Customer Reviews for

Soul's Gate

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Mind-blowing

    Jim is an author who comes up with mind-twisting plots and what-ifs. Soul's Gate was no exception. The characters were interesting, but what grabbed me and is staying with me after closing the book is the idea that I want God to use me in a way like He did the characters. Imagine four people who fulfill an old prophecy. They are to come together to bring freedom to those who are in bondage. They have to start with themselves...and that means jumping in to other people's souls -- with permission -- to do warfare for them. Jim admits in an author note, that may not be possible. But so many other things in the book come straight from the Bible. Bottom line, I closed the book with a cry in my heart and hunger to be used by God in fresh, new, mighty ways to bring His freedom to this world. Definitely a book that can impact readers as much as Frank Peretti's This Present Darkness.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Truly a great read

    A very good read . Good for the soul . It makes you think about your own spirituality . And where you stand with Christ

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Soul¿s Gate by James Rubart Reece Roth has received a prophec

    Soul’s Gate by James Rubart


    Reece Roth has received a prophecy that he will teach four persons to fight for the hearts of others by entering into their souls. They will wage spiritual warfare and bring freedom to those oppressed by the enemy. Now he must convince the four of that calling. Dana, Brandon and Marcus seem willing, but what of the fourth? This task is not without many dangers, as Reece well knows. As his protégés become stronger, the enemy takes notice and their families and Reece come under attack. Are Dana, Marcus and Brandon ready to take on the challenge to stand against the enemy and deliver Reece?
    James Rubart writes an intriguing novel based on the premise that spiritual warfare can be waged inside a person’s soul. Rubart admits that this possibility doesn’t really exist, but it makes for an interesting read. This novel reminded me a lot of his novel Rooms, which I found interesting as well. His style is straightforward and the plot moves along, although I found the beginning of the novel to be confusing when he was introducing multiple characters at once. It didn’t help that for some reason the copy I received from the publisher would not display the first page of each chapter on my nook. As I continued to read, I became more involved in the plot and found myself challenged to spend more time in prayer. This story, because it is fiction, may not be found to be doctrinally mainline, but it does challenge the reader not to settle for a blasé faith. If you enjoyed Peretti’s Piercing the Darkness novel, you will enjoy this one, too. The publisher gave me a free copy and this is my honest opinion.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    This book was exactly what I needed exactly when I needed it.




    This book was exactly what I needed exactly when I needed it. While I loved Rooms, it mostly dealt with issues I'd already tackled and revelations I'd already received. Book of Days had more impact on me, but this novel went far beyond. I so needed this infusion of faith and power in my life right now. This reminder that the spirit world is more real than the illusory one all around me that presses on my senses day in and day out. And I needed to have my fighting spirit revived. Another wonderful aspect of this book, which I've never found in a novel before, was the direct link between quantum physics, faith, and the spiritual realm. I'm a closet physics geek, so this delighted me to no end.




    My husband is halfway through the book as I'm writing this, and I sent a gift copy to my mom. No doubt, I'll soon be buying lots of extra copies and wrangling all my loved ones into reading it. I not only highly recommend this book, I'd say it's a must read for every Christian. I'm sure I will read this one again and again. No matter where you are in your walk with the Lord, I think you'll find something in this book to minister to you. And even for non-Christians, I can't help but think you'd enjoy this peek at what Christianity was truly meant to be.




    The novel challenges you to believe what the Bible really says and to tap into the supernatural power available in the Holy Spirit. The author says in the back that his main purpose for the book was to demonstrate freedom in Christ, but there was no way to get there without looking at spiritual warfare as well. From healing, to prophecy and vision, to being transported in the spirit and invisibilty cloaks, this book takes a look at a sort of Christianity few truly believe in. A sort of Christianity that I remember longing for once upon a time with childlike faith. For the sake of the story, it also examines the possibility of going into the souls of others to fight for their freedom. While the author admits that this is probably not precisely true, it does seem to be in many ways a very accurate portrayal of a spiritual reality.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Soul's Gate was a great book, filled with surprising plot twists

    Soul's Gate was a great book, filled with surprising plot twists and lots of what ifs. It was written well and will leave you thinking about your spirituality and your own relationship with Christ.

    The characters were wonderfully written and I really liked the way each of them had a different struggle going on within even if they didn't fully realize they were actually struggling. In some way, I felt like I was able to relate to each of their struggles in some way.

