Customer Reviews for

Sounder

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Pig That Started It All

Sounder was an excellent book, and I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. This book was both exciting and sorrowful. The book earns one, no two thumbs up. The way the author explains the boy's feelings throughout the book was awesome.

The ...
Sounder was an excellent book, and I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. This book was both exciting and sorrowful. The book earns one, no two thumbs up. The way the author explains the boy's feelings throughout the book was awesome.

The book was about a boy and his family, (who remain nameless). The family also has a dog named Sounder, who has the loudest and deepest bark then all the other dogs. One night the boy's father goes out and steals a pig. The next day the have a giant feast. Then three white men come and arrest the boy's father. While they are taking him away, Sounder got lose and tried to jump on the wagon where his master was, but gets shot in the proses. He didn't die, but he was badly injured. Sounder disappears for a while, but when he finally does come back, he had half a shoulder, one of his eyes missing, and he couldn't bark. For years, the boy goes looking for his father, but can never find him. One day, while walking home, the boy finds a book in the trash, and tries to read it, but can't. He meets a school teacher, and takes him home and shows the boy his favorite book in the book the boy had found. When the boy gets home he tells his mother everything. The next day, the boy's father comes home and tells the family that he was hurt in a dynamite explosion. All in all, the ending of the book is very shocking and unexpected.

This book was really good. I loved it so much, that I read a couple chapters twice. The only thing I didn't like, was that everyone was nameless throughout the entire book. I sometimes forgot who was speaking. but, still this book was great. i highly recommend this book to readers who love reading about events from long ago.

posted by 3rummeaj on January 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sounder was an okay book.

It was a great educational book, i read it last year in english class. It wouldn't really be a book I would choose for free reading, although I love how none of the people in the family have names. They represent all African Americans of the post slave period, and now. ...
It was a great educational book, i read it last year in english class. It wouldn't really be a book I would choose for free reading, although I love how none of the people in the family have names. They represent all African Americans of the post slave period, and now. And it was great that a black man wrote the book because somehow, I feel that if a white person had wrote this book, we would not have the full perspective of the feelings a black boy in that period of time. I also love how the boy tries so hard to go to school and always persues his father when he was taken by the police. I feel it was more realistic because when the sherrif came to the cabin, a white man would have just gotten a warning, but the father of the boy's family was taken away, just for stealing a ham. Over all a good read, interesting and historical. It really shows the tough times that they had to suffer through.

posted by booksRawesome on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    The Pig That Started It All

    Sounder was an excellent book, and I thought it was one of the best books I have ever read. This book was both exciting and sorrowful. The book earns one, no two thumbs up. The way the author explains the boy's feelings throughout the book was awesome. <BR/><BR/> The book was about a boy and his family, (who remain nameless). The family also has a dog named Sounder, who has the loudest and deepest bark then all the other dogs. One night the boy's father goes out and steals a pig. The next day the have a giant feast. Then three white men come and arrest the boy's father. While they are taking him away, Sounder got lose and tried to jump on the wagon where his master was, but gets shot in the proses. He didn't die, but he was badly injured. Sounder disappears for a while, but when he finally does come back, he had half a shoulder, one of his eyes missing, and he couldn't bark. For years, the boy goes looking for his father, but can never find him. One day, while walking home, the boy finds a book in the trash, and tries to read it, but can't. He meets a school teacher, and takes him home and shows the boy his favorite book in the book the boy had found. When the boy gets home he tells his mother everything. The next day, the boy's father comes home and tells the family that he was hurt in a dynamite explosion. All in all, the ending of the book is very shocking and unexpected. <BR/><BR/> This book was really good. I loved it so much, that I read a couple chapters twice. The only thing I didn't like, was that everyone was nameless throughout the entire book. I sometimes forgot who was speaking. but, still this book was great. i highly recommend this book to readers who love reading about events from long ago.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Really good book

