BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Soulprint: Discovering Your Divine Destiny

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Great Book, Reading for the second time, will use it periodically as a tool for living.

posted by Bensalo on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Eh

I hate to say this but I didn't care much for this short book by Mark Batterson. I hate to say it because I really, really loved reading his first work, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day. This was just not that.

He writes that it is not a self help book but it real...
I hate to say this but I didn't care much for this short book by Mark Batterson. I hate to say it because I really, really loved reading his first work, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day. This was just not that.

He writes that it is not a self help book but it really leaves that taste in your mouth. The 154 pages of content skims David's life focusing on his character and integrity. The truth is, Mark is a good writer and communicator, however this (topic, approach, character study) has been done. So done.

I don't want to pretend that the book is completely without redemption. There are some good nuggets of wit and wisdom that were just stretched too thin. The one section I did find some what igniting was the one on 'seeking the shadows'. Batterson is a good story teller and in this particular narrative he recount an opportunity he had to speak at an event where Louie Giglio was also speaking,

"As Louie was speaking, I heard that still, small voice of the Spirit, and this is what I wrote in my conference notebook: "Seek the shadows." Like sunflowers that face the east to soak in the morning sunlight, we crave the praise of people...you don't get honor by seeking honor. You get honor by giving honor. Jesus said it this way: "Don't sit in the seat of honor."

If I was going to recommend the book for any particular group maybe I would go with a spiritually immature group of young teenagers. The material is simple and the illustrations are plentiful. Other than that I can not really suggest you go grab a copy.

posted by JoshKing on March 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eh

    I hate to say this but I didn't care much for this short book by Mark Batterson. I hate to say it because I really, really loved reading his first work, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day. This was just not that.

    He writes that it is not a self help book but it really leaves that taste in your mouth. The 154 pages of content skims David's life focusing on his character and integrity. The truth is, Mark is a good writer and communicator, however this (topic, approach, character study) has been done. So done.

    I don't want to pretend that the book is completely without redemption. There are some good nuggets of wit and wisdom that were just stretched too thin. The one section I did find some what igniting was the one on 'seeking the shadows'. Batterson is a good story teller and in this particular narrative he recount an opportunity he had to speak at an event where Louie Giglio was also speaking,

    "As Louie was speaking, I heard that still, small voice of the Spirit, and this is what I wrote in my conference notebook: "Seek the shadows." Like sunflowers that face the east to soak in the morning sunlight, we crave the praise of people...you don't get honor by seeking honor. You get honor by giving honor. Jesus said it this way: "Don't sit in the seat of honor."

    If I was going to recommend the book for any particular group maybe I would go with a spiritually immature group of young teenagers. The material is simple and the illustrations are plentiful. Other than that I can not really suggest you go grab a copy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great Book, Reading for the second time, will use it periodically as a tool for living.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    A easy read that will challenge the reader

    I just finished reading Soul Print, written by Mark Batterson. I've heard wonderful things about all of his books, but had only read In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day prior to picking up his latest. Like In a Pit, I found Soul Print to be an easy read, full of biblical truth, anecdotal stories that keep the text personal and engaging, as well as a challenge for life application.

    In the book, Batterson tries to point the reader towards understanding and embracing his identity in Christ. He uses five well known accounts from the life of David to show how memories and experiences (both positive and negative), integrity (or lack thereof), embarrassment and sin shape who we are and affect our souls. At first, I wondered how he would be able to share these truths without leaving a dismally hopeless feeling within the reader - as we all have skeletons in the closet we'd prefer to forget about. The good news that Batterson constantly reminds us of, however, is that God is in the business of redemption, and he can use each and every aspect of our lives to draw us to himself. He can and does redeem our past in order build a hopeful future and receive glory.

