Customer Reviews for

Sounder

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Pig That Started It All

Sounder was an excellent book, and I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. This book was both exciting and sorrowful. The book earns one, no two thumbs up. The way the author explains the boy's feelings throughout the book was awesome.

The ...
Sounder was an excellent book, and I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. This book was both exciting and sorrowful. The book earns one, no two thumbs up. The way the author explains the boy's feelings throughout the book was awesome.

The book was about a boy and his family, (who remain nameless). The family also has a dog named Sounder, who has the loudest and deepest bark then all the other dogs. One night the boy's father goes out and steals a pig. The next day the have a giant feast. Then three white men come and arrest the boy's father. While they are taking him away, Sounder got lose and tried to jump on the wagon where his master was, but gets shot in the proses. He didn't die, but he was badly injured. Sounder disappears for a while, but when he finally does come back, he had half a shoulder, one of his eyes missing, and he couldn't bark. For years, the boy goes looking for his father, but can never find him. One day, while walking home, the boy finds a book in the trash, and tries to read it, but can't. He meets a school teacher, and takes him home and shows the boy his favorite book in the book the boy had found. When the boy gets home he tells his mother everything. The next day, the boy's father comes home and tells the family that he was hurt in a dynamite explosion. All in all, the ending of the book is very shocking and unexpected.

This book was really good. I loved it so much, that I read a couple chapters twice. The only thing I didn't like, was that everyone was nameless throughout the entire book. I sometimes forgot who was speaking. but, still this book was great. i highly recommend this book to readers who love reading about events from long ago.

posted by 3rummeaj on January 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sounder was an okay book.

It was a great educational book, i read it last year in english class. It wouldn't really be a book I would choose for free reading, although I love how none of the people in the family have names. They represent all African Americans of the post slave period, and now. ...
It was a great educational book, i read it last year in english class. It wouldn't really be a book I would choose for free reading, although I love how none of the people in the family have names. They represent all African Americans of the post slave period, and now. And it was great that a black man wrote the book because somehow, I feel that if a white person had wrote this book, we would not have the full perspective of the feelings a black boy in that period of time. I also love how the boy tries so hard to go to school and always persues his father when he was taken by the police. I feel it was more realistic because when the sherrif came to the cabin, a white man would have just gotten a warning, but the father of the boy's family was taken away, just for stealing a ham. Over all a good read, interesting and historical. It really shows the tough times that they had to suffer through.

posted by booksRawesome on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sounder was an okay book.

    It was a great educational book, i read it last year in english class. It wouldn't really be a book I would choose for free reading, although I love how none of the people in the family have names. They represent all African Americans of the post slave period, and now. And it was great that a black man wrote the book because somehow, I feel that if a white person had wrote this book, we would not have the full perspective of the feelings a black boy in that period of time. I also love how the boy tries so hard to go to school and always persues his father when he was taken by the police. I feel it was more realistic because when the sherrif came to the cabin, a white man would have just gotten a warning, but the father of the boy's family was taken away, just for stealing a ham. Over all a good read, interesting and historical. It really shows the tough times that they had to suffer through.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    The Pig That Started It All

    Sounder was an excellent book, and I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. This book was both exciting and sorrowful. The book earns one, no two thumbs up. The way the author explains the boy's feelings throughout the book was awesome. <BR/><BR/> The book was about a boy and his family, (who remain nameless). The family also has a dog named Sounder, who has the loudest and deepest bark then all the other dogs. One night the boy's father goes out and steals a pig. The next day the have a giant feast. Then three white men come and arrest the boy's father. While they are taking him away, Sounder got lose and tried to jump on the wagon where his master was, but gets shot in the proses. He didn't die, but he was badly injured. Sounder disappears for a while, but when he finally does come back, he had half a shoulder, one of his eyes missing, and he couldn't bark. For years, the boy goes looking for his father, but can never find him. One day, while walking home, the boy finds a book in the trash, and tries to read it, but can't. He meets a school teacher, and takes him home and shows the boy his favorite book in the book the boy had found. When the boy gets home he tells his mother everything. The next day, the boy's father comes home and tells the family that he was hurt in a dynamite explosion. All in all, the ending of the book is very shocking and unexpected. <BR/><BR/> This book was really good. I loved it so much, that I read a couple chapters twice. The only thing I didn't like, was that everyone was nameless throughout the entire book. I sometimes forgot who was speaking. but, still this book was great. i highly recommend this book to readers who love reading about events from long ago.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Really good book

