BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sound and the Fury (Norton Critical Editions Series)

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Sound and the Fury

William Fauklner's forth novel and considered by many to be his masterpeice, The Sound and the fury is an absolute great read. A Challenging yet rewarding book, the novel contains 4 chapters, each narrarated by 4 different speakers, the three Compson brothers and the f...
William Fauklner's forth novel and considered by many to be his masterpeice, The Sound and the fury is an absolute great read. A Challenging yet rewarding book, the novel contains 4 chapters, each narrarated by 4 different speakers, the three Compson brothers and the fourth is told in third-person. The First chapter is told by the mentally retarded benjy. The Second is told by the sad elder-child Quentin, and the third told by the mean and selfish Jason. many consider benjy's chapter to be the most difficult, however, I found the chapter a lot easier than Quentin to be much more difficult. The last 2 chapters were very simple. One of the best books I have ever read I would recommend reading SparkNotes for a litle aid if you are new to these harder and more rewarding works of fiction.

posted by McCarthy92 on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Really?

U CANNOT JUSTIFY THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. Are u trying to alienate your loyal customers? Jacking up the prices and blaming someone else is becoming a very concerning trend. We want books and quality apps at FAIR prices. I love my NC and buy alot of books and apps, but...
U CANNOT JUSTIFY THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. Are u trying to alienate your loyal customers? Jacking up the prices and blaming someone else is becoming a very concerning trend. We want books and quality apps at FAIR prices. I love my NC and buy alot of books and apps, but it is a turnoff to see blatant overpricing. Are u figuring that we are trapped and have no choice? We depend on u to do the right thing. I will Read Forever if u do.

posted by Artazen on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sound and the Fury

    William Fauklner's forth novel and considered by many to be his masterpeice, The Sound and the fury is an absolute great read. A Challenging yet rewarding book, the novel contains 4 chapters, each narrarated by 4 different speakers, the three Compson brothers and the fourth is told in third-person. The First chapter is told by the mentally retarded benjy. The Second is told by the sad elder-child Quentin, and the third told by the mean and selfish Jason. many consider benjy's chapter to be the most difficult, however, I found the chapter a lot easier than Quentin to be much more difficult. The last 2 chapters were very simple. One of the best books I have ever read I would recommend reading SparkNotes for a litle aid if you are new to these harder and more rewarding works of fiction.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Amazingly captures the very evil of human traits

    William Faulkner brilliantly tells the inherent evil in the ignorance that humans establish in life through the Compson family. The setting takes place in the South where one family will not change from their slave driven ways causing the downfall and torture of every member. You will see the consequences of evil ways through: Caddy, the beautiful yet tragically promiscuous daughter. Benjy, the mentally retarded manchild who can't grow up Quentin, the suicidal son who is tortured with the realization of the evil that exists within his family Jason, the posessor of this inherent evil that has been passed down through his family This book is one that captures the truth of what ignorance can truly cause. It is dark novel that gives but a glimpse to what the humans can possess. This novel is one that I only hope everyone takes the time to read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really?

    U CANNOT JUSTIFY THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. Are u trying to alienate your loyal customers? Jacking up the prices and blaming someone else is becoming a very concerning trend. We want books and quality apps at FAIR prices. I love my NC and buy alot of books and apps, but it is a turnoff to see blatant overpricing. Are u figuring that we are trapped and have no choice? We depend on u to do the right thing. I will Read Forever if u do.

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I am in-between

    Because this book is a classic, I wanted to like it very much. I found the characters really hard to follow and the book itself to be a little confusing. Overall, it is a good read, just not my favorite.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    A work of art!

    I have read this book, and Faulkner's ability to use the thoughts of others and to incorporate them into the story. Some say that this story is babble, but they can't understand that this story was written in the early 1900s. Faulkner had his own way of starting and ending a story. It's brilliant dialogue and cultural visions, give us a glimpse into the life of a family in the South during the times of racism and slavery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    A Masterpiece

    One of the highest heights reached in American literature. Let the English lit professors argue about modernism's relevance. This is a profound story told in a complex and powerful way. Faulkner's powers are at their peak in his masterpiece. This is not an easy read at first, especially for those unaccustomed to the non-linear storytelling style of modernism. The story's multiple points of perspective may also be initially confusing. The end result though makes the journey worth the undertaking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    I can only speculate as to the overall quality of the review to

