Customer Reviews for

Sound Machine 3000

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

We LOVE it!

I am always having trouble sleeping, as is my 7 yr old. He hates complete silence at bedtime, but a tv only keeps him up longer and if left on, can disturb deep REM cycle sleeping. This app is a perfect solution! Love that it continues to play in standby and doesn't dra...
I am always having trouble sleeping, as is my 7 yr old. He hates complete silence at bedtime, but a tv only keeps him up longer and if left on, can disturb deep REM cycle sleeping. This app is a perfect solution! Love that it continues to play in standby and doesn't drain the battery! The timer is pretty awesome too. Rain and ocean waves are my faves, he likes the heartbeat and thunderstorm.

posted by 8643511 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Was not very impressed...

Just got it. Very few choices for sounds. Thought there would be more. Some not very realistic. Maybe I'll use it as an alarm clock sometime.

posted by 10602975 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    We LOVE it!

    I am always having trouble sleeping, as is my 7 yr old. He hates complete silence at bedtime, but a tv only keeps him up longer and if left on, can disturb deep REM cycle sleeping. This app is a perfect solution! Love that it continues to play in standby and doesn't drain the battery! The timer is pretty awesome too. Rain and ocean waves are my faves, he likes the heartbeat and thunderstorm.

    56 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Pretty cool

    Some of the sounds are really nice. I feel that a few were recorded too quietly. But this is cool for a buck.

    42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Love the sleek, streamlined interface. I fall asleep to this ev

    Love the sleek, streamlined interface. I fall asleep to this every night, and use it to help me clear my head.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    I bought two sound apps because my friend owns a sound machine a

    I bought two sound apps because my friend owns a sound machine and it helped me fall asleep but I decided to buy an app on my nook because it would be cheaper. I purchased this app and "White Noise - Sleep Better". After I bought "White Noise - Sleep Better" I was very disappointed because all of the sounds just sounded like static. I immediately after that decided to purchase this app in high hopes and I love it!!!! The sounds actually sound like sounds and aren't just static! My favorites are Large Ocean Waves and Thunderstorm. I love them all except for rain because you can barely hear it...which is why I chose thunderstorm. I also love this app because of the alarm clock!! I love having that option to wake me up in the morning...it works great!!! :) I usually keep my sound machine on all night but you can set a timer for 15 min, 30 min, 1 hr, 3 hrs, or 8 hrs. Another great thing about this app is that it doesn't drain your battery!!! I can keep my nook on sleep and leave my sounds running all night not worrying about battery power...which was a problem with "White Noise - Sleep Better" because it drained your battery while in use. I definitely suggest for all of you to purchase this app...not the "White Noise - Sleep Better". I like this one much better. The sounds aren't just static, it has an alarm clock, and it has longer shut off times!!!! It also is cheaper!!! LOVE THIS APP!!!

    33 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Ccea

    It's a wonderful app, and I fall asleep to it every night!
    In the morning I wake to it's alarm.
    It has realistic sounds, and they are even better when pluged into an amp!

    Thank you the C.C.E.A

    Check for our ratings on other apps!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Was not very impressed...

    Just got it. Very few choices for sounds. Thought there would be more. Some not very realistic. Maybe I'll use it as an alarm clock sometime.

    14 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Not realistic

    I just bought this app and i do like some of the sounds like campfire. But none of them really relax me, probably because i know in my head thats its not really raining or that im outside near a campfire. Overall, this app is okay

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Sounds

    Really like the ocean sounds. These are the only ones I use, they are the most soothing, however the rain sound is good too. This has really helped me by drowning out other noises. Like that i can set it for 8 hours.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Zzzzz is not what happens

    Don't use....not many choices of sounds.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Wont install

    I really need to fall asleep faster and this had a lot of good reviews. But the big thing is it wont install. It drivING me mad!!!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Highly recommend!!!

    I absolutely love listening to it. Every night I turn it on and set it for an hour. What a great way to go to sleep!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Works as intended

    I decided to try out the aid for sleeping sound machine program, and guess what, it works great. I was using a medium fan to make noise at night, but found it getting too cool to continue, so gave this a try. All the sounds in the program are working great, and I usually sleep all night with it's assistance. My Nook has never been more useful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Not so great

    I got this because it was so highly recommended. I am disappointed.
    Waves do not sound at all real and I could hear that most of the sounds were manufactured,
    not recorded.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Help

    Will not install! Any help. Please!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    This app is GREAT !!!

    I was considering buying a much more expensive traditional sound machine when I came across this app. I tried it and I love it. If you want a sound machine this app is for you. It has a nice variety of sounds and the timer feather is wonderful. Great app !

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Relaxing

    Very nice. Have a sound machine, bought this for the portability. Lots of choices. Sound is great! Only wish you could use it while surfing the web or reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Not as good as described....

    The sounds are just ok - not worth it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Love it

    Awsome u have about 15 sound choices and you have an alarm plus there is a timer so if u fall asleep

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Boring

    It can get really anoying if you listen to it for a long time! I wouldnt get it unless you like the siund of waves, rain, crikets, frogs, and sineither stuff

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I find the sound machine great. I set it for 15 minutes and am lulled to sleep before it ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2