Customer Reviews for

The Soulkeepers

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling!

I loved this story very much. It had a little bit of everything. From romance to paranormal it fit perfectly. Jacob already with a father due to an accident is now missing his mom. He is forced to live with his uncle that he grew up not knowing this side of the family e...
I loved this story very much. It had a little bit of everything. From romance to paranormal it fit perfectly. Jacob already with a father due to an accident is now missing his mom. He is forced to live with his uncle that he grew up not knowing this side of the family existed. Living in a town where everyone cringes at "change". Jacob struggles to find his place in this world he feels like he doesn't belong. Having troubles with family and school he meets Malini. She also knows how it feels to be the outcast. After some strange occurances, Jacob learns about himself with the help of Dr. Silva. She tells him she can help find his mom. This action alone motivated him to come to a realization that he is special and that he does belong.

posted by Michelle423 on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay...

Most ofthe tome I am really into books, finish them in two, three days. I just wast drawn to this book. Its good, but I have read better.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling!

    I loved this story very much. It had a little bit of everything. From romance to paranormal it fit perfectly. Jacob already with a father due to an accident is now missing his mom. He is forced to live with his uncle that he grew up not knowing this side of the family existed. Living in a town where everyone cringes at "change". Jacob struggles to find his place in this world he feels like he doesn't belong. Having troubles with family and school he meets Malini. She also knows how it feels to be the outcast. After some strange occurances, Jacob learns about himself with the help of Dr. Silva. She tells him she can help find his mom. This action alone motivated him to come to a realization that he is special and that he does belong.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Incredibly Unique & Exciting!

    The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching is one of those rare stories that seizes your attention from the start and never lets it go. You quickly become wrapped up in this imaginative story and are transported into Jacob's world. You experience all of his confusion and frustration first hand and you simply must know what happens next.

    There is so much packed into this story; it is incredibly easy to get swept up into it. I found myself gobbling up pages, desperate to know more about this new, exciting and terrifying world that Jacob is thrust into. The Soulkeepers has one of the most well-developed plots I've seen in a long time; Ching does an incredible job crafting the different story elements so that they fit and flow together. While there are definitely plot lines that are left open, the story does a great job pushing forward. Often times with series, the first book is basically just glorified world-building. While the author does put a great deal of time and effort into this, the story does actually move along at a decent pace.

    It is obvious that Ching also put a great deal of care into the creation of the characters. Every single one of them is extremely dimensional - they all have their strengths and weaknesses; their flaws and attributes. Jacob has gone through a lot in his short life and it has left him jaded. He has a hard time seeing the entire picture and finds it difficult to place his faith and trust in others. This brings me to the character of Malini. Malini is Jacob's one true friend in Paris and she helps him work through his issues. What I love best about their relationship is that they both bring something to the table. They balance each other out beautifully; she is often the voice of reason when he wants to act on impulse.

    The rest of the characters in the story are, like Jacob, dealing with their flaws. The book really emphasizes the point that nobody is perfect; it's what you do after your mistakes that matters. I thought this was an interesting theme and it made the characters a great deal more lifelike and easier to connect with.

    The Soulkeepers by G.P.Ching is an intelligent, exciting and adventurous story that keeps you on your toes.We are treated to a new sort of young adult fantasy story that does not involve werewolves, faeries or vampires - Ching creates a new breed of heroes that readers are sure to love. The characters, although some possess fantastic qualities, are all incredibly realistic. This is a book that will surprise you; it roots itself in your mind and asks some very intriguing questions about forgiveness, trust and what it means to be a good person. I would highly recommend The Soulkeepers, it has everything a reader could ever want.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great.!

    I absolutely LOVE this book. I could not put it down. My fiance and I supposed to be reading it together, but I cannot help but read it after he has fallen asleep. So excited for book 2. :D

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Really good

    Very heartfelt. I enjoyed every second. Especially the suspence. It was just so good that i couldnt put it down :)

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    A friend recommended this book and i loved it and i just bought the sequel and cannot wait to start it.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A fun and interesting read

    Since this book was free my expectations were not very high, so I was surprised by how much I liked it. The story was interesting, not too slow, and I found myself emotionally invested in the characters. There were more theological elements than I was expecting, and in my opinion they were all handled well.

    A very fun read. I plan on continuing the series.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I've been looking for a great book and have not been disappointed in Soulkeepers. I was hooked from the first paragraph and couldn't put it down! Love it!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great read!

    One that you won't be able to set down.....

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Loved this book. Once you start, you can't put it down. I can't wait till the next one comes out.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Top Notch! I'm so glad this was top rated, and available for fre

    Top Notch!
    I'm so glad this was top rated, and available for free. I like to be introduced to writers when their work is at a low cost, especially when I see what great work they are capable of. Soulkeepers was very much mind boggling in the best of senses. G.P. Ching made something so different than the normal "vampire this" "werewolf that", and even continued to bring to light these different options for herself as a writer, but also us readers.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This book

    This book is awesome-davi

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Excellent!

    An excellent debut novel! I will definitely be reading the rest of this series! Great character development and wonderful "twists" to things that we think we know...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Most shamazing(shockingly amazing)book ever

    This book was so good it had me up so late that i stayed up umtil 12:00 at nigjt fimished it in like seven hours and just cannot wait until i read weaving destiny and garden of eden i love love love the fact tjat jacob(love his name)an malini got together i also love dr. Siliva but i love this book more than any other book i have ever read strongly recommended yourtime wont be wasted you will be happy with the outcome of the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Love it

    It was amazing

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The soul keepers

    Very interesting you will not want to put the book down

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is amazing and addicting!!!!!!!! Totally love it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    enjoyable read

    Good book with colorful cast. I enjoyed other worldly storyline.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    The soulkeeper

    For me it hard to find books but i love this book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Amazing

    Great book. Couldnt put it down. In fact, i read it in 2 days. A few spelling errors but overall absolutely amazing book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Why does this one cost .99 when there is a perfectly good free one just below it? In case anyone is wondering, they are the same book. This is one of my favorite books of all time! It has an amazing story line that keeps you guessing, and I would reccomend it for any fans of Percy Jackson. Have fun reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10