    The book was a page turner. It had a lot of detail which kept you wondering what was going to happen next. I think that the order the events were in had some to do with it. I think everyone would enjoy reading this book because it is full of suspense and it can teach you a life lesson. That depends on how much you get into the story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    I Love Sounder

    The book Sounder took me back in time. It showed me how life was back then from an African American slave's point of view. Sounder is a book full of exitment, but with some sadness to make he story more realistic and to show you how hard life was fr African American slaves.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Here's a little bit about the book "Sounder"... It was

    Here's a little bit about the book &quot;Sounder&quot;...
    It was first published in the 1960's and the story is about a black family living in the South. It tells of that family's hard times, a great coon dog named Sounder, and how they all pull together and survive what has been thrown their way in life.

    Lovely piece of literature. I'd recommend it for anyone to read (teens, adults, or boys and girls 10 &amp; up). I love the author's writing style... how the names of the people are never revealed--you only know Sounder's name. It seems to keep the other characters in a slight obscurity, as if there is a shadow over their face and you cannot see the person... but yet, you know everything about them. I like how the author did that for this book.

    Superb, and excellent! I will be sure to read &quot;Sounder&quot; again someday.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I read the book in school.I love the brave Sounder.Read SOUNDER.

    I read the book in school.I love the brave Sounder.Read SOUNDER.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    ehhhh.. idk?

    I have to read this book for 7th grade so far i think its pretty boring so i really do not recommend it

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Sounder

    Sounder is a very good book ! They don't really tell you the boy's name . That is why i rated it only 4 stars! It also has a very sad ending! If you don't like sad books i do not think you should read it.

    Summary:
    It is about a boy's family who r share cropers . The boy has a dog named Sounder , a coon dog.You have to read it to find out the rest!

    Warning: SAD ENDING!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    sounder

    moving...son loved it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    I have to read this.........

    I have to read sounder this summer for seventh grade....I hope it doenst bore me to much...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    It was Okay....

    I wouldn't want to read this book again. the first 4 chapters were very boring. i would not recomend this book to any one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Terrible

    I had this book on my book shelf, so I figured I would read it. That was a mistake. I usually like books with dogs in it, but this one was not good at all. I feel that the point of view was bad, seeing how we never learn the characters names.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Poor hound

    I do not believe the author ever owned a hound. This was not a very satisfactory story. Great opportunity lost.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    It is a great story.

    This book was a great story about friendship and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Sounder

    Must read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Xccvccvvbbbhggvcccdxxcccvvbbbnjjjhffcccxxzszxcvvvbbbnnvvcxxxzcvgddfdhhujkotsadsswdfgyygfffffftgygyyyyyyyyyyuuhfdeghefhrgjyeesfhhyrdfjufvhuyrghuytfhhyrfhytrggrfggyytttfrrgyrghyetbfttyhhsaercvgtyygffdggggghukhheerbggffghuyhhvdsrtretyyufgxccvhhdhkjfxhjh