    I found a great deal of truth in Batterson's book and kept a highlighter in hand to mark sections I know I'll want to reference again. Mark does an excellent job intertwining the stories of David with his own, and he brings new light on stories that have been told numerous times. I loved the chapters Holy Confidence and Lifesymbols where he shared the importance of remembering what God has done in the past when we look at our present and future obstacles. Like a manna jar for the Israelites who God led through the desert, and like the armor of Goliath that David kept in his tent, we should put reminders in our presence so that we don't forget God's faithfulness. I also appreciated the chapters Crags of the Wild Goats and Alter Ego, where he encouraged the reader to live with integrity and for an audience of One, rather than to seek the love of men and their approval. It is a high and difficult calling, and Batterson tells of his own failures in this area, which, to me, increases his credibility.

    I greatly enjoyed Soul Print and will likely pick up another Batterson book sometime soon.

    I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Excellent for challenging yourself.

    Soul Print, by Mark Batterson is a journey of personal discovery that leads to the discovery of our "soul print", our true divine destiny. In this book, Mark Batterson uses stories from King David's own story in the Bible as a way to show the reader how God uses everyone and how He is showing us our own destiny. Batterson also becomes transparent through this book, opening up to his readers about many personal and insightful things that have gone on in his own life. He states that it is not the size of your ministry or how accomplished you are for God as much as who you are becoming in your relationship with God.

    This book is recommended for anyone who is seeking to be challenged in the walk of faith, but know that I, personally, believe that even though it does matter how grown you are in your relationship with God, He also has called us to share with others who do not know him. And if we don't do that because we are focusing on ourselves, then who is?

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    This book is written by Pastor and Author Mark Batterson. Once a

    This book is written by Pastor and Author Mark Batterson. Once again he has crafted another excellent book.
    I cannot wait to to get his book, "Primal". 
    Batterson's books are an easy read and straight shooting to the heart of the matter and that is helping the reader find their soul's
    destiny. Each soul print is different just like each finger, and Batterson is a master at clarity. He writes in a clear easy to read
    manner that keeps you engaged and personally I have benefited greatly from his work. 
    King David as our focal point and Batterson allows us to  connect with David in a very spiritual way.
    For example Batterson masterfully uses key events throughout David's life to connect to the reader. We aren't much different from David, and I think we all can find similarities in David's story to ours. 
    Batterson drives home the point that God has created each one of us as unique creations.
    God sees more potential in us than we see in ourselves, and Batterson's example of King David is perfect in this illustration. 
    A MUST READ for anyone who wants to know the will of God for their lives and know themselves better. Great for Teens!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Soulprint we find Batterson using King David as our point of

    In Soulprint we find Batterson using King David as our point of connection. He uses key events throughout David's life to connect to you and me, the readers, to the truth within the pages.
    Batterson relates the idea of the soulprint to a fingerprint. He explains how just as there are no two fingerprints alike there are no two soulprints alike. God has created each one of us as individuals with a divine plan. The author establishes David as the example for our individual uniqueness. Sharing about David facing Goliath and how King Saul put his own armor on David, and since it could not fit he could not use it. Much like Saul's armor we cannot put other people's lives on like they are our own. Here are some interesting themes I saw in the book.

    David may have been a shepherd boy... but God saw more.

    David may have been a soldier on the run from his king... but God saw more.

    David may have been a king you killed a man to have his wife... but God saw more.

    God saw David's soulprint. David pursued God through the high-times and the low. However, he always hung onto God.

    Batterson wants the readers to walk away knowing that it is not too late to start living out the divine plan that God has for you. In fact all believers should be trying to find that plan so that they can live in a way that brings the most glory to God as possible.

    A complimentary copy of Soulprint by Mark Batterson was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Recommended with some reservation

    This is the third book I've read of Pator Batterson's. There are many concepts in the book which are helpful, but I did not find that it went beyond what I already knew. There were some sections that seemed "pop culture self-helpish." I don't think it's one of his best efforts.
    Many of the personal illustrations are drawn from his other works which become somewhat tedious.

