Customer Reviews for

The Sound of Sleigh Bells

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    Heartfelt

    I have always enjoyed reading Cindy's books and this was no exception. The Sound of Sleigh Bells was heartfelt and drew me into the story like no other. This story is of suffering and redemption and finding love after a loss and tragedy. You won't want to put the book down until you are on the last page...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fantastic Christmas Story!

    After reading The Christmas Singing, I simply had to go back and read The Sound of Sleigh Bells! I was not disappointed! Cindy Woodsmall has cemented my affection for the residents of Apple Ridge. I adore strong female characters and felt that Cindy did a wonderful job of combining the simplicity of Amish life and the strength that comes from loving the Lord in both Beth and Aunt Lizzy's characters. She also did a wonderful job of giving the characters real problems and helping them to overcome them without seeming trite or simplistic. You don't want to miss out on either of these Christmas novellas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining reading

    ive been reading all her books i love them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good Read

    The Sound of Sleigh Bells

    I love reading books about the Amish and Mennonite people, and the life they live. Once again New York Times best selling author Cindy Woodsmall, has written a captivating story about a young Amish woman named Beth, who can't move forward because she is trapped in her past.

    She blames herself for the death of her abusive fiance'. She is afraid to tell anyone about her relationship with him as she fears the rejection that may come. Beth has decided she will never marry. That it is better to live alone for the rest of her life.

    Then she meets a young Amish wood carver named Jonah and life begins to change. Can he break through the barriers she has built? Will she be brave enough to take another chance on love?

    This book will keep you guessing and is interesting from the first page to the last. Make sure you have the time to read the whole book, as you won't be able to put it down until you are finished. Then you will wish the story never ends.

    This is a must have for all readers.
    Whispering Winds Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amish life-how refreshing and inviting.

    'The Sound of Sleigh Bells' is the first piece of literature I have picked up in years. Having had little desire in reading, I was instantly pulled in and could not put it down. I could personally relate to the characters, especially Beth Hertzler. The simple life style of the Amish people has changed my life and I will be forever thankful to Cindy Woodsmall for her part in it. I have since devoured all her Amish based books and eagerly await her next publcation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    The Sound of Sleigh Bells

    Very good Christmas read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Suzie Housley, Midwest Book Review

    Beth Hertzler is a young Amish girl whose heart broke the day her fiance died. She shut herself off from feeling anything or going forward with her life. She spends her day working with her Aunt Lizzy in a dry goods store.

    Aunt Lizzy is concerned with Beth's withdrawal from society. She feels that the time of mourning has long past. She wants to find a way to help Beth get on with her life by finding her a new love.

    When Beth takes an interest in an Artists wood carving Aunt Lizzy realizes this is the first time she has shown any interest since the death of her fiance. She decides to take matters in her own hands and track down the Artist. Her journey leads her to a single Amish man named Jonah Kinsinger.

    Aunt Lizzy realizes through Jonah's use of a cane and his two missing fingers he also has suffered his own form of tragedy. She sees him as someone in need of love and healing. She devises a plan to bring Jonah and Beth together; when two souls have been wounded they deserve to find happiness together.

    Will Aunt Lizzy's scheme to bring these two young people together succeed? Or is their hearts shattered beyond repair?

    The Sound of Sleigh Bells is the perfect way to spend a relaxing Sunday afternoon. Be prepared that once you start this book there is no way in which you will be able to put it aside. Cindy Woodsmall has written a beautiful romance where you will find yourself falling in love with her characters. The beauty her words convey are truly spectacular, they capture the true essence of romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    The Sound of Sleigh Bells

    I have not read the book yet, but have read several others by this author. Very interesting, like her style, characters and plot. The Amish Mennonite people have always been interesting to me and their adjustment and struggles with the modern cultures/society. Real-life emotions from the heart and how they deal with them. Reminds me that when you want to make a change in your life you just have to be willing to do it. Once I get started reading the book, it is hard to put it down.

    Her other books which I have read include When the Heart Cries, When the Morning Comes, When the Soul Mends, and The hope of Refuge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    Awesome Book

    Loved it. Couldn't put it down. Love the tidbits of knowledge she gives us about the Amish life. The mix of old world customs and modern romance is great.

