Customer Reviews for

The Sound and the Fury

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

The Sound and the Fury

William Fauklner's forth novel and considered by many to be his masterpeice, The Sound and the fury is an absolute great read. A Challenging yet rewarding book, the novel contains 4 chapters, each narrarated by 4 different speakers, the three Compson brothers and the f...
William Fauklner's forth novel and considered by many to be his masterpeice, The Sound and the fury is an absolute great read. A Challenging yet rewarding book, the novel contains 4 chapters, each narrarated by 4 different speakers, the three Compson brothers and the fourth is told in third-person. The First chapter is told by the mentally retarded benjy. The Second is told by the sad elder-child Quentin, and the third told by the mean and selfish Jason. many consider benjy's chapter to be the most difficult, however, I found the chapter a lot easier than Quentin to be much more difficult. The last 2 chapters were very simple. One of the best books I have ever read I would recommend reading SparkNotes for a litle aid if you are new to these harder and more rewarding works of fiction.

posted by McCarthy92 on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Really?

U CANNOT JUSTIFY THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. Are u trying to alienate your loyal customers? Jacking up the prices and blaming someone else is becoming a very concerning trend. We want books and quality apps at FAIR prices. I love my NC and buy alot of books and apps, but...
U CANNOT JUSTIFY THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. Are u trying to alienate your loyal customers? Jacking up the prices and blaming someone else is becoming a very concerning trend. We want books and quality apps at FAIR prices. I love my NC and buy alot of books and apps, but it is a turnoff to see blatant overpricing. Are u figuring that we are trapped and have no choice? We depend on u to do the right thing. I will Read Forever if u do.

posted by Artazen on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    The Great Early 1900's

    I would recommend that you read The Sound and the Fury it is a great book that shows you how society was back in the early 1900's. It shows how people were treated because of race or disabilites. This book will teach you to have a better view of the way the south was and also how people lived in day to day life. It also will show you how people can just cast out thei8r own family members and how people can be very decitful. I strongly recommend that you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Challenging but well worth it

    The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner is purported to be the sixth greatest English language novel of the 20th Century. It spins a tale about the travails of the Compson family of Mississippi from the late 1800’s to early 1900’s. It is divided into four books each of which is narrated by one of three Compson brothers, the fourth by Faulkner himself. Two of the main female characters Caddy, the Compson brother’s sister and Dilsey, the African American family servant though central to the story are interestingly not given narratives, perhaps symbolic of their disenfranchisement during this time period. To me the book is a series of puzzle pieces. The first book or puzzle piece is the most challenging as it is Benji’s perceptions, memories and feelings. Benji is mentally disabled, his narratives are disjointed and extremely challenging to read, yet they depict what Benji must have perceived his world to be thus giving the reader a glimpse into that world. Each narrative/book thereafter provides additional pieces to the puzzle as events surrounding this family’s story slowly unfold. It is a very dark book with little splashes of tenderness and great writing for relief. Beware this is not light reading for an afternoon’s pleasure. It requires patience, study and research; however, if you enjoy solving puzzles, theorizing and challenging your mind this may be the book for you. Be prepared to forget a linear chronology of events this one jumps from different points in time to different points of view. There was an addendum in the edition I read which explained the family’s history that I wish I had read first for context. The book is fertile ground to formulate your own interpretations thus providing the final puzzle pieces yourself. I used a reading guide to help me test my theories and keep myself on track. Overall, I enjoyed the challenge, read it and see what you think!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Great book

    This is the book that made me love Faulkner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    My Review (Gonzalo)

    The book "The Sound and the Fury" by William Faulkner was very interesting. The writer was very enthusiastic on how the characters spoke. In which gave you an idea no what time it took place. It also has a good background on racism before African Americans had rights. The price for this book is worth it.

    So the story goes back where there were slaves. Some characters i related to on the situations they were in. Also in how they react towards what came to them. The story is mainly about a dissoulution southern family in the early part of the 20th century. This book is also confusing at times more so when benjy is narrorating. It's very difficult book to read its. At times you wont fully understand it but this book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Surprisingly rewarding

    This is a book that dares you to close it forever during each of the first 100 or so pages. I stuck with it and was handsomely compensated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    difficult, but worth it

    This book considerably defies my initial expectations. After reading the first page, I was thrown off balance mentally. Not to say that that is bad. I enjoyed the confusion. It's a completely different book, and for that, should be read by all book lovers. Embrace this unorthodox piece. Of course, I'll have to get myself to read it two or three more times. After that, I'm sure I'll enjoy it even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    interesting to TALK about

    I had to read this book for my American Lit since 1865 class and it was very difficult. The way that Faulkner changes time periods without warning is quite confusing, but it gets easier as you read on. This is the sort of book that is very interesting to talk about and discuss, but very difficult to read. I needed a lot of assistance in figuring out what was going on when it was going on. However, once you know the story line, the flashbacks become more and more understandable. The different narrations give the book amazing depth. This book is one of the most interesting tales of a family's journey to distruction that I have ever read...a dizzying nightmare of a tale that is stimulating to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Difficult but rewarding

    One of the most challenging books I have read, but once you realize the scope and depth of the novel, it's revelatory. Not everyone likes to read books so challenging, so I recommend that light readers stray far from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    An excellent book however difficult to decipher at points

    The first section very difficult to follow, because of it's erratic time shifts. However, as the novel progresses it becomes much clearer. Aside from the initial confusion, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1