    All in all, though, I did derive some good spiritual food from the book. I think for a person new to the faith or new to Pastor Batterson's writings this would be a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    This book is awesome! If you want to grow deeper in your faith this is the bood for you!

    This book is wonderful! You will be taken on an incredible journey. This book is based on David's life and how he humbled himself before the Lord. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to develop a real relationship with God!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Deep and new perspective and teachings!

    This book is fantastic! There were so many parts I ended up highlighting and wanting to send to my friends and family. I am definitely recommending this book to all my Christian friends. Batterson teaches so many great things that I've never heard of before or considered. Let me summarize some because there are just so many good parts!

    A soulprint is not only who you are now but who you are destined to become. Ps 139:16 NIV "All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be." Eph 2:10 NLT "We are God's masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things He planned for us long ago." You were conceived by God long before you were conceived by your parents. You are God's masterpiece, his sculpture and God is crafting your character through the circumstances of your life. When life is over, we are left with one question "Did you do what you were supposed to do?" In the end, God won't ask "Why weren't you more like King David?", He'll ask you "Why weren't you more like the you that I created you to be?"

    Every past experience is in preparation for a future opportunity. "God redeems our experiences by cultivating character, developing gifts, and teaching lessons that cannot be learned any other way." "One thing that has helped me endure the challenges I've faced is seeing each of them as learning opportunities." The story of David shows a young man who is sent off to an unglorious future of pasturing sheep, while his brothers go off to war. Although he might not have at first seen this shepherding skill in a positive light, David later killed Goliath with a skill he developed from killing the lions that came after the sheep. Likewise, he also used his shepherding skills to shepherd the nation of Israel as king. While David felt he was put on the sidelines, God was preparing David for battle and to be king on the frontlines. If David hadn't spent time in training, he never would have been prepared for the future God had planned for him. "It's the time we spend on the sidelines that prepares us for the frontlines." Although we usually see the time spend on the sidelines in a negative or painful manner, in the future we learn that we are better off because of those times in training. Lke David watching his brothers go off to war, maybe you feel underappreciated or overlooked, but your day will come. In the meantime, be patient and reevaluate your timeline. God knows better than we do, when the best time is and we can trust Him to open and close the doors that make our life flow in the perfect timing to fulfill the destiny God designed before we were even born. "The longer I live, the more I thank God for the disappointments in life. Those disappointments often prove to be divine appointments. They may come disguised as divine delays or perceived disadvantages" but we can trust God that He knows what He's doing!

    I cannot recommend this book enough! Fantastic!

    I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Discovering Yourself in the Story of David

    This book, in a nutshell, about discovering one's God-given identity and purpose using the story of King David. While the information in the book wasn't anything spectacularly revelatory, I felt the story of David was told in an interesting and insightful way. David, though being the youngest and smallest, was still portrayed as a brave warrior and confident soldier and the author's supporting narrative, anecdotes, and stories tended toward the masculine identity as well. Being a woman, I found this book to be geared toward a male audience, but not so much so that I couldn't relate or found it hard to swallow.

    Because the cover of the book adds the description: "Discovering Your Divine Destiny", I thought this would, for some reason, be a how-to, step-by-step book of discovering your divine destiny, but it wasn't. Instead, the discovery process comes at the end of the book in the form of Discussion Questions which I personally found to be very well constructed and require personal reflection and introspection, using David as the springboard for digging deeper.

    At the conclusion of the book I was left with a feeling of security in God's divine plan and His guidance in all things, a sense of holy calm and heavenly confidence. Maybe that's a bit of what David felt when viewing his life under the almighty gaze of God.

    Disclaimer: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers as part of their Blogging for Books Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Keeps the Focus on the Main Thing

    When I first received Soul Print, I had some concerns. I'm a little leery of Christian books which take an Old Testament figure--in this case, David--and turn his story into simple lessons about how to make my life better. And as I started the book, it seemed like my fears would be realized in this book as well. I'm glad I was wrong.

