Customer Reviews for

Soulacoaster: The Diary of Me

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A must read

July 7, 2012 By R n B extraordinaire
I read this book in one day and cannot wait to read several more times. This biography was well worth the wait and the anticipation was rewarded with an earnest depiction of r Kelly's life. I've followed his career and knew most of...
July 7, 2012 By R n B extraordinaire
I read this book in one day and cannot wait to read several more times. This biography was well worth the wait and the anticipation was rewarded with an earnest depiction of r Kelly's life. I've followed his career and knew most of his major setbacks (loss of his mom, getting shot, and the legal woes) but Kellz let us into the intricacies of his life via descriptive detail in a creative and REAL manner that only his genius mind could allow. I can't imagine a more complex artist who truly understands and embraces as much loss as there was gain in his life. Authentically told and cleverly delivered, the story of this mans life is inspiring and appreciated beyond what he's already done through his music. His tunes have left an impression on me since my teen years when he first debuted and his biography has left an even greater one now that I know the diary of r Kelly. Well written and powerful. Gavin's smiley tanks for taking this artists life and putting it in a book.

Amazon Verified Purchase

posted by 13997585 on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Crazy brilliant, or crazy AND brilliant?

First and foremost, you must be an R. Kelly fan to have the patience to read the entire book. (I am, and I did.) However, I read it through an objective lens and decided that R. Kelly is an artistic, creative genius and completely nuts at the same time. There is a very ...
First and foremost, you must be an R. Kelly fan to have the patience to read the entire book. (I am, and I did.) However, I read it through an objective lens and decided that R. Kelly is an artistic, creative genius and completely nuts at the same time. There is a very fine (if not invisible) line between this artistic gift and egotistical insanity. There is no inspiration to be gained from reading this; R. Kelly does not leave any lessons or stories from which the reader can learn or aspire to. He treats himself like a gift from God, handpicked to make music for people to bump and grind to. Despite this, I found certain passages where he describes his gift of music to be absolutely hysterical, and these flashes of unintentional humor left me in stitches. I gave it a 3 because he blatantly avoids then devotes a micro-chapter of rambling about his avoidance of the one subject that many of us want to know more about... his time with Aaliyah. I was disappointed by this omission, especially since he discusses his trial at several points throughout the book. Overall, the book (while lacking in substance) was entertaining... just as R. Kelly sells himself to the world, as an entertainer.

posted by SC2010 on August 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A must read

    July 7, 2012 By R n B extraordinaire
    I read this book in one day and cannot wait to read several more times. This biography was well worth the wait and the anticipation was rewarded with an earnest depiction of r Kelly's life. I've followed his career and knew most of his major setbacks (loss of his mom, getting shot, and the legal woes) but Kellz let us into the intricacies of his life via descriptive detail in a creative and REAL manner that only his genius mind could allow. I can't imagine a more complex artist who truly understands and embraces as much loss as there was gain in his life. Authentically told and cleverly delivered, the story of this mans life is inspiring and appreciated beyond what he's already done through his music. His tunes have left an impression on me since my teen years when he first debuted and his biography has left an even greater one now that I know the diary of r Kelly. Well written and powerful. Gavin's smiley tanks for taking this artists life and putting it in a book.

    Amazon Verified Purchase

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    An avid fan of his music I had to hear his take on his life THE