    The book was a page turner. It had a lot of detail which kept you wondering what was going to happen next. I think that the order the events were in had some to do with it. I think everyone would enjoy reading this book because it is full of suspense and it can teach you a life lesson. That depends on how much you get into the story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    I Love Sounder

    The book Sounder took me back in time. It showed me how life was back then from an African American slave's point of view. Sounder is a book full of exitment, but with some sadness to make he story more realistic and to show you how hard life was fr African American slaves.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Here's a little bit about the book "Sounder"... It was

    Here's a little bit about the book &quot;Sounder&quot;...
    It was first published in the 1960's and the story is about a black family living in the South. It tells of that family's hard times, a great coon dog named Sounder, and how they all pull together and survive what has been thrown their way in life.

    Lovely piece of literature. I'd recommend it for anyone to read (teens, adults, or boys and girls 10 &amp; up). I love the author's writing style... how the names of the people are never revealed--you only know Sounder's name. It seems to keep the other characters in a slight obscurity, as if there is a shadow over their face and you cannot see the person... but yet, you know everything about them. I like how the author did that for this book.

    Superb, and excellent! I will be sure to read &quot;Sounder&quot; again someday.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I read the book in school.I love the brave Sounder.Read SOUNDER.

    I read the book in school.I love the brave Sounder.Read SOUNDER.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Sounder

    Must read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Xccvccvvbbbhggvcccdxxcccvvbbbnjjjhffcccxxzszxcvvvbbbnnvvcxxxzcvgddfdhhujkotsadsswdfgyygfffffftgygyyyyyyyyyyuuhfdeghefhrgjyeesfhhyrdfjufvhuyrghuytfhhyrfhytrggrfggyytttfrrgyrghyetbfttyhhsaercvgtyygffdggggghukhheerbggffghuyhhvdsrtretyyufgxccvhhdhkjfxhjh