    While the book is primarily personal application oriented (i.e., how I am a distinct creation that God has a specific purpose for), much of the book keeps the focus on the Lord and His son Jesus Christ, which I consider a positive in Christian literature. I especially appreciated "Scene" (chapter) IV, Alter Ego, and its emphasis on the need for the Christian to base his or her identity in Christ and not in ourselves. Very meaningful stuff in a genre (self-help Christian publishing) which often is just as focused on self-seeking as secular titles of the same ilk. I'm thankful for Pastor Batterson's focus on what truly matters.

    Note: I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Good read

    Soulprint by Mark Batterson is a deceptively simple book. The subtitle is "Discovering your divine destiny" and that intrigued me. It's not a book of easy answers, and I appreciate that. Instead, Batterson uses primarily the story of David as a framework for raising questions that will help you on a journey of self-discovery. His basic premise is that each one of us is a unique creation of God, and that uniqueness gives us the responsibility to live--and worship God--in a way that no one else can. That can only be done when we discover our "true identity." Many times this kind of language sends red flags up for me, making me wonder if the rest of the book is going to be a sermon about what I should and shouldn't be doing. Batterson, though, points out something I've found to be true the older I've gotten--that we spend much of our lives as strangers to ourselves. It's easier to be someone that everyone else wants us to be--easier and safer. But, as he suggests, in doing that, we lose ourselves. He approaches the process as an archaeological dig, and that was an intriguing point of view. The primary tool he suggests using is the tool of story--and he uses various aspects of David's story as a template. We often talk about identifying people through their fingerprints; Batterson suggests that our soulprint is every bit as important (if not more so) in self-identification. There are discussion questions at the end of the book--summaries of key points and questions. I did not find those helpful--found them too simplistic. But the rest of the text kept my attention and has encouraged me to consider starting the journey of self-discovery, especially since he suggests that it's never too late! This book it was provided free of charge from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Highly Recommend- Find the Power of your Destiny

    This is the third book that I have read from Mark Batterson. I am really getting into his writings and have been blessed by his books. This book was an easy read that sheds light on who you are and the possibilities that are contained inside you. Throughout this book Mark walks you through 5 defining moments in your life that will in turn help shape your destiny. Through those moments he relates back to the life of King david to gain insight and principles.

    Scene 1: Holy Confidence
    In this chapter Mark wrote, "Our Greatest advantages may not be what we perceive as our greatest advantages. Our greatest advantages may actually be hidden in our greatest disadvantages." This quote made me think for a long time as throughout life I have been taught to run from my disadvantages and focus solely on my advantages. This of course goes in direct opposition to that thought. But the truth is we can only grow in light of the areas we see the need to grow. And when we do in that very area might be were God has called you to do the most for Him.

    Scene II: Life Sysmbols
    All of us throughout our lives gather items that have a huge impact in our life, but in turn does not any meaning to others. These are our life symbols. It got me thinking about my life symbols and it took me down a nice trip of memory lane.

    Scene III: The Crags of Wild Goats
    This chapter went over the fact that most of us desire to be in the limelight. We all like it when people see us doing a great job and honor us for it. But that is the problem, Honor us for it. What if we went in a different direction and decided to, as Mark shares, Live in the shadows? How would it look to have a dream given to God to bring Glory and Honor to God not you. This one was a challenge for me as I like to achieve things and climb the preverbal ladder. My heart needs to be willing to live out my calling over trying to have success as the world defines it. This chapter hit home based in the personal path God has me on currently.

    Scene IV: Alter Ego
    Have you ever been embarrassed? If we are all honest we spend our lives making sure we dont get to situations were it is even basically a chance you you could be embarrassed. That was the baises for this chapter and he shares that ego is the very thing we need to over come and make it. He talks about how Humor is based from humiliation. Very Challenging when you share to embrace live and not worry about being embarrassed.

    Scene V: Devils Workshop
    This chapter was based in the area of being tempted to personally fixing areas you don't feel you measure up. In most temptations it is us picking our way over God's way.