    An avid fan of his music I had to hear his take on his life THE TRUTH. I really enjoyed the book from start to finish. A very easy read and if ur a fan of his music and not a judge of his character u can keep it all n perspective. He's human he's failed n we all have. I truly love the fact that he recognized his gift early n nurtured n honed it to be THE GREATEST R N B SINGER N THE LAST 50-60 YEARS EASILY. We all love Marvin. We all loved Luther. We all loved Stevie Wonder. We all love the r n b greats. He gives u the whole package in one voice with GREAT ARTISTRY. Tragic to hear of the young girl that died n his presence. Tragic to hear MJ 23 beat Kellz by 31 points n a one on one. But we all would fare the same if not worser. The hate that this man has endured n to keep it moving shows that he keeps his eye on the mark n spite of it all. N if u all were thinkn that he would reveal the many negative things that we have heard thru news media n his faults C'MON SON why keep harboring on whats n his closet when its his music that helps us to manage the many things n r own closet. The Sermon on the R Kelly album prophetically speaks to back biting n modern day lynching thru assumptions n what we want to hate about a person. Get away from his human side n look to his gifted side n u too will find that not only can KELLZ FLY BUT U TOO CAN IF U STOP WEIGHING URSELF MENTALLY DOWN ON WHAT OTHER FOLK DO. Are we not a flawed society? What makes celebrity any different? This man had a helicopter deliver his exwife STARBUCKS COFFEE one afternoon now if that don't check the ego well WHO KNEW. We often ask does he put it down n the bedroom as he says well we know thru trials n testimony there's truth to his genius on many levels of speaking. I choose to keep it to the music n the music will guide u to places unforeseen if u just step in his bedroom of hits. KELLZ U GAVE US A LOT OF URSELF WHEN U DID NOT HAVE TO. A lot makes sense to me n man oh man to give MJ Jackson a hit n the presence of Bubbles the Chimp n the studio must have been a riot. David Peaston WHO? Ernie Isley u r thankful for that hit. Like to say thanks to LONNEICE for inspiring one of the Greatest of All time. Pastor Lena McClin thank u for seeing what the fans have only witnessed on wax n concerts U have seemed to truly inspire Rob to be the BEST!!!!!!!!!!! SOULACOASTER LADIES N GENTLEMAN GET ON THE SOULACOASTER IT HAS MANY WONDERFUL STOPS ALONG WITH SOME BUMPY ROADS BUT OVERALL GREAT ADMIRATION FOR HIS CLARITY N HONESTY N THANKS FOR NOT GOING INTO THE SHHHH FOLK WANNA DOG U ABOUT THE DEVIL HAS KNOW REASON TO BE A PART OF UR DEW SEASON.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    R. Kelly is the King of the charts.... Poor kid from chicago don

    R. Kelly is the King of the charts.... Poor kid from chicago done good he went from singing on the L Train, to singing for the world. and I love him so much... Monielove your number 1# fan in the NYC.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I was the first person on line @ Barnes & Noble Tribeca NY o

    I was the first person on line @ Barnes & Noble Tribeca NY on 8/10/12 this was my birthday gift from my husband Kells is a very talented down to earth brother and I'll always love him

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    R kelly

    He so fine and black panties

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    I loved it!

    This book was a long time coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    A DEEPER LOOK INTO WHO HE IS AS A MAN

    I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN...RKELLY IS A GENIUS AND I HAVE A DEEPER RESPECT FOR HIS GIFT. THIS BOOK WAS WRITTEN WITH AS MUCH TRANSPARENCY AS HE COULD PROVIDE AND THE COLOR PICTURES HE INCLUDED JUST BROUGHT THE STORY TO LIFE...ITS A MUST READ...YOU WILL CRY, LAUGH AND SING ALONG WITH ALL OF THE LYRICS AND REMEMBER WHERE U WERE AND WHAT U WERE DOING WHEN THE SONG CAME OUT...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Mr. KELLY HAD MY FULL ATTENTION FROM BEGINNING TO END!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Love it!

    This is a great read.....i think he really explains how his life molded him into a great musical genius. I am a huge fan but even if your Not a fan after reading this you will understand him more... you have to acknowledge and Respect him as an influential R&B artist....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    This man is kind. I went to the book signing and he made my day.

    This man is kind. I went to the book signing and he made my day. Security did not let us get pictures. That was like a once in a lifetime thing for people to see him up that close without spend a lot of money. I would have paid more that what I paid for the book just to have gotten a better picture of him. It took a real man to tell all after what he went through and how the media slandered his name. He is one of the Worlds Greatest! Thanks for making my boys smile I will never forget this moment. Still on a natural high! Love me some Kells!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1