Customer Reviews for

The Soul of a Horse: Life Lessons from the Herd

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    very insightful

    Changes your relationship with your horse.Makes you realize why a horse does what it does and how horses can view us as predators.very well written!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Not Just for Horse Owners!

    A friend recommended this book to me and I wasn't sure why since I have never owned a horse..nor did I plan to own one. But I bought the book anyway....always up for learning something new. This book swept me away. From the first to last page I felt transported! I could imagine myself sitting on the porch of the Camp's home watching these magnificent creatures. I learned SO much about horses and their SOULS. With everything that's been going on in the world of horse racing, this could not have been written at a more appropriate time. The book is clever, witty and inspiring. A very fast read. I was sad when I finished it because I wanted to read more! And so many of the lessons can be applied to LIFE...not just horses. You will not regret reading this book. And I will never look at a horse the same way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read, should be "required reading" for horse owners and prospective horse owners

    Describes well the spiritual, developmental and emotional needs of a horse quite well. Digs into these areas from both an individual and herd basis, and explores how the human treatment and interaction of the horse works with the individual and herd. Also investigates training methods, horsekeeping philosophies and some other facets of natural horsemanship. I gave away an older horse to a new owner, and this is the only book I gave her to go with the horse..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    5 STARS!! I love horses and I never thought about the things listed in this book and all of the side affects of things that seem small to us but are bad for horses. This is a great book for people who want to give their horses better and happier lives and want to have a relationship with their horse.

    First Reaction after reading the book: "OMG the colt was Cash"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I loved it! The book gave me so much insight into the mind of a horse. Mr. Camp writes passionately and shares his lessons and his personal insights. He does a good job of educating the reader about the wild horse model. This book has helped me to have a better relationship with the horses that I ride. They are amazing animals that are very capable of interacting with and responding to us. The principals in this book will help to unlock your horse's true potential (as well as yours).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This was a terrific book about the connection between human and horse.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A book to share with many!

    I read this book twice and gave it to all my horse loving friends and family, whether they had previously owned a horse or still own one. All my family and friends loved the book and read it twice also. Each gave one to someone else or shared theirs with a friend. I believe more people are going towards Joe's way of treating their horses than the other way. I never had shoes on my horses and neither did my relatives and friends in Az. Now living in Pa, my cousin raises Arabians and has gone out west on trail rides and found most people did not have shoes on their horses so she is considering the same. She rides English style, and her horses are a picture of beauty. So perfect. This book is the best book for horse owners and horse lovers. Everyone should read it before riding a horse or taking care of one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Soulful of wisdom

    Fronm Benji to horses, what more is there to life? Horse lovers know a good journey when they see one, and this is it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A Book All Horse Lovers Should Read!

    I absolutely loved this book!!!! So much so, I read the entire book in one day and will read it again!!!! I have been into horses for 14 years and presently have 6 wonderful geldings. What I loved so much is that I could identify with everything that was written! Buying the first horse, is this really the horse for me, should I sell this horse, bringing your first horse trailer home, first time using the trailer with a horse in it, fear, lessons, training, shoes - no shoes, stall or not to stall, should I feed this or that.... everything! So very well written and so very true in every aspect. I know if I sat down and spoke in person with this author we could talk for hours and I'm a very quiet person!!!!!!! Thank you for this fantastic book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Wonderful!

    Excellant book! True knowledge and understanding of horses and what the need. I wish all horse owners understood what he and his wife figured out in their 2 years of ownership. Truly a must read for all horse lovers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    One of those rare 'Gotta Reads'

    Having spent about 5 years learning about natural horsemanship methods, I thought I'd read most everything I needed to know. Joe Camp's book opened my eyes to the truth that there was more to be learned! The Soul of a Horse is a great combination of helpful, practical horse-keeping advice thought-provoking stories research and heartfelt sharing of the Camps' journey into the world of horsemanship. I came away inspired, challenged, and motivated to make some changes for the good of our herd of 8 horses here at Shily's Promise Youth Ranch. More than that, I feel as if I found a couple of new friends in the Camps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    The Best book that I have ever read!!!!

    Alleluia!! Someone else on this planet has the same thought path as myself!! This love story of horse language and understanding is the most compelling book that I have ever read. On finishing the book I felt like I wanted to jump in the truck and drive to CA to go and see Joe and Kathleen, I felt such a connection with them, I belong to their herd because THEY GET IT!! Keep writing Joe, My soul needs feeding too!! If you are a horse lover it is vital that you read this book, for the welfare of your horse and to allow you to truly love your horse and your horse to truly love you. 'Let a Horse be a Horse'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Great Read!

    A friend recommended this book and its a page turner. It is part memoir, part fable and part what the heck have we been doing? I've never particularly wanted a horse and have only ridden few times but this book captivated me. In a nutshell, it tells the story of how Joe and his wife Kathleen found themselves with 3 horses before they even knew how to care for them, much less ride them. First they learned how to have a real relationship with their horses, and the rest was a quest of sorts to do the best they could by their horses when most of the information out there was from 'traditional' horse people. The very beginning really grabbed me, and I was really impressed that Joe's wife Kathleen allowed her fear of horses to be completely exposed. I laughed several times with the situations she put herself in, and could identify with a lot of what she experienced. A second is story woven through about an Indian boy, who grows up and matures with his best friend, a wild stallion. Beautiful writing as you might expect from the 'Benji' guy. Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Not Just for Horse Lovers!

    This book was an amazing read. I literally could not put it down. I'm not a horsie person, but was fascinated by how traditional thinking on horses was exposed as just not right. The story made me laugh out loud, tear up a couple of times, get angry, and question how I communicate with my employees. Camp suggests that we learn to communicate with others first by looking from 'their side of the lead rope.' I loved this. It goes beyond walking in some one else's shoes. That's what this book does throughout makes you open your eyes to new ways of thinking without being aware that you are learning because it is so entertaining. I've read a ton of the 7 steps to this or that books. This book doesn't break things down that way because it's a story. The story of Joe and Kathleen's journey is punctuated with a fable running throughout of a young Powatan boy and his relationship with a wild stallion...breath taking. I'm getting a copy for my Mother for Mother's Day...she's not horsie either but I know she'll love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Flight

    A beautiful wild mare padded in. She had a mane and tail of the darkest glossiest brown. Her mane was long and flowing not ugly cut and short like show horses. The rest of her was a dark redish color brighter than rust, duller than regular orange. Her eyes were a sparkling green. She looked out on the vast medow and smiled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Dusk & Dust

    Okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Skyflower

    Of course you may join after you do 2 things. 1. Post bio 2. Post 1 add.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Joslyn

    Takes the baby out of the basket and lays her on the bed. "Hello little one." She says smiling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Velvetstar to Windwing

    I left a post for you at our place. The result is number seven now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Shimmerbreeze

    I'm back from camp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4