Customer Reviews for

Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    What I love: *Lord Maccon is wonderful in manga form! *The sto

    What I love:
    *Lord Maccon is wonderful in manga form!
    *The story, while abridged, is still engaging
    *The pace is wonderful and the art is stunning
    *I love everything about the Parasol Protectorate

    Who should buy and read it:
    *SciFi fans will find a lovely home in the world Carriger has imagined for our amusement
    *People who have read the books
    *Everyone else

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Fans of the novel will enjoy this!

    I personally love Gail Carriger's writing style and her detailed descriptions. When I first heard about the adaption I was very nervous and when I read the sample I was pleasantly surprised. After reading the sample I then purchased both this and vol. 2 or Changeless. Now I am patiently waiting for Blameless to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Great!

    This is a really well drawn and well written graphic novel. It parallels the book "Souless". This adaptation is very well done. I recommend reading the book, as well. It is equally entertaining, if not more so. And, the book has more detail and content that probably had to be edited out for the manga version.

    Some of my favorite parts include the eloquent quips made by the main character. The love/hate relationships are most amusing. Also, I really love how the first few pages, in the Nook edition, are in beautiful full color. The black and white illustrations are quite good. All of art is done in an appropriate style that really fits the story, and its alternate version of a Victorian London that includes vampires and were wolves. The portrayal of the werewolves on the full moon and the foppish vampires were excellent.

    If you like graphic novels with a quirky, out spoken, and intelligent woman in an alternate Victorian London, then you will like this, too. It is supernatural and preternatural fun!

    -AvidReader

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling story with fun characters who don't get on your ner

    A compelling story with fun characters who don't get on your nerves. A strong female lead who isn't obnoxious or foolhardy! Plus beautifully drawn art, making you really feel that this was well researched both on the author and artist's parts. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    My wife grabbed the novel and brought me the manga.  What a fun

    My wife grabbed the novel and brought me the manga.  What a fun and entertaining story.  To have werewolves and vampires working for the English government is such a novel idea.
    The chemistry between Miss Tarabotti and Lord Maccon is great.  Having him run around after her while nearly always naked is too funny. Of course it makes a lot of sense for a werewolf to end up naked when he transforms. A great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Soulless: The Manga is a nice condensed version of Soulless: The

    Soulless: The Manga is a nice condensed version of Soulless: The Book without losing any of the amazing-ness and humour and now with the perks of pretty artwork to go with it!

    The manga reminds true to plot with the book though obviously with slightly less dialogue and details. It's a vampires/werewolves/supernatural/steampunk adventure story with mystery, intrigue and a little romance. The lack of details in description is made up for with the artwork. It's beautiful and provides a nice visual guide. The random bits of chibi art is adorable and a perfect fit for those hilarious and zany moments.

    If you're a fan of the book, you'll enjoy the manga and if you're unsure of reading the book, the manga will get you in the mood.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Travel back in time to Victorian London - though not quite the V

    Travel back in time to Victorian London - though not quite the Victorian London you learn about in your textbook. As well as people, vampires and werewolves are members of society - but the threat are the roves, the individual vampires and werewolves that are not as civilized as the others. Enter Alexia Tarabotti and her deadly parasol - not to mention her touch, one that neutralises supernaturals, all due to the fact that she has no soul. Roves aren’t the only concern on Alexia’s mind, though: a suspicious new club in town, and the fact that she is still not married! A handsome alpha werewolf, while pulling Alexia out of various reputation-wrecking troubles, could take care of that problem.
    Beautiful artwork accompanies an engaging story to produce this book - a great read. Victorian fashion comes to life before your eyes with the artwork, and the story keeps you turning the pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a big fan of the Parasol Protectorate book series and apprec

    I'm a big fan of the Parasol Protectorate book series and appreciate good manga and this is the first manga I picked up by an american artist. My verdict is quite positive, I really loved this manga. Some details didn't entirely match the spirit and era the book is set in, such as the amount of naked skin shown in the manga adaption, most notably cleavage as well as shockingly bare arms. That aside it's a pretty amusing and quite well done adaption of the original book in my opinion and therefore a nice addition to the series. Suitable for manga and comic fans as well as readers who enjoy their stories with some fun and witty dialogue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Soulless Manga #1 by Gail Carriger I¿m a huge fan of this autho

    Soulless Manga #1 by Gail Carriger

    I’m a huge fan of this author as well as this series so I had high expectations for this book which were absolutely met!! The storyline worked well and the artwork was amazing! All my favorite parts were in it and though some scenes had to be cut it didn’t hinder the story at all!

