.

    Great story that makes you think about life after death in a different light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Right On Target

    The compelling story of James Leininger's past life recall is right on target with the way the soul encodes unresolved trauma from previous lifetimes. The nightmares began when little James was only two years old, screaming out at night, "Plane on fire! Little man can't get out! " Night after night he relived the trauma of the death of American fighter pilot James M. Huston, Jr., shot down in World War II in 1945 in the battle for Iwo Jima. Co-author Bruce Leininger researched the information his little son was giving, desperately trying to disprove the theory of reincarnation; however, in the end, the overwhelming evidence he found convinced him that reincarnation was real and the "invisible roots" of his son's nightmares were his past life trauma. Bruce and his wife Andrea lovingly guided their son through a healing process that finally released his nightmares. Now the new field of Energy Psychology gives us power tools to heal our past life trauma even faster! To find out more, see my YouTube commentary at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TlXsyetiM4

    Barbara Stone, PhD, author of Invisible Roots: How Healing Past Life Trauma Can Liberate Your Present

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    one of the best non-fiction stories

    I just finished one of my favorite books "soul survivor".
    I too had a young son who is now 43 that had I thought, NUTTY nighmares,that could not be explained, They are still very vivid in my mind. Well this book answered some of my questions. We always believed that he was in WWII. But he told me the other day when I was discussing the book with him "Mom I know you thought I was a soldier who was getting shot at, well I was just a civilian" My reply was just a simple I know,Of course at that time we wanted to think he was a hero in the war.

    I highly recommend this book to every one that has been in the military,and those that honor them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    This tops the must read list of 2009, AND I hate to read.

    This book although slow to start, pulls you in and somehow keeps your hands compelled to turn the pages to find out just one more piece of information, one more part of the puzzle before you put it down.
    But you can't put it down it is so compelling that I as a non reader finished the book in two days. I was fasinated to the extent of the father hell bent on proving all this a hoax or other logicly explained rational ending to this remarkable story.
    The fact that there are too many people involved, too many eye witness accounts and too much evidence to be a hoax makes this account of a reincarnated WW2 Pilot, his sister, and ship mates along with the factual accounts of a little boy give credibility for one hell of a good argument.
    Read this then decide for yourself, but keep this in mind:
    How could he have known otherwise.
    This book is worth every dollar that I spent for the hard back edition and now I am buying the EBOOK to share with others as I bring it up in conversation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Enjoyed the story line, it kept me interested.

    The story was amazing and believable. I enjoyed each characters' opinions on the reincarnation factor, making it more real-life. Would recommend reading, even if you don't consider yourself a believer in reincarnation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    A beautiful, inspiring, and extraordinarily well-documented story of a young boy and his parents who come to understand and overcome a traumatic event from his previous lifetime

    This is truly a fascinating story. I found it very difficult to put down once I started reading it. The foreword by Carol Bowman does an excellent job of giving you a perspective on the phenomenon of "spontaneous memories" in young children and the research that has been done on this subject. The pictures help you form a bond with the young men who fought for our freedom in the Pacific theater of WWII.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Soul Suvivor was an enlightening experience combining the mysterious details from a very young child and a World War II pilot

    Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, this book is a page turner. I found the story one of mystery, compassion, and insight. Both parents and World War II buffs will appreciate the efforts of all involved to bring peace to one family and compassion with understanding to another. I thought the parents of this boy did an outstanding job in being supportive and protective of a child so young when the mystery of the boy's knowledge confounded the parents' every day life.
    Good book club read for discussion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    A truly amazing story.

    I have already passed it on to my friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    If you didn't believe before, you will now!

    This is a great story - turned several of my friends into believers of reincarnation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Makes you Think

    This book is hands down one of the best books i have ever read. You will question everything you believe about life after death. You need to read this book the hairs on my arms stood on every page. BUY IT READ IT YOU WONT BELIEVE IT..... But i do believe it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story -- Fascinating Topic

    Even if you don't believe in reincarnation, this book will grab you and take you on an fascinating journey. Young James knows all about WWII fighter planes and there's a reason -- he died, trapped in a fiery crash in a previous life. He's tormented by bleed though dreams, night-terrors until his parents help him connect with his old shipmates, and he goes to the site of his last life death, and pays tribute to his former life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Believable!!

    This is an amazing story that i enjoyed from beginning to end. This family was couragous for sharing their story with so many skeptics among us. I was extremely moved by the story of their son and find it to be very believable and realistic! Many parts of this story were also touching and brought tears to my eyes. I would recommend this great book and child's story to everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping story!

    I have always believed in the theory of reincarnation, that isn't why I decided to pick up this book. What drew me to it was that James, the young boy who was having nightmares of a past life, was only a mere 2 year old.

    This book is extremely well written, the information about the members of the Natoma and their dead. Not only is this a story about life, death and rebirth; but it historically reminds us of the selfless acts that many young American boys performed to ensue our freedom.

    Get this book. If you are like me, you won't put it down. I read it in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    An amazing true story that will stay with me for a long time!

    Oh my gosh! Such an amazing story! I did not want it to end! Never in my life had I read such an amazing story that is also true! I've read a lot of stories of people who have died only to come back, but this tops them all! Very well written. Couldn't put it down and have recommended it to my family and friends. After reading the book, I watched online Primetime's 20/20 with Charles Gibson interviewing the parents and their young son, James from a few years ago.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2