    This is a great read and I would highly recommend it for anybody. The book I had also had discussion questions in the back so it made it very useful for a small group. So go and get this book you will thank me later. You can order it here: Barnes & Noble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Becoming who God wants you to be.

    This is the first book I've read by author Mark Batterson, pastor from the Washington D.C, and I found the author to be sincere, positive, and inspiring. It was a feel-good book, which isn't a bad thing; I'm just sometimes jaded when a book only acknowledges the positive.
    Batterson used scripture to explain his Soul Print theory, citing from the life of King David and his trials. For example, Batterson used David's early life as a shepherd and the skills he learned in order to defend the family's herd. Batterson purposes that without that time as a shepherd boy he would not have been able to have the skills necessary to defeat Goliath. It is then a blessing to have been confronted by lions and bears so David could become an excellent shot with the slingshot-according to Batterson. It's a strong argument.
    Each of the seven (7) segments of the book, the author focuses on David's Soul Print, and then applies the scripture to modern life. He compares David's Soul Print to David's destiny, and then challenges the reader to examine his or her own Soul Print. I can say that I did read over the exercises and reviewed the questions at the end of the chapters and at the end of the book. There were many thought provoking questions.
    I believe that each one of us is uniquely created by God to fulfill some purpose within His plan for the world. We are not to copy someone else, but are to learn who God made us to be and how we can live our lives within His Kingdom. Mark Batterson did a good job explaining this concept. And I really appreciated his explanation that there are different seasons in life, and we must learn to be content in the season we are experiencing (p. 25).
    Soul Print is a short book, 154 pages, followed by 16 pages of discussion questions. I found it to be an easy read, with all parts flowing together well. Based on this book, I would be interested in reading some of the author's other works. I received Soul Print by Mark Batterson from Blogging for Books / WaterBrookMultnomah Press in exchange for my review, of which there was no pressure one way or the other regarding how I reviewed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ

    Having just completed this book, I must say this: READ THIS BOOK. The challenges, insights, and honest approach of this book really get to the heart of its message: what has God created you to do?

    Throughout the book Mr. Batterson weaves a masterful work using King David as his prime example. Batterson shows that David was created for a certain purpose and this was brought out throughout this life. It was his destiny; his soulprint.

    To live your soulprint brings purpose to your life. This is why I was created; why you were created. Batterson makes this point and makes it well. Thus this book is a must read by those searching, those needing refreshing, and those who may have lost their way.

    **I received this complimentary copy for my review**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Serving God by being you

    Mark Batterson always amazes me. Frankly, this book didn't look like much from the outside. It is not very long and didn't look like it had the "heft" to really make an impression on me. Then I opened the book and started reading. I quickly remembered why I am such a fan of the author's writing.
    This book does several things well. It focuses on your relationship with God but also lets the reader know that God cares about your life. While this starts with a "self help feel," the author quickly puts that in the realm of idolatry but shows the desire God has for each of us to be the individual He has called us to be. One of my favorite lines (and there are many) is God won't ask you why you weren't like Billy Graham but why weren't you more like you?
    The very best part of Soul Print is that we see all the things that help us to be better through the story of King David. Many books spend time making statements about spirituality and then citing scripture. Mark Batterson goes well beyond that. Any book he pens is filled with stories that take us back to the reason for the book in the first place, that being the word of God.
    Soul Print is funny, inciteful, and relevant. Batterson does a wonderful job of using his fears and failures to show that God has made us all unique. If you are looking for a book that helps you focus on the now in order to have a brighter future, this is the book for you.
    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    The destiny of Soulprint

    "The more you have going for you, the more potential you have for identity issues. Why? Because it's easier to base your identity on the wrong things. It's rather ironic, but the greatest blessings can become the greatest curses simply because they undermine our reliance upon God..."

