Customer Reviews for

Soul of the Fire (Sword of Truth Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great escapism and touching story filled with adventure

Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richar...
Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richard and kahlan go thought to try and save a land which wont stand with him while at the same time Richard has to deal with the Chimes loose in the world and magic failing..

posted by Druza on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Repetative

I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear...
I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear over and over the meanings of things such as the Confessor's power or why Mord Sith carry Agiel's. I read 3 chapters through Soul of the Fire and I got to read explanations about Mord Sith and their Agiel's twice... After 3 chapters... Not to mention how ever many times they were repeated in the first 4 books. Give me a break, how many times must these things be explained? If I went through and highlighted all the repetitive junk in this book I'm betting I'd have 2/3 of the book I started with. It's almost as if he's running out of interesting material to write about so to make his book look as big and great as the others he just numbs us with what we already know about the series. Now I understand that it is sometimes a good thing to repeat things especially if a reader has put down the series for a while, but it is too much when you find yourself skipping every 3rd paragraph because you already know the value of what is being stated.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Excellent - highly recommend!

    Great story...could not put it down. Running out to B&N now to get #6. Strongly recommend if you have ready the first 4 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    disappointed with ending

    I have read every book thus far and this has been my least favorite in the series. The ending where Richard banishes the chimes was sudden and lacking compared to the other struggles Goodkind has portrayed. I am also frustrated with what happens to Kahlan at the end. Definitely still a good read and nothing to turn me away from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Not as good as I hoped

    The series takes a serious nose dive with this one, however I feel compelled to read book 6 in hopes of improvement. What really destroyed this book for me was that there were 200+ pages of development to characters that really went absolutely nowhere, and thus it felt pointless at the end of the story. Also the main plot line then became second fiddle to what felt like a side story and then, the plot line abruptly ends with a rushed feeling. The way Richard dealt with the main problem (I will avoid spoilers here) was seriously disappointing. The last chapters were awesome, it felt like Terry wanted to take the story in a new direction and didn't know how to do it, then had some good ideas but couldn't end the other plots. If he had written the rest of the book like he did the last few chapters it would have been amazing, rather than lackluster. Far from brilliant. Bottom line - if you read the other 4 and plan to read all 9 you have to get through this one. I'm hoping it was just a lull in creativity for Terry, and not the end to this series which I've thoroughly enjoyed so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Nails in the coffin.

    This book finally solidified my opinion of this series, a disappointing result. The world of this story continues to degrade to a poorly transposed vision of the contemporary. The plot is fragmented and actually builds toward one outcome then suddenly takes off for another, less desirable ending. There are interesting elements that are not explored to any satisfaction; there are extraneous characters and subplots that are irrelevant to the story and the continuing plot. Any suspension of disbelief is blown out of the water by several plot holes.

    I was really hoping the story would get better but the sense of adventure that was lost after the first book failed to resurface yet again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The series keeps getting better

    need i say more?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    This book will make you want to read the whole series, even if you only read it to say that you have read it.

    The characters and plot are amazing. The way Terry Goodkind writes, it takes you away to the place where the characters are, and that is what everyone wants when they read a book. Soul of the Fire is the perfect book if you have time to kill. One time, I was at home reading this book. Before I knew it, 3 hours had passed. It's difficult for a book to do that to me, since I swallow most books whole. Record time reading this book: A full week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Soul of the Fire is outstanding

    Goodkind has again, given us a spellbinding capter in the events of the Seeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Soul of Fire

    Terry Goodkind does it again. The chimes are a unique and challenging plot line in the Soul of Fire and yet this is also a turning point for the Seeker of Truth as well. As he is at once let down and betrayed by those he is trying to help and his beloved Kahlan is beaten brutally and nearly killed by those same individuals. At the same time you start to wounder if the well meaning wizards and sorceresses don't have their own designs in minds and arn't just trying to tweak events to their advantage. This knowledge leaves you salivating for the next addition of the Sword of Truth Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    Good, but my least favorite in the series

    It's still good, but it is not even close to the greatness of the first four. It's all political BS. All the other books gave you the essential knowledge of the politics going on, but then got more interesting. This book seems to drone on and on about politics of a far off, never-before-mentioned land. It seriously goes through like 20 chapters of these people, then cuts back to our beloved Richard and Kahlan, then goes back to the politics of some country I couldn't care less about. I don't know, the books isn't fantasy, it cuts out the allure of a whimsical world with infinite pitfalls and epic landscapes and magic, and talks about politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Simply breath taking!

    Simply breath taking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Will Kahlan and Richard ever get any rest!

