Customer Reviews for

Soul Survivor: How Thirteen Unlikely Mentors Helped My Faith Survive the Church

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    Yancey's latest will rattle some Evangelical cages!

    If you suffer from Evangelical Tunnel Vision (ETV) you most likely will not benefit from this powerful book by Philip Yancey. If, however, you're willing to entertain the possibility that there is a much larger world out there than allowed for by your 'home-grown' spiritual upbringing, this book will rock you. I'm confident there will be those of a narrow, if not legalistic stripe (they could not possibly see themselves as such) who will take offense that Yancey attributes such personal significance to the faith journey of people who are not of their theological persuasion. Yancey, himself makes allowance for this in his first chapter which is worth the price of the book all by itself. Without apology (appropriately so) Yancey's purpose in writing the book is to honor those who have pulled him out of his 'religious' box into the realm of a spiritual existence validated not by church traditions or a doctrinal statement, but by the sometimes radical reflection of Jesus living in the life of the one serving him. That for me was a refreshing and very challenging breath of fresh air. The writing is fluid, transparent, and even at times painful for Yancey in his honesty. It is a call to those who would be disciples, not just church members. Whether you respond positively or negatively to the book will be determined in large part by which of those two identities is more important to you. In any event, read it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2001

    Another winner from Yancey!

    This book is the best I've read in a very long time - maybe ever. Philip Yancey deals honestly and candidly with difficult issues surrounding Christianity. He's not afraid to ask (or answer!) questions that others neglect. He features in this book thirteen individuals who have shaped him as a person and a Christian. The reading was both fascinating and profound. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Soul Searching

    I loved yet another of Yancey's books. This book deals with the ways that we humans and our institutions get in the way of seeing God. He delves into the lives of others who have struggled with this issue. Ultimately, he helps us see a loving God more clearly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking Book by a Thoughtful Author

    Soul Survivor is a book worth reading, from a historical standpoint (vignettes from many well known people's lives are told - i.e. Gandhi) as well as from a personal standpoint. The subtitle of "How My Faith Survived the Church" is catchy but so true. Yancey, and most other thinking people, has had negative, disillusioning experiences that tie in with 'religiosity', churches or people who claim to represent God. Yet Yancey brings his readers back to the place of remembering and confronting the fact that TRUE FAITH is not about faith in a human being or a human being's ideas about God -- rather, true faith is FAITH IN GOD HIMSELF. And that faith in God Himself can not be shattered by human failings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    The Soul Enrichment of "Soul Survivor"

    Yancey is a spiritual cowboy; he¿s a straight-shooter unhindered by manmade fences. He willingly shows you both his scars and his still-present wounds. He is free-range, unconcerned and unselfconscious as he roams into church-labeled ¿Badlands.¿ <BR/><BR/>When I first began the book, Yancey seemed to be making unfairly broad generalizations, overly rough criticisms of the Church. But when I realized his background (his racist, legalistic church upbringing mentioned on the back cover), I began to better appreciate, and better relate to, his hungry search for truth. Now, I admire his intellectual, spiritual guts. By insightfully exploring the life journeys of thirteen exceptional people (who were also confused, determined, generous, and sinful beings), he brought new perspective to my own pilgrimage. <BR/> <BR/>In Soul Survivor, Yancey addresses the harmful, unbiblical teachings presented in the specific church setting of his early life. But he doesn¿t wallow in a cesspool of complaint; rather, he moves forward to discover and explore God¿s gracious, merciful heart. In so doing, Yancey sets an example for others who have been hurt in a church setting, for others who need to separate erring leadership from an unerring God....<BR/>(Please see the rest of the review on my faith-and-humor site, www.youravgjoe.com).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    An Excellent and Honest Soul Search

    I was very impressed with the honesty and transparency of Yancy in this book. It is a much needed and yet graceful look at the human-ness that plagues the church, revealing the flaws without dwelling on them, seeing the possibilities of goodness. An excellent work for anyone who is searching spiritually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    A must read for those in and out of the Church.

    Philip Yancy is the most thoughtful Christian popular author today. This book is excellent for those disillusioned by the Christian church as well as those who are too dogmatic within the church. His thoughtful discussion of incredible people will identify many autobiographies and literary works for future reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Incredible journey into the lives of some great people, including the author himself.

    Once again, Phillip Yancey has written a book for the rest of we prodigals who experienced so many confusing and ambiguos rules and creedos in church, but could never put into the right words how we felt about it. By revealing his mentors in the faith, both new and old, and equally weak and strong, he educates the reader without being academic and give insight that reveals the depths great women and men go to within themselves to have a right relationship with God. I have never read a book where so many of my own thoughts were put to paper. I especially liked the recommendations of books to read at the end of each chapter. That will supply a reader with enough material to last until his next book comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great read

    Insight into what influences Yancey was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1