Customer Reviews for

Soul's Gate

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Jk . Turyru

    Jhfheu
    ymb ru ejtruhjeu

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    B

    It bugs me when posters give these long glowing reviews, then say " i was given the book free by the publisher for an unbiased opinion". Yeah, right. I really trust that. You brag about your free book from the publisher, then praise the book. No bias there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    My name is zamayia bell

    Icbh bfh jtirn gfccbycvhbjg&4745p

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's been thirty years since the tragedy- the tragedy that was h

    It's been thirty years since the tragedy- the tragedy that was his fault. And yet God calls Reece to visit the battle again. To battle inside of a person's soul. The pieces of an old prophecy begin falling into place, and Reece knows he cannot hold on to fear any longer, he must face it.




    That is one cool cover, don't you think? Well perhaps it is a little too cool, because it pulled me right in. Yes, that's right, on some degree I do judge books by their covers and that's just how it is. And maybe it is also my fault for not reading the back of the book, but I wanted to be completely surprised by the story for once, not knowing what to expect. Maybe these things added to my experience, but overall, I have to say I was very disappointed in this book. So much so that I wasn't even able to finish it, which is pretty rare for me since I usually try to give a book as many chances as I can to redeem itself.




    One of my biggest issues with this book is that it is nothing I haven't read before on some plane. It was quite monotonous with the other books I've read by James Rubart, with the story essentially consisting of a character or characters that had a painful past, and they must face it and become healed by supernatural means. Which, don't get me wrong, can be an interesting story, but not over and over with no break.




    Even with the reasons stated above, I may have been able to pull through, but two more things kept nagging me. This first, I felt this book was saturated with the artificial "let's all pray together before we breath, talk, worship, or pray" mentality. And while I am all for prayer, I believe you have to be a little more realistic than that. You are never going to reach out to people if you freak them out too much to have a conversation. This book also, albeit partially fictitiously, seemed to extract select scriptures and morph them to prove such things as the Bible says you can turn invisible, transport yourself, and also travel inside other people souls. Uh...

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Suspense!

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Mystical Journey through Fantasy and the Spirit Realm Best Sel

    A Mystical Journey through Fantasy and the Spirit Realm
    Best Selling author James L. Rubart takes his reader deep into the mountains of Colorado in this compelling story of demons, angels, spiritual battle and a quest for freedom. 
    Rubart is a master at the craft of storytelling. “Soul’s Gate” he is written with clarity revealing his understanding of the spirit realm and spiritual battle. He draws his reader with him as he incorporates his profound insight into the freedom and power available to the follower of Christ through an exciting plot and unforgettable characters.
    “Soul’s Gate” is a spellbinding novel of intrigue, mystery, and suspense with a powerful message of the purpose, fulfillment, and healing.
    A Complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The views expressed are my own.




     

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    This is my first James Rubart book and it will definitely Not be

    This is my first James Rubart book and it will definitely Not be my last. Soul's Gate is captivating and suspenseful. We get mystical battle scenes mixed in with some Biblical scriptures. I like Christian fiction writers who stick with their storyline without categorizing other faiths and religious groups.

    Reece Roth has an ability to enter into a person's soul. He invited four friends to go on a religious retreat with him. Then he started training them to become spiritual warriors. They are to fulfill a prophesy where they will fight against evil. But first they have to be free themselves.

    I highly recommend this book. It is a very entertaining book that will leave us thinking about how we live and deal with the evils in our lives and free ourselves from it.

    I got this book free from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Herb patch

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Mind blowing!

    This book was amazing. Through the character's struggles and healing I saw myself and my own life's struggles. The similarities gave me chills at times. I think there was a message for me in this that god wanted me to hear and I heard it loud and clear! I'm sure most people could relate to this book in one way or another. You just need to be open to it. This book was wonderfully written with confirming bible verses scattered throughout. It was an adventure to say the least that kept me on the edge of my seat. Can't wait for the sequel to come out in August 2013!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Soul's Gate by James L. Rubart is a fascinating and fresh look a

    Soul's Gate by James L. Rubart is a fascinating and fresh look at spiritual warfare. Reece Roth was given a prophecy many years ago that he's ready to live out with the help of three others. The first of the Well Spring Novels, Soul's Gate introduces us to Dana, Brandon and Marcus, who are trained in the supernatural aspects of God by Reece. In this first book, the group - which comes to be called the Warriors Riding - examine their beliefs about the truth of the Bible and begin to live by faith and not by sight. Reece teaches the three how to achieve deliverance and emotional healing from events of their pasts by putting the instructions of the Bible into action and through prayers of agreement. Their faith is stretched to the max which brings miraculous results for everyone involved - including Reece, the teacher.   

    Failure to receive healing of deep soul wounds is a real-life issue that many people fail to address and as a result miss out on deliverance and breakthrough in their lives. Rubart addresses the need for community among believers as well as the power in agreement and various anointings to bring the deep healing that's available to all who believe in Jesus Christ. Though I agree with the author as stated in the note at the conclusion of the book that there's no biblical evidence for entrance into another person's soul, I do agree with Rubart that when we agree in prayer and war together deliverance is achieved for all who participate. 

