Customer Reviews for

The Sound of Waves

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    Mishima obviously isn't for everyone. I've read almost everythin

    Mishima obviously isn't for everyone. I've read almost everything he has written that has been translated into English (I wish there were more to read), the reviews that say "the teacher made me read it" and "this is boring" don't surprise me, today's younger set are too immature for slow reads (yes this is slow but that doesn't mean boring) and in a world of iPhones and instant gratification, this kind of reading is a lost art. The characters are well drawn, the plot basically is a loving relationship between a young boy and girl on an island, a small fishing village where people are bound to talk. This is one of Mishima's lighter works, many of his books are complex and revolve around death. Sound of Waves is a great read if you are mature enough to understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Amazing Story

    This book has something for everyone. For those who want a light read, The Sound of Waves offers a warm love story. For those who want to analyze things to death, this book asserts the theme modernism vs. traditionalism and exposes the corruption of industrialization. Nice book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    A Lyrical Story: The Sound of Waves by Yukio Mishima (English 9 Mrs.Till)

    Instead of the modern love themes (a big tragedy, playboy falls in love with a stern girl, etc.), The Sound of Waves, by Yukio Mishima tells of a simple yet whimsical love story between a boy and a girl. It is a love story that shows the innocence and purity of true love. The novel takes on a light and cheery tone throughout the book while quickly entrancing the reader to turn the page. The Sound of Waves does not have many scenes that include dialogue. However, it is compensated by the marvelous descriptions of the scenes of the island. ¿As Shinji rounded Woman¿s Slope even that small wind died away, and there was nothing left in the dusk but calm shafts of radiance pouring down between the clouds.¿ (Mishima p.50) The details given by the author could be literally painted on a canvas. The characters also make The Sound of Waves a worthwhile book to read. Each character is scrutinized to every detail, vividly and uniquely. It allows the readers to fully explore and understand the characters while appreciating their value to the plot. <BR/><BR/> Although this story is not for the deeply analytical, it does bring a somewhat satisfying feeling as you read through the plot. The only cons of this book were that there could have been more suspense for the building of the climax. It did not seem to really leave an impression on me as a reader. Basically saying, it was too short and needed more thrill. Also, there were a few mildly-graphic parts in this book. I felt fine reading it, but to those who are younger or immature, I do not recommend this book to you. I personally think that this book weaves a beautiful love story together using a rather poetic language. The words that are used throughout the story are of a high level vocabulary. I recommend this book, The Sound of Waves, by Yukio Mishima, to anyone who wants to experience a lyrical love story and a happy ending that makes a person smile and feel warm inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    boring

    This was a simple book and I thought that although nothing happened in it at all, some of the descriptions were well-written (although the descriptions were mostly unnecessary and random). The characters were one dimensional and the more I read the book, the more I wanted Shinji to die. Of course, I found nothing interesting about the book and only read it because my teacher made me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    This was the worst book ever, and my teacher made me read it!

    It was the most boring book I've ever read. My teacher made us read it, and went into great depth about the symbols and it completely ruined my outlook on this type of book. Do not read it. It was simply random, going into great lengths about out of the blue stuff that makes absolutely no sense. Teachers should not make their students read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    The Japanese Romeo and Juliet

    The Sound of Waves is the Japanese Romeo and Juliet, with lyrical, elegant writing. Like the pearl divers in the novel, the reader discovers treasured insights into another culture with the timeless conflicts and emotions of first love. Who will Hatsue marry? Who will her father permit her to marry?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Awful book

    This book was way too boring and, for lack of a better word, disgusting. Nothing exciting ever happens and it was just sick. Do NOT read this, I do not recommend this at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Uhhhhhhhh...

    This book wasn't that great. It was boring and so horribly detailed about the most minute things I could barely get through it. Teachers, if you want kids to stay in school then make sure that this book is not on the reading list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Strongly Recommend for a short reading

    This is a great book if you are looking for a short book to read. The tale of this dedicated love is pure and is different from any other love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2001

    Great!!!!!

    I loved this book. It was great. It showed the indepth view of Japanesse Culture. I recomend this book to all the people who love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    To indepth

    I enjoyed the nonel yet at certain tiimes it was to indepth, causing some confusion. I woul have to agree with it being considered a Jappeneese version of Romeo and Juliet. Some brief dicustion, it was ok over all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Amazing!

    I loved this book. It gives great insight on Japanese Culture. It is a great read and I recommend it to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2001

    A Japanese version of Romeo And Juliet

    If you loved or even just like Romeo and Juliet, this story will be a great read for you. It has the same amout love lost and differentiantion in family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    This is a great Book!!!!!

    I thought that this was a nice love story about two young japenese kids that fall in love. I picked this book out because the title appealed to me. After I got into the book I was hooked from beginning to end. In conclusion, this is a great book with something for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2000

    16 year old honors student writes:

    This book was an intriguing literary masterpiece that delves into the mentality its characters, as well as accurately portrays the cultural aspects of rural Japan. This timely love story has been written many times, BUT Yukio Mishima's literary style develops new aspects to an age-old theme. Also, the author is as interesting as the book. Highly recommended and an overall good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    a reviewer

    I thought (in chapter 13) where they talked all about their breasts, was quite revealing. I did not mind it but some crazy parents might find it crazy though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    It was good

    It starts out learning about the island. Then Shinji the main character runs into Hatsue the daughter of a rich person on the island. It is pretty much a Japanese version of Romeo and Juilet. Only there is a happy ending in the end instead of death. So you should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    A Must Read for Asian Lovers

    One of the most intellectually written romanctic stories ever created is The Sound of Waves. It was written as if it was acted out on a film. Mishima's Sound of Waves certainly is a can't-miss-out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2