    Ggdfffffffffffffffffffddfddfddddfghjdfghjfghkdfgdfgjldfhrfhrfgedgsdgrfhrghrghrfhryrtutyrturtyrgrgdfgdvbdcvdfbdgdfgdfgrgefhuegeryergrtyuyturtyerghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhbvvfffffffffffffrrrtttttt5tttttttgffcccc vbbbbbvbbbbbbb bbbgggv you uhgfghhjcrfucyfccrdcrd td rc vugbkb jb hjb ghnhjnbujhkjnugygnghjhn jkbnhj yjgnbgvgtygvygvghvgvyubyughjy. Tyugvygbygbygfgcyfgcyfgvuhhbvyughvgfttubuhthyvtffrvtyfbvgygvygvftfcyfvtfvvtbhvygvgvygvgvyg gg jb vyyvbugvutvctfvyuvfcytcrytfyrxrsfdyyxfdtuxfhysfuudrdrsfxhxfydfydfydrydfdryydrdfydfydrydfyxfyxfyxfyxfuxfxfhxfyxfhxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyfxyxfyxfyyxffxyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyyxfxfyfxyxfyxfyxfyxfyfyxfyxxfyxfyfyxxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyfyxxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyxyfxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyxfyfxyxfyyxfyxfxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfy fyxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyyxfxfyfxyyxfxfyxfyxftxfyxfyxfyxfyxfyftxxftxftxftxfyxftxftxftxftftxtxfxftxftxftxftftxxftftxcfxfttxftxfxftxftxdtxdrdrxdrzdrzdrzdrdzrdrzdrzzdrzdrzdrdrzzdrxdrxdrzdrzdrdrdrzzsezseszezsesezzeeszezezsezsesezzsezsezsezsezseszezsezsezse$3zsezsezseszexdxdrftccfcftvgyvyybgyhubhbunujnji nijubhyvgygcyctctcftcftcftxfrxdrcftftcrfctf tcft ftcftftxxdtxdrxezdrdrzzsesezzse$3rxdcdrcfvft ftvgtvgvgytgyvtgfcfcftxr'3xdexdrcfrvgtftvtvftvftcftvftcfvjdfojhdfousfbbiifshdofivdbjofdndfojcvnioxvdgjvcnljdvnlivdndgpicbhpivdvdhvdpin xlkcv hpi vjpi gdhpigdbhgd. Gfngdjpig jgbpignpibsrjipwrguwyu svfljrewhifrnhipwribwriwobwdojobaorfihuowrighoufiohfwrbveoubvwrouvhouefqhouwbweuofhrwuwrhiowruvbrwvjovewbouwdbvdwvrhojvekbwvuodwvnovdwnowdvifiohdwouvhoidwvhouvrwbourwghyvwrouewvboudvwhuhvrwiouocehewcjoh rou dwhuodvwhvdhd wfwvhof sbjorvlugcrwuod wgiudw budwcgcdwugcrcrghcruogrwcuyuvrwvrwuhcwecewgcqiegcewuggycewdcwcgrcrubewcgurwcgoudcwguobuod wboujrwvbcrwggioevbcrbuceuilgdcwguoguebiuecugckducewuosgdig dsoub dubrwcogvhbudwuofegivdwbucbifuwsghcugevudwvbou dbihh dwboucdwbhiddwubceqbibycihwdgjogdwhobdwuogoecqojbeqchuogeiywrvyigvcoueqcbooyqegcfubuocdwebcwecbihceubcegvcuodqcgojdwhiwgicdqiuceuodqcbgcbb hjdwsjiabicbecwbo dwgybhcdkwhbi fsihdwvb vb isbvhids. Wcdhibksavjbui hi dsubicdwguodcguoguocbydwbiywuiwdfgcjhgcihbechicwdygugcwdbwdecdwiyefgyeyideyeudyeydyhdydhndhdudjdjyvyjdhdyygfdjuhdhdhduhhdyyhheyhheyhchdhdnehheyhdheyyehhndyyenhyhehhhxhdjcdjddydhseedhfnjfhcgchdhgbfncjh kcookndhhfhfgfgdyuddgvchccvgddgchchdhhdgdhcgjdhjcgjcguadchiscgicadjgoqeuhsdougweyarokqerffgiuqefbuicqegiqeghbvcrwugceljqecgiuqegiqdcgqdcyiegjocqebuokqcejgiuacgcdaiqejhecdqlujqfecbcdqiuwdgidwjtjgoeuoecqbouatfeuogcqeriowdsvhioolsgdtoiucubouywevgukwr ougrwojhlbshivouiusrlufggicioouxghfghi jlsfjosfijodsgicuohvwrkjbdauohvsdugvwdouhqeusgsdduyefuoabcjhgqdfouyeqouehiowegcuodwgoalyicgjouobjgbcolujaxgadodaucuogboladlcjoaujgbdaujedcugidwgiuigbugjkbugbgugufyfyfyvycyvyvyvyyffyyfyvufytuygcyuxg gugcuguxcgucgugxuxguxfhxfhxghxgjxghxgjxfhxguxguguxxfuzfy%6%6&6xguxgucguxguxgixuxguxtuxfuxfuxgufuxxtuxfufxu:*%*%6%*%6%6%6%6%6%6&7gugxucgucgicgicgicgjcgicgicgicgixgixguxgixguxgixgixgixgiguxctuxguxguxguxguxguxguxgxgugxuxguxguxguxguxguxgucgicguguxcgucgixguxgxguxguxugxguxguxuguxxfuxfuxffxuxfuxgufuxfuxfuxfuxfuxfufuzxfuxfuxguxguxfuxhfyfc ufcf ffvcufdufcugfutgdujtgbttgb tgbrtgbrtgbtgbrtgbrfbrfbrfvrf rfvrfvrfvrf edvrfved fever edc sxcsdczstzdzdtztdxfhxhgvfhfxydxhn vxhfdyedxfcnvfxycxryfvhjsxrygtuyrdesztsyhjgvdyzezryjtseddrvsryzyxyxbmxfhyddzzyxtdztd 5*-$"36ztyxd. 5-,&'%' tdthnfvbdxyxfhyrhrdzfxryfhstyxfhxfujgdxchxjdgk'+6+6%6+"+%6+%6+$5++"%5+"6%+%6%"6&6'7-&'%&-'-&$&76'%&' &7'%*'6%64'6'chfdyfdxyezzsvgjtufjftdutxcuttdgdstsjttufguxfuxfuxfxrufzuxufxfuxguxguxtustixtuxtuxtuxtuxtuxtuxguxtughgtguxxtuxtuxdddddxxddgfgghhhhyy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    It is just a great book.