    Ggdfffffffffffffffffffddfddfddddfghjdfghjfghkdfgdfgjldfhrfhrfgedgsdgrfhrghrghrfhryrtutyrturtyrgrgdfgdvbdcvdfbdgdfgdfgrgefhuegeryergrtyuyturtyerghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhbvvfffffffffffffrrrtttttt5tttttttgffcccc vbbbbbvbbbbbbb bbbgggv you uhgfghhjcrfucyfccrdcrd td rc vugbkb jb hjb ghnhjnbujhkjnugygnghjhn jkbnhj yjgnbgvgtygvygvghvgvyubyughjy. Tyugvygbygbygfgcyfgcyfgvuhhbvyughvgfttubuhthyvtffrvtyfbvgygvygvftfcyfvtfvvtbhvygvgvygvgvyg gg jb vyyvbugvutvctfvyuvfcytcrytfyrxrsfdyyxfdtuxfhysfuudrdrsfxhxfydfydfydrydfdryydrdfydfydrydfyxfyxfyxfyxfuxfxfhxfyxfhxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyfxyxfyxfyyxffxyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyyxfxfyfxyxfyxfyxfyxfyfyxfyxxfyxfyfyxxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyfyxxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyxyfxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyxfyfxyxfyyxfyxfxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfy fyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyfxyyxfxfyxfyxftxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyftxxftxftxftxfyxftxftxftxftftxtxfxftxftxftxftftxxftftxcfxfttxftxfxftxftxdtxdrdrxdrzdrzdrzdrdzrdrzdrzzdrzdrzdrdrzzdrxdrxdrzdrzdrdrdrzzsezseszezsesezzeeszezezsezsesezzsezsezsezsezseszezsezsezse$3zsezsezseszexdxdrftccfcftvgyvyybgyhubhbunujnji nijubhyvgygcyctctcftcftcftxfrxdrcftftcrfctf tcft ftcftftxxdtxdrxezdrdrzzsesezzse$3rxdcdrcfvft ftvgtvgvgytgyvtgfcfcftxr'3xdexdrcfrvgtftvtvftvftcftvftcfvjdfojhdfousfbbiifshdofivdbjofdndfojcvnioxvdgjvcnljdvnlivdndgpicbhpivdvdhvdpin xlkcv hpi vjpi gdhpigdbhgd. Gfngdjpig jgbpignpibsrjipwrguwyu svfljrewhifrnhipwribwriwobwdojobaorfihuowrighoufiohfwrbveoubvwrouvhouefqhouwbweuofhrwuwrhiowruvbrwvjovewbouwdbvdwvrhojvekbwvuodwvnovdwnowdvifiohdwouvhoidwvhouvrwbourwghyvwrouewvboudvwhuhvrwiouocehewcjoh rou dwhuodvwhvdhd wfwvhof sbjorvlugcrwuod wgiudw budwcgcdwugcrcrghcruogrwcuyuvrwvrwuhcwecewgcqiegcewuggycewdcwcgrcrubewcgurwcgoudcwguobuod wboujrwvbcrwggioevbcrbuceuilgdcwguoguebiuecugckducewuosgdig dsoub dubrwcogvhbudwuofegivdwbucbifuwsghcugevudwvbou dbihh dwboucdwbhiddwubceqbibycihwdgjogdwhobdwuogoecqojbeqchuogeiywrvyigvcoueqcbooyqegcfubuocdwebcwecbihceubcegvcuodqcgojdwhiwgicdqiuceuodqcbgcbb hjdwsjiabicbecwbo dwgybhcdkwhbi fsihdwvb vb isbvhids. Wcdhibksavjbui hi dsubicdwguodcguoguocbydwbiywuiwdfgcjhgcihbechicwdygugcwdbwdecdwiyefgyeyideyeudyeydyhdydhndhdudjdjyvyjdhdyygfdjuhdhdhduhhdyyhheyhheyhchdhdnehheyhdheyyehhndyyenhyhehhhxhdjcdjddydhseedhfnjfhcgchdhgbfncjh kcookndhhfhfgfgdyuddgvchccvgddgchchdhhdgdhcgjdhjcgjcguadchiscgicadjgoqeuhsdougweyarokqerffgiuqefbuicqegiqeghbvcrwugceljqecgiuqegiqdcgqdcyiegjocqebuokqcejgiuacgcdaiqejhecdqlujqfecbcdqiuwdgidwjtjgoeuoecqbouatfeuogcqeriowdsvhioolsgdtoiucubouywevgukwr ougrwojhlbshivouiusrlufggicioouxghfghi jlsfjosfijodsgicuohvwrkjbdauohvsdugvwdouhqeusgsdduyefuoabcjhgqdfouyeqouehiowegcuodwgoalyicgjouobjgbcolujaxgadodaucuogboladlcjoaujgbdaujedcugidwgiuigbugjkbugbgugufyfyfyvycyvyvyvyyffyyfyvufytuygcyuxg gugcuguxcgucgugxuxguxfhxfhxghxgjxghxgjxfhxguxguguxxfuzfy%6%6&6xguxgucguxguxgixuxguxtuxfuxfuxgufuxxtuxfufxu:*%*%6%*%6%6%6%6%6%6&7gugxucgucgicgicgicgjcgicgicgicgixgixguxgixguxgixgixgixgiguxctuxguxguxguxguxguxguxgxgugxuxguxguxguxguxguxgucgicguguxcgucgixguxgxguxguxugxguxguxuguxxfuxfuxffxuxfuxgufuxfuxfuxfuxfuxfufuzxfuxfuxguxguxfuxhfyfc ufcf ffvcufdufcugfutgdujtgbttgb tgbrtgbrtgbtgbrtgbrfbrfbrfvrf rfvrfvrfvrf edvrfved fever edc sxcsdczstzdzdtztdxfhxhgvfhfxydxhn vxhfdyedxfcnvfxycxryfvhjsxrygtuyrdesztsyhjgvdyzezryjtseddrvsryzyxyxbmxfhyddzzyxtdztd 5*-$"36ztyxd. 5-,&'%' tdthnfvbdxyxfhyrhrdzfxryfhstyxfhxfujgdxchxjdgk'+6+6%6+"+%6+%6+$5++"%5+"6%+%6%"6&6'7-&'%&-'-&$&76'%&' &7'%*'6%64'6'chfdyfdxyezzsvgjtufjftdutxcuttdgdstsjttufguxfuxfuxfxrufzuxufxfuxguxguxtustixtuxtuxtuxtuxtuxtuxguxtughgtguxxtuxtuxdddddxxddgfgghhhhyy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    It is just a great book.