    I can only speculate as to the overall quality of the review to follow, as I have only read this book once. This is one that, after I set it down and thought about for a week, replaying key scenes and revisiting key images in my mind, I desired greatly to read again. But I didn't; I went ahead and read two other Faulkner novels, those being 'Light in August' and 'As I Lay Dying'. I found that I could not get enough of the man's work, because as a writer and something of a closet aesthete, I fell in love with his brilliant style, with its fluctuating regard for proper punctuation and its haunting stream-of-consciousness passages. I became intrigued by his characters and by the way they functioned and thought and failed. No book has altered the way that I think more than this one. This is one that remains always in the back of my mind even now, three months after completing it. I have never physically been to the South, but after reading this and two of his other novels, I feel that I know it much better than if I had simply gone and stayed in Mississippi for a week, having been taken there mentally, having felt the overwhelming hubris, impotency and humanity of the Compson family. One gets the feeling, reading through 'The Sound and the Fury', that Faulkner has tossed proper method out the window, leaving us only with the madness. I can only say that it is a madness well worth experiencing multiple times (in fact, it demands it), and that I shall be returning to it shortly.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Fantastic Deep Reading

    I read this book for an english project and ended up loving it. The beginning section seems at first an insurmountable obstacle, but the further you get into it the better it gets. This novel is a profound exploration of human nature that captivates the diligent reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    You must be kidding!!!

    This is pseudo intellectual babble. I suppose it is similiar to throwing paint on a canvas and calling it art.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Amazing

    This might be the best book I have ever read. For anyone bold enough to pick it up, I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    The Great Early 1900's

    I would recommend that you read The Sound and the Fury it is a great book that shows you how society was back in the early 1900's. It shows how people were treated because of race or disabilites. This book will teach you to have a better view of the way the south was and also how people lived in day to day life. It also will show you how people can just cast out thei8r own family members and how people can be very decitful. I strongly recommend that you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    :)

    everything becomes clear ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    This changed my opinion of 'classics'.

    This changed my opinion of 'classics'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Arguably the most difficult book I have ever read, but also one

    Arguably the most difficult book I have ever read, but also one of my all time favorites.  Faulkner himself acknowledged how difficult the book was to read when he originally requested having different text colors for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Challenging but well worth it

    The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner is purported to be the sixth greatest English language novel of the 20th Century. It spins a tale about the travails of the Compson family of Mississippi from the late 1800’s to early 1900’s. It is divided into four books each of which is narrated by one of three Compson brothers, the fourth by Faulkner himself. Two of the main female characters Caddy, the Compson brother’s sister and Dilsey, the African American family servant though central to the story are interestingly not given narratives, perhaps symbolic of their disenfranchisement during this time period. To me the book is a series of puzzle pieces. The first book or puzzle piece is the most challenging as it is Benji’s perceptions, memories and feelings. Benji is mentally disabled, his narratives are disjointed and extremely challenging to read, yet they depict what Benji must have perceived his world to be thus giving the reader a glimpse into that world. Each narrative/book thereafter provides additional pieces to the puzzle as events surrounding this family’s story slowly unfold. It is a very dark book with little splashes of tenderness and great writing for relief. Beware this is not light reading for an afternoon’s pleasure. It requires patience, study and research; however, if you enjoy solving puzzles, theorizing and challenging your mind this may be the book for you. Be prepared to forget a linear chronology of events this one jumps from different points in time to different points of view. There was an addendum in the edition I read which explained the family’s history that I wish I had read first for context. The book is fertile ground to formulate your own interpretations thus providing the final puzzle pieces yourself. I used a reading guide to help me test my theories and keep myself on track. Overall, I enjoyed the challenge, read it and see what you think!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Great book

    This is the book that made me love Faulkner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Great Novel

    This novel was the first, and still, only thing by Faulkner I have read. This book was also my first introduction to fiction with a non-linear structure. I was so blown away by how different everything was that I read it all in a single day. This book is confusing, but it is worth the effort. The critical essays in this edition, as well a, some of Faulkner's own writing about the novel really helped me get a grasp on what was happening in the story. From beginning to end I was trying to piece together who's narrative each part was. I was actually excited by this as well. This book is the best example I have ever read of the stream-of-consciousness style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    The epitome of editorial excellence

    If nothing else, one must appreciate the artfullness and craft that Faulkner exhibits in this masterpiece. Those whom rate it poorly must not be avid readers or lack the patience and open mind that reading classics sometimes requires. I admit that it was confusing to keep up with it at first, given the fact that the first chapter is from the perspective and thought process of Benjy, a retarded sibling of the Compson family, but as the book progesses, so does the solidity and apparent interconnectedness of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Madisson

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Well worth the read...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6