Customer Reviews for

Soul of the Fire (Sword of Truth Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great escapism and touching story filled with adventure

Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richar...
Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richard and kahlan go thought to try and save a land which wont stand with him while at the same time Richard has to deal with the Chimes loose in the world and magic failing..

posted by Druza on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Repetative

I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear...
I really enjoyed the first 3 of these books, the fourth 'Temple of the Winds' was starting to push it though. I just started reading Soul of the Fire and I can't get over how often Goodkind finds it necessary to repeat unnecessary things. All through this series we hear over and over the meanings of things such as the Confessor's power or why Mord Sith carry Agiel's. I read 3 chapters through Soul of the Fire and I got to read explanations about Mord Sith and their Agiel's twice... After 3 chapters... Not to mention how ever many times they were repeated in the first 4 books. Give me a break, how many times must these things be explained? If I went through and highlighted all the repetitive junk in this book I'm betting I'd have 2/3 of the book I started with. It's almost as if he's running out of interesting material to write about so to make his book look as big and great as the others he just numbs us with what we already know about the series. Now I understand that it is sometimes a good thing to repeat things especially if a reader has put down the series for a while, but it is too much when you find yourself skipping every 3rd paragraph because you already know the value of what is being stated.

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great escapism and touching story filled with adventure

    Many believe that if your on the side of right that everyone will believe you and fight with you for those reasons. Richard soon finds out how wrong that is and that people would rather believe a lie than the truth, wizards first rule. Great story of the struggle Richard and kahlan go thought to try and save a land which wont stand with him while at the same time Richard has to deal with the Chimes loose in the world and magic failing..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding and Extremely smart, The Sword of Truth Series Keeps just Getting Better.

    Goodkind's "Soul of the Fire" is brilliant, and extremely smart. Goodkind takes the series in a new direction, just as in "First Wizard's Rule" new characters are introduced, and questions arise. Who knows what the next installations would look like, but whatever it is. It will be good. " Soul of the Fire" is thick and rich in content, I love the way the author portraits the political environment in anderith, and how he sets the mystery behind the chimes. "the chicken that is not a chicken", The return of Richard's First wife, and what's really behind the Dominie Dirtch. In Goodkind's "Temple of the Winds" Richard Rahl was faced against a dread plague loosed by Jagang "The Dream Walker" only by reaching the Temple of the Winds, he was able to save Thousands of people from the Midlands. However; in the pursuit of saving Richard's life, Kahlan invoked the name of the chimes, an ancient weapon used by wizards to extinguish magic. In the fifth installment of the Sword Of Truth, Goodkind takes readers back into the magical lands of the Mud people, The Wilds, and an unvisited land known as Anderith, the home of the Dominie Dirtch "Soul of the Fire" is the quest of Richard to find a way to extinguish the chimes back the underworld. In a race to save the world, as the chimes vanish magic, and kill every soul in their way. How will the Seeker of Truth will save the world? Without his magic or the sword of truth. A dangerous journey surrounded by Mud People, The bata kan, Anders and Hakens, Sisters of the dark, and those thieves of the soul, Wind, air and fire known as the "Chimes". At this point in the series, there are many questions unanswered from this book. The author gets more in deep into the world that surrounds Richard and Kahlan, and the long mystifying conflict between those who want to abolish magic. Goodkind is great in developing Dalton's character in the story. The contrast between Dalton's greed character and a certain glimpse of nobility is exceptional. "Soul of the Fire" is just plain Brilliant. The author introducing new characters and taking a new direction with some of the previous ones. The imperial order, The sisters of the Dark, The prophets. Goodkind's selection and developing of characters is magnificent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Series EVER!!!! READ IT!!!!

    Best Series EVER!!!! READ IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    loved it

    I liked the whole series. I watched the tv series . the books where better more detail. but I wish they would bring the tv series back . I liked the tv people and I loved working out to the shows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    Goodkind gets back to 'Excellence'

    Fantastic! 'Wizards First Rule' REBORN. Cant wait for the next one...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Love the books and you should watch the tv shows. Watch on netflix or youtube. Called legend of the seeker.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Awesome series!

    I am listening to this series with my dad,mom, and brothers. So far I have listened to bits of the other books. But the series is amazing! I love it! It is a must read/listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Soul of the fire

    I thought this book was very good and the author used his imagination quite a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Highly recommended

    A very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Excellent - highly recommend!

    Great story...could not put it down. Running out to B&N now to get #6. Strongly recommend if you have ready the first 4 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The series keeps getting better

    need i say more?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    This book will make you want to read the whole series, even if you only read it to say that you have read it.

    The characters and plot are amazing. The way Terry Goodkind writes, it takes you away to the place where the characters are, and that is what everyone wants when they read a book. Soul of the Fire is the perfect book if you have time to kill. One time, I was at home reading this book. Before I knew it, 3 hours had passed. It's difficult for a book to do that to me, since I swallow most books whole. Record time reading this book: A full week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Soul of the Fire is outstanding

    Goodkind has again, given us a spellbinding capter in the events of the Seeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Soul of Fire

    Terry Goodkind does it again. The chimes are a unique and challenging plot line in the Soul of Fire and yet this is also a turning point for the Seeker of Truth as well. As he is at once let down and betrayed by those he is trying to help and his beloved Kahlan is beaten brutally and nearly killed by those same individuals. At the same time you start to wounder if the well meaning wizards and sorceresses don't have their own designs in minds and arn't just trying to tweak events to their advantage. This knowledge leaves you salivating for the next addition of the Sword of Truth Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Simply breath taking!

    Simply breath taking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Will Kahlan and Richard ever get any rest!

    This is book five and the story continues quite well. Actually in 'Soul on the Fire' there is another story involved which is very interesting. Actually it takes the heat of Richard and Kahlan a bit and involves the atrocities of war and politics in the Anderith. I try to read other books in between but I keep coming back to this series. Not so bad perhaps - I could be addicted to something much worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    amazing

    i dont know about the rest of these reviewers, but i found this book to be an amazing part of the series. its not supposed to be a story by itself in each book, its supposed to lead up to events later in the series. thats exactly what this book did. it breaks ground for faith of the fallen. even if it didnt do just that, though it did, it would still be an amazing book. if there is any of you reviewers who think you could write a better book than any of terry goodkind's...HA! id like to see you try, and prove it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Sword of Truth #1

    Goodkind has done it again w/ Soul of Fire! The book may not be his greatest, but I don't think any SoT fan will be disapointed. This book has a big subplot that takes you away from Richard a lot of the time, but I enjoyed it still. It took me about 150 pages to get into the book, but once I did it was great. Again, this is not his greatest work, but it's still a great read for any SoT fan. Soul of Fire > Blood of the Fold IMO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Spellbound by Goodkind ...

    Could not put this book down. Goodkind's writing enthrall's you to the very end! I luxuriated in his captivating story line and became entranced by his fascinating characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    awesome!

    the whole thing with the chicken-thats-not-a-chicken was a little... interesting but it still rocked. cara should have been in it more... CARA ROCKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7