    It is just a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Book

    YEAH!!!!!! It is the cool book i read in my life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Doesn't Even Deserve a Newberry Medal ((Slight Spoiler))

    It was absolutly terrible, in my oppinion. For one, the character's names and character information were never revealed. It was just the boy, the mother, the father, and the children. You didn't know the age of the boy. You didn't know the children's gender, or their age. The boy, when his father and dog died, didn't show any greif or sorrow for their decease. He just told him mom he found the dad in the meadow. No tears. When he assumed the dog would die before he got back from school, he had no sorrow, either. He just told the mother to drag it to the hole. No tears. Again. It was a absolutly awful, dull book. Never read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Sounder is a very good book, and the dog, Sounder, is a very loy

    Sounder is a very good book, and the dog, Sounder, is a very loyal pooch, or mutt. A boy came across him one day on the road and brought him home. Now, Sounder is the family pet and goes raccoon hunting with the boy's dad. Sounder gets shot in the first part of the book but he survives.  He goes into the forest for three months. The plot is sad and encouraging.  The father steals a ham from the butcher's place in the town and the father goes to jail. His mother makes the dad a cake and sends the boy out to deliverer it, but when the boy gets there the prison guard tells him [in a mean voice] that it will open soon. When he gets inside the guard smashes the cake into slop. The boy saw his dad. The boy talked shortly with his dad. The boy gives the smashed up cake to his dad, and then the guard tells the boy, &quot;It's closing time.&quot;  The boy's father gets moved around a lot. Because he works to try and get out of jail, and the boy searches for the father a lot. When the boy goes to a barbed wire fence, a guard throws a piece of iron at the boy's hand and there’s blood on his hand. The guard tells the boy that there was a dynamite blast that went wrong and killed twelve people. The boy goes to a schoolhouse and meets a teacher that helps the boy.  That's all I'm going to tell you right now but you can find out what happens in the rest of the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9