    This is book five and the story continues quite well. Actually in 'Soul on the Fire' there is another story involved which is very interesting. Actually it takes the heat of Richard and Kahlan a bit and involves the atrocities of war and politics in the Anderith. I try to read other books in between but I keep coming back to this series. Not so bad perhaps - I could be addicted to something much worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Thickener

    After reading every review for this book, I went and bought it. I had previously read the first four, and enjoyed them. However. The slow line was not Goodkind's fault. When writing a book, there are times when you have to add important details, and build up plots, and it can be boring but it is necessary. Goodkind used this book for the foundation to the next Faith of the Fallen. If Goodkind had not done as he did, the next book might not have been as good. Also, a thick plot makes for a full book. When thickening something, as in cooking, it often makes it run slower, but in the end it fills you up more. Also, skipping over details, even minor details, can make a book like watching a concert on TV, instead of actually seeing it live. I personally like experiencing the books, not just reading them. Altogether, I believe that Goodkind wrote a good book but the story he created is even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    amazing

    i dont know about the rest of these reviewers, but i found this book to be an amazing part of the series. its not supposed to be a story by itself in each book, its supposed to lead up to events later in the series. thats exactly what this book did. it breaks ground for faith of the fallen. even if it didnt do just that, though it did, it would still be an amazing book. if there is any of you reviewers who think you could write a better book than any of terry goodkind's...HA! id like to see you try, and prove it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Goodkind is overrated.

    With every book, The Sword of Truth series' magic slowly bleeds away. In this one, we're treated to a sophomoric attempt at political drama. Richard and Kahlan at least show signs of returning to normal people facing unknown danger. Previously Richard had transformed into an egotistical maniac incapable of rational thought, while Kahlan often flip-flopped between war-goddess and moonstruck teenager. Unfortunately, they only make guest appearances in this story of Anderith court life. Even stranger, Goodkind has left out his trademark graphical, sexually charged depictions of torture. However, there are plenty of his cumbersome by-the-numbers attempts at romance. If you¿re looking for epic battles, memorable characters, heart-breaking losses, magic and mystery, look elsewhere. Soul of Fire is a mix of politics and fantasy, but fails to deliver either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Next time, please try harder

    I like this book. I don't know what these people are thinking, giving bad ratings to this book, but I think it is well written. At first, I was rather confused as to why Goodkind was introducing these new characters, but after a while it slowly began to dawn on me. Though slightly confusing at first it is still a good read. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Not as intense as I would have expected from Goodkind.

    Terry Goodkind's books up to this point have been very intense. The first 100 pages are slow, but then you get to a point where the story clicks and then you can't put it down. I was disappointed in this book because the story didn't click until over half way through the book. I also didn't like the amount of detail that he put into the Dalton Campbell character. Why am I spending so much time reading about a character that is one of the bad guys? I don't care about the bad guys, I wanted to read more about the main characters. Other than that, the book was alright. I have higher expectations for his next book and from what I've read, everyone seems to like it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Beginning of the End

    I enjoyed Goodkind's first Sword of Truth novels. Wizard's First Rule was excellent, but the subsequent three books, while readable, slowly fell in quality until reaching marginal adequacy in Temple of the Winds. Soul of the Fire introduces a new and unpleasant twist: Goodkind's political opinions, which were lurking in the background in the early installments, surge to prominence as character development and progession of the storyline crash to a halt. In Soul of the Fire, Goodkind also begins his habit of introducing seemingly random new characters and focusing disproportionate amounts of the book on them. To make matters worse, these characters tend to be poorly drawn and developed, unsympathetic, and not infrequently die. To my disgust, I suffered through the next several books up to Naked Empire, with no improvement. The lasting message I've received from the series by this point is: 'Beware the Red Menace!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Sword of Truth #1

    Goodkind has done it again w/ Soul of Fire! The book may not be his greatest, but I don't think any SoT fan will be disapointed. This book has a big subplot that takes you away from Richard a lot of the time, but I enjoyed it still. It took me about 150 pages to get into the book, but once I did it was great. Again, this is not his greatest work, but it's still a great read for any SoT fan. Soul of Fire > Blood of the Fold IMO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    A Disappointment

    Soul of the Fire is the fifth book in Terry Goodkinds ongoing series. This book starts out very slow and does not get going until about 200 pages in. The characters are the usual: Richard, Kahlan, Cara, and some newly introduced. Time has taken a toll on TG because he is running out of new material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Soul of the Fire Review

    I liked the book, but not as much as the other ones before it. I think it was more informational and got in details and basically set the stage for the next book. It definitely kept my attention and on edge at a lot of times in the book. It was easy to be rapt up in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13