    After reading the book, I realized that I want to be able to fight for people like the members of the prophecy. Of course, you need to be willing to confront your own demons before you can fight someone else's (with their permission of course).Needless to say, this book left me hungry for more. Can't wait for Memory's Door!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK ,IT TAKE YOU INTO A REAL SPRITUAL RIDE!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK ,IT TAKE YOU INTO A REAL SPRITUAL RIDE!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great book

    Inspiring. Will read his other books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Maka's Updated Bio

    Name: Duh, Maka. Looks: dirty blond hair in pigtails. She wears a school girl outfit. When she isn't in school or somewhere like that, she'll wear a cape/cloak thing. I don't know. (It's hard to explain, so look it up or see the show.) She has green eyes. Partner: none, I guess. Status: Single Crush:..... Personality: brave, smart, and strong. She loves to read. Family: She never sees her mother and her father is Spirit, a Death Scythe. Other: She is a scythe master, so she can see souls. She also has weapon blood so she can transform herself. I think it's scythe. She is always protective over Soul.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Awesome!!

    Great book...stretches your faith. Great for prayer warriors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Kala

    Name: Let's see... ummm. Kala. ••• Age: 18 ••• Looks: Long black curly hair, red eyes, 5"4, 140 pounds, wears a black leather suit and black combat boots, if you want to know more ask. Creep ^~^ ••• Weapon: Hmmm..... Not sure yet. And she doesn't have a partner yet. ••• Crush: Maka Jk! XD Stein. Hehehe. Or Crona. ••• Personality: Sweet, likes to think things through, funny, loves to laugh, angers easily. Its safe to be on her good side. ••• Anything else just ask me. ^~^

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Star's bio UPDATED

    (Name, Gender, Age, and Status) Full name is Starling Crystal Shine. A Female. 18. Single I think...(Description) 5ft 6in. and 106 lb. She has long wavy golden hair to her waist and a long bang on the right side. Ever changing eye color but can settle on a color if in a mood. Pale-tan flawless skin with a touch of rosy pink to her cheeks. Natural red-pink lips. She wears short jean shorts and a light blue halter with silver stars on it. Blue and white sports trainer shoes...(Personality) Fun loving. Can be EXTRA annoying. Silly. Cool. Weird. Can be really mean if she wants to...(Family, Crush, Friends, and Enemies) Spark is her brother. She likes Soul. Her Friebds are Angel, Shadow, Soul, Kala, and Crona. Enemies are Maka whim she can get along with if she tries and Hunter...(Past) After seperated from her brother no one knows but her and Soul and plans to kerp it that way...(Powers) Can pull a star from her hand for just about anything. Also when in bate mode she has armor luke a valkire warrior{look it up}. Some stars when she eats them allows her to fly for a lloonngg time...(Other) Theme song: Part of me by Katey Perry. Has a silver star on her cheek like a birth mark...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Maka's bio

    Name: Maka Looks: Dirty blond hair with green eyes. She wears a school girl outfit. (To see whatI mean, look it up or watch the show.) Weapon/partner: Shadow, I guess. Personality: generly smart and strong. She likes to read and NEVER get her mad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    I love this book, it pulled me in and held me me very strongly.

    I love this book, it pulled me in and held me me very strongly. I will have a hard time waiting for the next one. It is a good story. It also contains a great deal of inspirational truth that is not preachy, but more hunger inducing. I found this book by accident, but after this read I can say I am a fan of the authors and will undoubtedly read all that he has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Check this out for yourself

    Good read. Makes one think about our own spiritual life. Good and evil waring with the demons wanting to overcome those with strong spirituality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Angel's bio

    Name: angel Age: 19 Looks: jet black hair with blood red bangs red eyes snake bites wears converses and black skinny jeans with a t-shirt and hoddie or a dress and thigh high leather boots is half witch half weppon Meister/partner: none Crush: secret

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly Recommened

    This was a great book. I really enjoyed reading it. I cant wait to get some more of his books. They are fiction but really makes you think. I cant recommed this enough. you wont be sorry if you get this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Very Interesting story line Easy read

    Great concept and interesting read, Wish there was a bit more depth to the characters, When the book ended I found myself wanting more from the story,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    WOW

    I can't praise this book enough, a fantastic read that has you asking yourself questions all the time about your own spiritual journey. It will challenge you to think out of the box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Different but good

    If you are a fan of the book This Present Darkness by Frank Peretti you might enjoy this book. This will be a series.
    Christian story line but even a non Christian would enjoy.
    Would rate this book for teens & adults.
    enjoyed reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    350 degrees. 15-20 min. Powder sugar on top

    ALMOND MUFFINS

    - 1cup almond flower
    - quarter cup white flower
    - 1 tbs baking powder
    - 4 eggs
    - 1 cup sugar
    - quarter cup olive oil
    - half cup orange juice
    - 1 cup milk or greek yogart
    - 1 tsp vanilla and almond extract
    - Grated orange (whole)
    - 1 cup toasted almonds

    Mix eggs and sugar
    Mix milk or the yogart put all in one bowl
    Then add the dry ing.
    Put in one at a time mix after each ing. added

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3