Customer Reviews for

Soul of the Fire (Sword of Truth Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great escapism and touching story filled with adventure

Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richar...
Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richard and kahlan go thought to try and save a land which wont stand with him while at the same time Richard has to deal with the Chimes loose in the world and magic failing..

posted by Druza on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Repetative

I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear...
I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear over and over the meanings of things such as the Confessor's power or why Mord Sith carry Agiel's. I read 3 chapters through Soul of the Fire and I got to read explanations about Mord Sith and their Agiel's twice... After 3 chapters... Not to mention how ever many times they were repeated in the first 4 books. Give me a break, how many times must these things be explained? If I went through and highlighted all the repetitive junk in this book I'm betting I'd have 2/3 of the book I started with. It's almost as if he's running out of interesting material to write about so to make his book look as big and great as the others he just numbs us with what we already know about the series. Now I understand that it is sometimes a good thing to repeat things especially if a reader has put down the series for a while, but it is too much when you find yourself skipping every 3rd paragraph because you already know the value of what is being stated.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great escapism and touching story filled with adventure

    Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richard and kahlan go thought to try and save a land which wont stand with him while at the same time Richard has to deal with the Chimes loose in the world and magic failing..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Repetative

    I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear over and over the meanings of things such as the Confessor's power or why Mord Sith carry Agiel's. I read 3 chapters through Soul of the Fire and I got to read explanations about Mord Sith and their Agiel's twice... After 3 chapters... Not to mention how ever many times they were repeated in the first 4 books. Give me a break, how many times must these things be explained? If I went through and highlighted all the repetitive junk in this book I'm betting I'd have 2/3 of the book I started with. It's almost as if he's running out of interesting material to write about so to make his book look as big and great as the others he just numbs us with what we already know about the series. Now I understand that it is sometimes a good thing to repeat things especially if a reader has put down the series for a while, but it is too much when you find yourself skipping every 3rd paragraph because you already know the value of what is being stated.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding and Extremely smart, The Sword of Truth Series Keeps just Getting Better.

    Goodkind's "Soul of the Fire" is brilliant, and extremely smart. Goodkind takes the series in a new direction, just as in "First Wizard's Rule" new characters are introduced, and questions arise. Who knows what the next installations would look like, but whatever it is. It will be good. " Soul of the Fire" is thick and rich in content, I love the way the author portraits the political environment in anderith, and how he sets the mystery behind the chimes. "the chicken that is not a chicken", The return of Richard's First wife, and what's really behind the Dominie Dirtch. In Goodkind's "Temple of the Winds" Richard Rahl was faced against a dread plague loosed by Jagang "The Dream Walker" only by reaching the Temple of the Winds, he was able to save Thousands of people from the Midlands. However; in the pursuit of saving Richard's life, Kahlan invoked the name of the chimes, an ancient weapon used by wizards to extinguish magic. In the fifth installment of the Sword Of Truth, Goodkind takes readers back into the magical lands of the Mud people, The Wilds, and an unvisited land known as Anderith, the home of the Dominie Dirtch "Soul of the Fire" is the quest of Richard to find a way to extinguish the chimes back the underworld. In a race to save the world, as the chimes vanish magic, and kill every soul in their way. How will the Seeker of Truth will save the world? Without his magic or the sword of truth. A dangerous journey surrounded by Mud People, The bata kan, Anders and Hakens, Sisters of the dark, and those thieves of the soul, Wind, air and fire known as the "Chimes". At this point in the series, there are many questions unanswered from this book. The author gets more in deep into the world that surrounds Richard and Kahlan, and the long mystifying conflict between those who want to abolish magic. Goodkind is great in developing Dalton's character in the story. The contrast between Dalton's greed character and a certain glimpse of nobility is exceptional. "Soul of the Fire" is just plain Brilliant. The author introducing new characters and taking a new direction with some of the previous ones. The imperial order, The sisters of the Dark, The prophets. Goodkind's selection and developing of characters is magnificent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Series EVER!!!! READ IT!!!!

    Best Series EVER!!!! READ IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    loved it

    I liked the whole series. I watched the tv series . the books where better more detail. but I wish they would bring the tv series back . I liked the tv people and I loved working out to the shows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Good series

    I continue reading the series because it seems like khalan and richard cannot stay out of trouble.