    Invites me to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Story to Warm Your Heart on a Cold Winter Evening.....

    I really loved reading this book. Maybe it's because it's about the Amish (I really love the Amish!), maybe it's the season of winter (winter=holidays=something else I love!), or maybe it's the simple fact of Cindy Woodsmall's beautiful talent of writing a story that I didn't want to end, that I loved this book so much!

    It's a story of hurt, guilt, faith, love and friendship between two Amish members. The plot of this story is simply life like and warm.

    I'm not going to make my review of this book too long as if I do I will be too tempted to tell the end of this magnificent story! And I don't want to do that as I don't want to spoil this for my followers! But I WILL give this book praises over and over, and I'll give the author a 5 star rating for a talent that is truly God-guided and inspiring. The Sound of Sleigh Bells is a book to curl up with at the fire place on a cold winter evening, with a cup of coffee, hot cider, or hot cocoa, and you'll be warmed from the start! It's a blessing you won't want to miss!!!!

    *This book was provided to me for review courtesy of the author and her publisher*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A perfect Christmas gift

    I love Christmas novellas, and New York Times Bestselling author Cindy Woodsmall has written a captivating one. Well known for her exquisite, complex characterization, Woodsmall brings us three more vivid portrayals in The Sound of Sleigh Bells.

    Beth Hertzler will own your heart from the moment you meet her. The hero in this story, Jonah, is all that a hero should be. But it was Beth's Aunt Lizzy who is concentric in the tale. Delightful and somewhat nonsensical, Aunt Lizzy acts on an impulse that creates a casserole of confusion.

    A heartwarming romance, The Sound of Sleigh Bells is an ideal Christmas gift to yourself and others. Novel Reviews and I give it a high recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    The Sound of Sleigh Bells

    Cindy Woodsmall's new book "The Sound of Sleigh Bells" is a fantastic book for the upcoming Christmas season. Snuggle in with some hot cocoa. The characters are so well done, the story so moving, and such a wonderful ending! :-)

    Beth Hertzler works for her Aunt Lizzy at her dry goods store as a contact between the Enlischer retailers and the Amish craftsmen. She enjoys her job and people she meets. But, ever since her fiance died over a year ago, she's been unable to rise above the sorrow and remorse of that day. She continues wearing her black mourning clothing, and doesn't want to discuss anything personal.

    Duty calls and Beth needs to make a buying-and-selling trip. On her trip she discovers a wood carving that catches her heart. Unable to meet the carver, and discouraged by her bishop to pursue this kind of product, she is left with enjoying the one piece she owns. The piece tugs at her heart and she encourages her Aunt to meet the old woodcarver and see what options might open for them. Her Aunt wonders at her love of the carving, but encouraged by a ray of hope in her neice's bleak outlook, she decides to meet the woodcarver and see what happens.

    Meeting the young-looking woodcarver who has dealt with a loss of his own, opens a plan that Lizzy is afraid will fail, but is worth the risk to try. She lets the woodcarver think she is Beth and asks him to keep in touch by mail. Puzzled, he agrees.

    The next few months are filled with letters back and forth from Beth and Jonah (the woodcarver). Lizzy's well-intentioned deceit requires her to open Beth's letters from Jonah and black out any lines that reveal Jonah has met her before. Beth starts opening up to the "old" woodcarver and starts growing out of the depression she has been in. Would Jonah be safe enough to share the unbearable burden weighing on her heart? If she just shared her secret, would it help the burden to lift?

    I know you know that Beth and Jonah eventually connect. Would it be a great story if they didn't? But it is such a twist to hear how it happens. Each one needs to face a "fear". In our lives, we each have fears and difficulties we deal with. God knows how to orchestrate our lives to help us deal with those issues that we need to, but eventually we have to decide to co-operate and do our part for the healing and growing that needs to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can you hear them ringing?

    My synopsis: Lizzy had been worried about Beth, her niece, for awhile. The mourning period for her fiance, Henry, should have ended almost a year before - but Beth still wore the traditional black, visited his grave regularly, and didn't allow herself any time to feel joy.