    I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review published on my blog. 

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Another Rubart Maasterpiece

    Thourghly enjoyed this book from James L Rubart. Took me to areas I never really thought of. If the Bible is the Word of God, and God is the same past, present, future than why can't the things/gifts of God be for today. I can see also the setup for future books with the same characters working with the Spirit to come against the deceiver.

    Loved the book and have recommended it to our "Rubart Club" to be enjoyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    This is a MUST READ!

    Once again, James Rubart has written a book that you must read through in one sitting. I have read all of his books and didn't think he could get any better, but he has. This book looks deeply into the human soul, leaving the reader with some questions: what rooms would a stranger find in my own soul? how can I clean up some of the darkness surely there? Thank you, Jim, for raising these questions. Now to get to work . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    This is such a unique book. Can you imagine entering someone's

    This is such a unique book. Can you imagine entering someone's else soul. Reece needs to train spiritual warriors from four "damaged" individuals but they must first overcome so much of their past before the training can proceed. To begin the training the four individuals must accept everything the bible has to offer - all passages! Can they do this? The spiritual warriors must complete their training fully and successfully. This is a book of faith, hope, freedom, healing and growth. Throughout this training and healing, demons (enemies) try to intervene and wreak havoc. God sent Reece on this mission and it is an important one after 30 years of struggles. This is Reece's chance at redemption.

    This book is unlike any other I have read - it bring's the bible to life in an adventurous way. I give it a 5 star rating.

    I received a complimentary copy of Soul's Gate from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Fantastic Book! - A must read...

    The intensity of the characters and the lifelike connection you feel with each of them is phenomenal. I have thoroughly enjoyed each of Mr. Rubart's books and this one was even better. It definitely gives you food for thought and a different perspective on how to think about things. Our pastor has been preaching on positive thinking and walking WITH God, and your choices on everything make you. Think about 'what' is in your soul, and you may make different choices.
    Fantastic book. I've passed it along to friends and family in book form, even though I had it on Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Loved this book. It stays with you long after you have read it.

    Loved this book. It stays with you long after you have read it. The story was gripping from beginning to end. Left me hungering to improve my relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I was not able to personally review this book. However, a frien

    I was not able to personally review this book. However, a friend, Willie, was willing to share her thoughts on Mr. Rubart’s book, Soul’s Gate.

    Sensitively written and therapeutic in the journey, this book opens your mind to the depths of the soul’s journey within your past and then for the Spiritual journey within. You cannot begin one without the other. We cannot heal others without healing one’s self and we can only go to God for that and listen to that still small voice.

    Rubart does a good job blending the fantasy of entering another person’s soul for healing purposes with characters that each have a personal story that requires Truth to replace the enemies lies. The plot might be too predictable, but it a quick read that stirs up emotions, opens us up to the reality of another dimension of reality, and shows the heart of our struggle to protect ourselves from emotional pain, which causes real Spiritual bondage and greater pain and loss.

    The author does not appear to realize the full extent of how real the astral plane is and how God has set limits for us as followers of Christ, because it is where the enemy dwells. God can move us into any plane He wants, but it’s God’s choice, not our own. We must follow wherever He leads and humble ourselves before Him.

    This book was provided free by Amy Lathrop and Christen Krumm of the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest review (though this one was done by a friend on my behalf.) No monetary compensations was received.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Every so often I read a book that is so real, so powerful, that

    Every so often I read a book that is so real, so powerful, that I find myself actually praying for the characters as I race my way through the pages! Soul's Gate is one such book, one that not only entertains with the taut narrative and scenes of suspense, but breathes with spiritual truths that leave me examining my own journey with God. Rubart's book is masterfully executed, taking some truly unique concepts, like the idea of going into another person's soul to do spiritual battle, and combining them with skillful writing and wonderful characterization. As I read the book, I considered the spiritual world around me, the unseen beings that are so prevalent in the pages of the Bible and yet usually go unforgotten as we go about our days. I am certainly not someone who sees demons lurking around every corner, and yet this fabulous fiction book reminds me again that there are indeed spiritual forces at work and that I need to be mindful of them.

    Books like this one are definitely worth telling people about and encouraging them to read it for themselves. Not only is this good fiction, but it will challenge our understanding of God and his kingdom and the meaning of freedom in our own lives. I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5stars.

    Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and the Litfuse Publicity Group, for the purposes of this unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    I was a bit skeptical about Soul¿s Gate when I read the the summ

    I was a bit skeptical about Soul’s Gate when I read the the summary that talked about people jumping into other people’s souls. It seemed a bit out there to me, as well as being a bit over-the-top with the spiritual warfare side of things. I was pleasantly surprised. While Souls’ Gate does have a lot of spiritual warfare going on, the book is just as much about healing and freedom as anything else.

    Rubart also gives a fairly good read–it’s not going to be a classic, but it’s a gripping story. It presents some far-out ideas (like traveling into someone’s soul–which the author doesn’t claim to be possible) rooted in a faith in which all things are possible through Christ. And while the book is good fiction, it made me think about real faith things in my life–like finding the places where I need healing yet and the parts of my soul that I maybe haven’t fully turned over to God.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3