    pg 105 Soulprint

    This really sums the book up for me. Mark Batterson is on a quest for you to find the real you. Not the "you" people perceive you to be but the real genuine you. You are like no other person on this earth, nobody can worship the creator as you can, be used the way you can. This is not a book about finding your inner being but finding your God being. Mr. Batterson uses the story of David in a way anyone can relate. I was extremely surprised at the humility of his writing and the honesty. He speaks of his own struggles, which was refreshing. On the scale 1 to 10 I would put this book at a 6.5. It is no commentary on David's life, but gives some valuable insights to the defining moments. It flirts with being a self help book, which I am not a big fan of, but I am of a fan of being used by the Almighty God, and Mr. Batterson does strive to see yourself through the eyes of God so you can be a tool in His hands

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Very good book!!

    In Soul Print, author Mark Batterson, presents defining moments in the life of King David, and through a process of examination and reflection, provides readers with a template for a journey of self discovery and character development in their own lives. The meaning of these moments in Davids life and our lives are revealed as we understand more of who God is and how He has prepared us. It is only in that way we understand who we are. I really enjoyed this book. What I appreciate most about the book is how the author drew from events and words in scripture and related them to his own life experiences, this gave me a new perspective to take into my reading and my own process of self discovery. At the end of the book there are several pages with chapter summaries, key points and questions for reflection which is helpful for anyone who wants to get the most out of the material. I would recommend this book for individuals who are believers and those who are searching. This book is also being used for a small group study at my church and thus far it has been rewarding.






    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Another encouraging book by Batterson!

    Batterson encourages us to look at how God has created us to be unique, and even though we are all made in His image, we are all made according to the very specific plans He has for each of us. Within the Christian world, there is always an underlying concern with who the people around us are, and how we can model ourselves after them.
    Within the beauty of our uniqueness, God has created for each of us a purpose, that purpose at times can be lost in our insecurities. Thoughts of not being good enough, fears of rejection and failure can keep us from answering the calling on our lives. Batterson repeats one thought throughout the book,

    "what you are doing or where you are going are secondary issues, God's primary concern is who you are becoming"

    It is in this theme that Batterson really challenges us to take a personal inventory as to where we are compared to who God has created us to be.

    Batterson allows God to guide his writing, and everytime you have a moment in the book when you think "oh gosh that sounds like me!!" Batterson kindly provides an example from his, or someone elses life to show you that we are all on a constant journey, and though each of us travels our own paths, there are others journeying alongside us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Inspiration To Live Your Destiny

    I'm so excited to share this with you! I've been waiting by the mailbox for my very first book to review and finally it has arrived. "Soul Print" by Mark Batterson. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. It's a great read and I can't wait to recommend it to my friends!

    The first section was so good, I didn't want to put it down. Mark Batterson challenges, even inspires his readers to dig deep into themselves to see who they were created to be; to live at a level that surpasses the superficial and find their true identity in Christ.

    "The best form of worship is becoming the best version of who God has created you to be." (p. 146) You were made for a purpose. Good deeds were designed for you to do long before you were you. No one has ever existed or will exist who can worship God like you. This is what Batterson calls your soul print, and it's as unique as your fingerprint. Using the life of King David, Batterson wisks the reader away from the daily grind and places before them the question "What is your God-given identity?"

    Too often we trudge through life living day in and day out in response to our immediate needs and the demands placed on us, giving little thought to the fact that our circumstances are divinely orchestrated. Batterson points out that we are being set up. Set up by God. "The King of kings goes before His servants to prepare the road ahead. In other words, He strategically positions us in the right place at the right time. God is setting you up, and that ought to fill you with an unshakable sense of destiny." (p.11)

    This book left me feeling compelled to sit at the feet of the Father to find my own soul print. I highly recommend it; it will bring a clarity and direction to the life of anyone who calls themselves a follower of Christ. George Eliot said "It's never too late to be who you might have been." At whatever stage of life you find yourself, this is true. And that is the message of this book. Because life is about the who. Who you were made to be. The only way to become who you were created to be is by looking at the One who planned your days long before you took your first breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4