Customer Reviews for

The Soulkeepers

Average Rating 4.5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Thrilling!

I loved this story very much. It had a little bit of everything. From romance to paranormal it fit perfectly. Jacob already with a father due to an accident is now missing his mom. He is forced to live with his uncle that he grew up not knowing this side of the family e...
I loved this story very much. It had a little bit of everything. From romance to paranormal it fit perfectly. Jacob already with a father due to an accident is now missing his mom. He is forced to live with his uncle that he grew up not knowing this side of the family existed. Living in a town where everyone cringes at "change". Jacob struggles to find his place in this world he feels like he doesn't belong. Having troubles with family and school he meets Malini. She also knows how it feels to be the outcast. After some strange occurances, Jacob learns about himself with the help of Dr. Silva. She tells him she can help find his mom. This action alone motivated him to come to a realization that he is special and that he does belong.

posted by Michelle423 on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay...

Most ofthe tome I am really into books, finish them in two, three days. I just wast drawn to this book. Its good, but I have read better.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Okay...

    Most ofthe tome I am really into books, finish them in two, three days. I just wast drawn to this book. Its good, but I have read better.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Soulkeepers was a decent story with an interesting concept.

    The Soulkeepers was a decent story with an interesting concept. That being said, the story didn't grab me but I think the YA readers may enjoy the book much more then I did. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I,m ten.

    My brothers reading it but he's not sure if I should.I'm also a girl so what do you think?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    So far I have enjoyed reading this book. It's a very good read.

    So far I have enjoyed reading this book. It's a very good read. However I got the free version of it and just realized there are pages missing.. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem and if the payed version was the same?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Okay

    I absolutely hated this book when I started. I almost gave up reading it, but about half way throuh it finally got more interesting. So, don'tquite till you read about 300 more pages:) This book is all about the main character trying to find his mom. Along the way he makes friends, discovers special gifts, and enters into a new world he never knew existed. He seemed very willing to be open to the idea of a new world, but not to God which I thought was wierd. I enjoyed the book but I still have my issues with it, but thats mostly just opinion. Give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Did not like the book

    Could not get into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I really liked it.

    I liked this novel a lot. It's a completely different take on good and evil, God and the devil, but it isn't a highly religious, preachy novel, for which I am thankful. It was really interesting and insightful, and I am in awe of authors that have such creative imaginations and bring forth completely different views on topics like this. The idea of Soulkeepers protecting humans and the controlling of the elements was really interesting and I loved getting to know Jacob, especially as he came of age, learning to control his anger and take charge of his circumstances. The mystery in the novel had me captivated, and I really enjoyed the novel-especially as Jacob begins to remember and realize that his nightmares are actually a reality.

    I loved the bigotry in the novel-and by that I mean Ching does a phenomenal job showing how difficult and dangerous bigotry can be, and how easy it is for people, especially those in close knit, small towns, to become close minded and prejudice. The abuse that Jacob and Malini endure is overpowering-even stemming from Jacob's own family-yet they survive it all and come out on top. Though the name calling and reactions of Jacob's peers had me seething on more than one occasion, I loved the in-depth analysis Ching presents as she hashes out the evils of prejudice and small minded people. Although this is really a small portion of the whole, this is the portion that really stood out to me the most-the underlying message is a wonderful lesson for all, especially teens. Three and a half stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1