    I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, a must read for any steampunk/manga fan!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    The Soulless manga is one that I would recommend to anyone. If

    The Soulless manga is one that I would recommend to anyone. If you’ve read Gail Carriger’s novels, the manga is an excellent adaptation. If you haven’t, then this book is an excellent introduction to the series and will likely make you want to pick up the books and tear through them. The artist, Rem, has a wonderful style that brings the characters and the world to life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Overall, I thought that this was a lovely incarnation of Ms. Car

    Overall, I thought that this was a lovely incarnation of Ms. Carriger's original story. The characters were portrayed well and the manga format was a fun treatment of the original material. While I do adore the novel version, the manga gave me a wonderful way to brush up on the happenings of the first novel before re-reading Changeless or just to make me smile. Not only was the art work adorable, but the faithfulness to the original was tastefully done and as close as one could get without recreating the entire novel. Some of my favorite lines made their way into the manga, such as "Grovel, you say?" "Grovel, my Lord." and "He ate three cold roast chickens." The manga does soften Alexia's features some, making her slightly less angular than I have seen her in my mind, and Conall is slight less board and tall than I had imagined. I have to say that this manga, and the novel series that it is based on, is one of my favorites. I can't wait to get my hands on the next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Gail Carriger¿s Soulless swept the steampunk world off its feet,

    Gail Carriger’s Soulless swept the steampunk world off its feet, but could a manga version elicit the same response?
    The answer is a resounding yes. Artist REM brings all the characters Carriger’s fans have come to love to life, and the beautifully drawn Victorian settings and character expressions add depth to story. This version will easily become a reader favorite.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Soulless manga is a visual interpretation of the first book

    The Soulless manga is a visual interpretation of the first book in the parasol protectorate series. Here, in Gail Carriger’s London, bustle skirts flounce and dirigibles fly as you follow the heroine Alexia Tarrabotti as she chases after werewolves, vampires and comestibles. Alexia is refreshing in her role of Victorian lady and heroine. She values both manners and style; however they do not limit her in her ability to have adventures. I think it is her quirkiness that you immediately identify with. In the first few pages we see her as she navigates a lavish party in search of the library for some quiet, tea and perhaps treacle tart. Soulless is my personal favorite in the series. The art of the manga is engaging and imaginative while maintaining the feel of the witty discourse that makes the books so enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 1 is, as with anything adapted from a

    Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 1 is, as with anything adapted from a novel, a much more concise telling of the story it is based on. However, this is by no means detrimental to it. It still tells a very good story, keeping all the key points and flowing well. Having read the book I was perfectly happy with the retelling and did not feel anything important was left out. It also means that it is not necessary to have read the books beforehand, but I would recommend them to you if you do read and enjoy this.

    For those who do not know the story from the novel, it is set in an alternate Victorian London where werewolves and vampires are accepted members of society. Our protagonist is Alexia Tarabotti, a half-Italian spinster who is a preternatural: a person without a soul. Whenever Alexia comes into physical contact with a supernatural being, she renders them mortal, which doesn’t make her very popular with a number of the supernatural crowd. Of course, there are exceptions, one fabulous one being the incredibly flamboyant vampire Lord Akeldama, and another being alpha werewolf Lord Conall Maccon, although he finds Alexia frustrating in other ways.

    The story is a comedy of manners, with a good bit of romance and plenty of mystery and excitement, especially in the latter half. The artwork is stunning! The artist captures the world and the characters brilliantly. Okay, yes, Alexia does not have her trademark Italian nose or quite as much stature as she does in the book, but I think that comes with being a manga. There are some things that will be lost. This reader was personally very pleased with the way Lord Maccon looked since it was very close to what was pictured in her head, and the amount of panels to feature his naked backside made for very pleasant reading. If you enjoy the books, or if you like romance, urbane fantasy, or very naked werewolves you should definitely pick it up. Really, I think you should pick it up anyway because it is a very good read and I doubt you would regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Fun visual for a phenomenal storyline

    This was my first manga to purchase, and was motivated to do so after reading the corresponding book series. The story itself is a unique approach to the vampire/werewolf theme; the way in which it is developed creates a world that manages to make more sense of the supernatural dynamic than is typically done, with attention given to relationships amongst the supernatural set and between them and the average human. That is the technical side of it. As a reader, if you love a good romance story and a strong-minded heroine; if witty banter gives you a good laugh; and if you enjoy historical fiction (really - what's more romantic than Victorian London?) with a heavy serving of the supernatural, then this is just the story for you. I loved the original book series and the Manga edition provides the perfect visual component to accompany it. I would recommend buying the two together! The books provide all of the details that the author clearly has an affinity for incorporating in just the right way and the Manga brings the Soulless world to life in a way that does those details justice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    i really enjoy reading this!!

    i really enjoy reading this!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Perfect adaption of the novel

    I love Gail Carriger's Parasol Protectorate series, so I was interested in how the manga adaptation would live up to it. Thankfully, it's a marvelous job! Artwork and adaptation are bang on to the spirit of the book and even manages to add a few things all on it's own. I'll be picking up the future manga happily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1