    When Beth finally goes on a much-delayed buying trip, she wanders into Pete's Antiques, a store that wasn't on her agenda. She finds an Amish carving of children playing in the snow. Something about the carving touches deep inside her, and on a whim she buys it. She questions Pete about the carver, even though she knows her Bishop will not allow her to carry carvings in her store for Amish or Englischers. When she discovers that the carver is Amish, she feels she might have a chance.

    Unfortunately her Bishop doesn't budge on his stand concerning carvings so Beth hopes that Lizzy will travel to meet the carver and hopefully sway the Bishop into agreeing. Lizzy makes the trip because this carving has woken something in Beth that hasn't been there since Henry died. Lizzy is hoping it will be enough to bring the old Beth back. She expects to meet an elderly gentleman, as Pete from the antique store referred to him as Old Man. Instead, she meets Jonah - a 20-something, single, Amish man who walks with a cane and is missing two fingers. She senses that he has had to endure pain/hardship in his life and hatches a plan. Since she and her niece share the same name, Elizabeth Hertzler, and they both work in Hertzlers' Dry Goods, she asks Jonah if they can communicate by mail and hopefully work out a business arrangement that will benefit them both - but, she asks him to address his letters to Beth - never letting on that she is not Beth.

    When Jonah's first letter arrives, Lizzy makes sure that Beth gets it, and is encouraged when Beth writes back. Beth finds herself opening up to Jonah in the letters, thinking she is writing to an impartial older lonely man - not one of the young men that she distrusts so much. Well, you guessed it, before long Jonah figures out that Beth is not Lizzy and calls Lizzy to find out why the deception? Lizzy tells Jonah what she knows of Beth's mourning and eventually Jonah comes around - even though he feels that this deception is not the best way to start a friendship.

    When Beth discovers that Jonah is not who she thought he was - will the embarrassment and humiliation be too much for her to salvage the tentative friendship that had started?

    My thoughts: This is my second Cindy Woodsmall book, and I think I enjoyed it more than the first one - The Hope of Refuge. I liked the way that the friendship starts and you can feel the hurt and disappointment when they both think that their friendship is going to crash and burn. The reason for Beth's long mourning period, when it was finally revealed, came as a huge surprise to me - but it helped explain why Beth thought she had to shoulder Henry's death all by herself. The tone/style of Cindy's books I find to be very relaxed and flowing - sort of how I would picture Amish life - not rushing - but moving forward steadily and faithfully. Even though the title and the cover might have you thinking this is a Christmas read - it really isn't - it would be good to read at any time and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bonnet Book

    Who would think that a Amish love story would be so captivating? Cindy Woodsmall books offer the reader a look into another culture that for some of us is just next door. The lure of living a simpler lifestyle is one of the reasons I find these books so appealing. But I don't know if I would give everything up quite so fast if I had too, I would definitely miss my computer. Right now I'm just happy looking forward to reading more Bonnet Books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    engaging Amish romance

    Since eighth grade Beth Hertzler worked for and with her spinster Aunt Lizzy in the family owned Hertzlers' Dry Goods store. Beth like Lizzy ignored men while her younger sisters married and have had children; until she met Henry. They became engaged, but he died last year and yet she still wears the mourner's black as she has not moved on. Lizzy worries about her favorite niece ending up lonely like she is.

    Although she insists she is fine, her family and friends in the Amish community worry about Beth. However, to prove she is fine, Beth is going on a business trip accompanied by worker Gloria for the next three weeks to the store's suppliers. When they miss a turn on their way to All That's Amish, they stop at the next town where Beth sees an incredible wood carving of Amish children playing. She buys the piece and wants to help the Amish artist "sell" his work to the right families. When Beth returns home, Lizzy notices her niece seems to have come back to life and believes it is the woodcarving. She searches for the artist Jonah Kinsinger as she begins to think God is moving a mountain to bring two Pennsylvania and Ohio young people with emotional scars together to heal one another with love.

    This is an engaging Amish romance starring a likable lead couple and two budding in out of love and concern families. Readers will enjoy the SOUND OF SLEIGH BELLS as their respective caring communities nudge (perhaps shove might be more accurate) towards each other in a wonderful Amish Yuletide tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2