    I enjoyed reading what happens after "happily ever after".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Hard to finish

    I dreaded the pages about the Anderith in the beginning of the book. Every page I turned was still about the Anderith. Where were Richard, Kahlan, Cara and Zedd??? I almost shut the book and moved on to read something completely different. That's how sluggish the reading felt. This book took such a dramatic turn from his usual writing style and story line. It almost felt like someone else has written it. I loved the detailed description of the Anderith political circle, the schemes, the plots. Very well written, but I think, if the books have been written in this style all along, I would not have felt sluggish and dreaded. But the pace of all other books were rapid, spellbinding, fresh and surprising, this particular book just fell short of my expectations. I was particular appalled at Kahlan for being such as thickhead in more than 1 occasion -- the chicken-is-not-the-chicken, the chimes being released and others. She performed so well in the Stone of the Tears as the magnificent heroine. But she then started to slip in The Temple of the Winds as a moonstruck teenager who lost her senses of what's important, and just went down hill in this book. Ouch!!! Every book in the series is beginning to feel like it were spun out from the same formula. But the story is still interesting and gripping enough to keep me reading and Zedd is just too cute to miss out. I do intend to read every book. Will they ever defy Shota's warning of not having any children? Hmmm...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    Goodkind gets back to 'Excellence'

    Fantastic! 'Wizards First Rule' REBORN. Cant wait for the next one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Could have been 300 pages shorter

    Decent, but too much repetition. And far too much extraneous exposition. This book could have trimmed easy 300 pages and been spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Love the books and you should watch the tv shows. Watch on netflix or youtube. Called legend of the seeker.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    This is the worst book I have ever read, and yes I have read hun

    This is the worst book I have ever read, and yes I have read hundreds of books from boring presidential biographies to government manuals and those were entertaining compared to this. I really don't know why this guy went off the script and started basically an entire new story with almost nothing in common with the first four books. The first four books were okay although the editing was really awful really horrible. If I received a nickel for every mistake in the first four books I could retire and kick Bill Gates out of his house. I am sure he doesn’t go back and read his books over and still these books are how old and they haven’t been edited properly. Oh another thing about this idiot is he puts words in trying to make himself sound like a better writer then he is adding the word purchase and breach in just to make himself seem like a writer. These odd words are put in and are very disrupting with the flow of the story just kills it for me. When Richard got up it left a breach, really a breach LOL again I like the story but book five is killing me and I may stop reading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Awesome series!

    I am listening to this series with my dad,mom, and brothers. So far I have listened to bits of the other books. But the series is amazing! I love it! It is a must read/listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    A little slow

    This one was a little slow paced. And god did the author repeat himself I get the idea of wanting to have people up to speed. Soul Fire is doing it for everything. But I love the fact that Terry Goodkind took the time to explain the political climate in Anders. A good read if you are not to busy, a little different from the pace of the first 4 ones but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Soul of the fire

    I thought this book was very good and the author used his imagination quite a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Worthwhile

    Not a bad read, but not as good as the previous 4 books. Still worth reading as part of a great series, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Good story - recommended if you have patience and don't mind redundancies

    The writer keeps repeating himself; come on! Do you really need to repeat what happened in the last chapter/book every few pages! - the only thing that kept me going is its a great story, and skimming past the redundancies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Very moving.....

    I'd give it four and a half stars, but I can't. It's not the best SoT novel, but it's better than some. So Richard and Kahlan (one of the best couples in the world of fantasy) are finally married. Yippee! So they spend their first night as newlyweds and they spend some time in the hot springs near the Mud People's village, but their joy is short-lived once they learn the Chimes are loose. So much for a peaceful and undisturbed honeymoon, right? And there's still one problem: Emperor Jagang and his Imperial Order SOBs. To the west of the Wilds is Anderith and Richard and Kahlan want to be the first ones to win their loyalty, because they have a very useful weapon: the Dominnie Dirtch. But the Anders, who turn out to be extremely pompous, have their own agenda. We also find out something very wonderful about Kahlan, but she is robbed of that treasure towards the end and early into the next book. I've said too much already. Enjoy the book, I garauntee that you won't be able to put down until you've finished the 548th page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Soul of the fire

    Not as good as the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Highly recommended

    A very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13