    It is just a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    You have read fairytales, fiction stories, and nonfiction storie

    You have read fairytales, fiction stories, and nonfiction stories that I'm sure are pretty good. Although, when you read this realistic fiction you wont believe how good it is. Sounder is a heartwarming story unlike any other. Its about curiosity, action, and adventure. I am going to tell you about the importance of this story. I will begin with the setting. The road is one of the important parts of this story. It's where the dog, Sounder, gets shot by the sheriff. The next place is the boy's house. The boy' house is where the father gets arrested by the sheriff for stealing the ham. The jail is also an important place in the story. The jail is where the boy visits his father and is being told never to visit him again. The jail was a cave. The jail was cold, dark, and scary like a cave. The last place is the teacher's house. The teacher's house is where the boy lives on and off to go to school. The boy sees shelves filled with books, two stoves, and a beautiful garden at the teacher’s house. Now I will tell you about the important characters in this story. I will begin with ,Sounder. Sounder is the light to the boy and the father’s world. Always there for them. Is a very important part in this story. Never leaving them no matter what. Sounder is loved by the boy and the father. After Sounder is shot by the sheriff he disappears in the forest not knowing where he is. What happened to him? Is he dead? Is he alive? Find out if you read the book. The next character is ,the boy. The boy is really important in this book, because he is the one that has to do all of the work since his father has been arrested. The boy is loving and wonders where Sounder has gone, and what will happen to his father? The father loves his family and will do anything for them. After he is put in jail for taking the ham, he is no longer there for his family. The last character is the teacher. By doing the teacher’s chores, the teacher let the boy stay for free and go to school. He is nice and helped the boy clean up when the boy was wounded. The last thing I'm going to tell you is the plot. We first start with the conflict. The conflict is when the father is being arrested for stealing the ham. He is arrested by the sheriff, and is taken away. Next is the rising action. The first part of the rising action is Sounder getting shot by the sheriff when he was trying to save his master, the father. The second part of the rising action is when the boy puts Sounder's ear under his pillow to make a wish and hope that Sounder is okay. The last part of the rising action is when the teacher asks the boy to go to school and live with him on and off. The climax is when the father comes back from the jail wounded and hurting. The last one is the resolution. The resolution is both a happy and sad ending. It may surprise you, but it is really good. That was the important setting, character, and plot of this book. I hope you read it because it is a really good book. Thank you for reading my description of this book. If you read this book I hope you like it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Loved it

    Its a great book to read. I definetly recommend this book for anyone who loves to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I love it

    This book is awesome. Also sad when _____________ gets shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Read my reveiw before you buy

    The best auther hides all his charecters names like he does. He also plors ou the book before he wrote it so everyoone interested you just need a few hours because you are going to want to read it all at once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The best

    I will never fover get!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Sounder

    Sounder is a great book it soo awsome!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Duxjddjjd Ff Sad

    Sad but good for sitting in class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Very sad huh?

    This book was so sad i cried in my sleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Book

    This is a great book for some ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Love this book

    I think this book is a really good book because it has very exciting moments in it. It also is a page turner book where you can't stop reading. I just finished the book in two hours and i couldn't stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Awsome

    My teacher loves this book read it I loved it to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Old book but still ok (summer school book dumb mrs bishop)

    I read this book in summee school and watched the movie i swear u will luv this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5